We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Service, Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My youth group had to make last minute change to lodging arrangement. Contacted the sales director, she helped get our plans back on track. Friendly and helpful! HONESTLY our organization's BEST stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dueul,

I'm happy that we were able to assist your group as they came in to Tampa. What a joy it was to have all of them stay with us. We look forward to working with you again!

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    131
    58
    36
    31
See reviews for
116
66
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am currently staying at this Residence Inn (Downtown Inn - Tampa) as I always stay with Residence Inn Hotels. So far the room is nice and always cleaned with discipline, the hotel grounds is downtown just north of Convention Center with ease to places to eat, shop - if not, staff is always willing to drive you. Parking is across the brick-paved street (key coded entry) in fenced-in parking lot with plenty of space. Morning buffett style breakfast is prepared well, hot and always promtly ready (mostly early) - Evening meal (M-W) is good with variety and never over-crowded with tap-beer, red and white wine. This hotel shares a middle "courtyard" with Courtyard Marriot to the rear of each hotel. B-Ball court, outdoor kitchen grill (huge...very nice!), and pool with hot tub with plenty of space and seating for singles and families. The most important part of this review will be the friendly and accomodating staff. Due to my lengthy stay I wanted to augment the design of my room - told the Sales Director the first night at the evening dinner and before I got back to the room it was taken care of. For the first month now, she has been committed to providing outstanding customer service. When I'm not bugging her or others in the staff for something I overhear them constantly accomodating other guests. I've met most of the staff and each one of them are extremely nice with a smile on their face and very sociable. I would recommend this hotel to all however more specifically anyone who has business in the downtown Tampa area, vacationing to the local beaches, and before and after cruise ship stays.

Room Tip: Tip#1...Take an evening walk to Bayshore Blvd (1m) at dusk to see amazing sunset views over the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Vincent C,

We absolutly love to have you stay with us and I can't thank you enough for letting everyone know how you feel! Sincere hospitality is what we do our best to deliver to each and every guest. Your review means so much more because it isn't "wow'ing" you for your one night with us, you've been living with us for a while and to have you say all that you did speaks volumes. Thank you once again Vincent.

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked two rooms in advance to our upcoming cruise out of Tampa. Booked the room through Priceline. Prior to our check in date, I had contact with the hotel on two occasions, one of these occasions was on Thursday before our Saturday night stay. On the date of our arrival our flight was delayed. I called to notify them only to find out that they did not have a room for us. I began to wonder what would have happened had I not called, would we have just showed up to be told sorry no rooms. Additional accommodations were secured at their Fairfield Inn location in Clearwater. NOT COMPARABLE! This new location caused us to spend over $100 in taxi fees. Paying upfront and having a confirmation does not secure you a room. Shame on this location and shame on Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Ms. Lara,

We do apologize that you weren't able to stay with us and for any and all inconveniences.

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Friendly staff, decent breakfast - coffee is not watered down for once but I haven't seen bacon as an option yet, 4 cardio machines in 24 hr gym - your typical Residence Inn in a good way, except that if you need the internet to either do work or relax from work:

FORGET IT!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
JDLopez,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the kind words in regards to our service and the complimentary amenities that we provide our guests. I want you to know that we have heard you and all of our guests. Your needs are our #1 concern. We are currently getting upgraded internet - so much so that everyone at no matter what time should have all the througput that they need to get their jobs done. We know that our business travelers need to have a good internet connection to get their work done and we want nothing more than to provide our guests with every complimentary amenity that we promise. That includes our breakfast, our beautiful outside oasis and our internet. We do apologize that you weren't able to get the internet connectivity that you needed. I hope that we can have you come and stay with us again and please know that we listen and we do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. We are always trying to improve for each and every one of our guests.

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We typically love our Marriott experiences. Recently our flight home was delayed five days and we were grounded in Tampa. After counting ou blessings for being stuck in such a lovely area away from the chills at home we were gratified by the support we had from Marriott reservation's desk helping us to locate a suitable place to stay. We had a wonderful taxi ride from the airport with a wonderful gentleman who went out of his way to make us feel welcome to the Tampa Bay Area. However, I regret to say that this hotel left a lot to be desired given Marriott's usual high standards. Our room was not cleaned for two days and when we asked about it we did receive some fresh towels and some replacement coffee packets. The third day we had to ask again and the room was not refreshed until after 4:00. We asked for advice at the desk about getting around and what to see and were directed to the 'brochure' rack down the hall. While this particular hotel was clean and conveniently located downtown- after this experience, I would not recommend it to others or stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Ms. Linda K,

I can't apologize enough in regards to the level of service that you received while staying with us. This is certainly not the level of service or cleansliness that our guests receive normally and it clearly means that there is a need for more training for our newer associates. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can strive to continue to give the great service that our guests normally receive. Stay warm and have a good day.

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The rooms were nice and the amenities were good. Breakfast was typical buffet and the workout room was small with a couple treadmills, bike and eliptical. The pool and patio behind the hotel is nicely set up for hanging out, grilling, hot tubbing or swimming.

What really is impresive is how well the staff gets customer service. They are always willing to go out of their way to find out what you may need.

The location near the Straz Center was convienent. Careful finding your way on the one way streets there or you may end up stuck on the on ramp to I-4 and driving 3 miles out of your way like we did. Parking was across the street in an unsecured lot so I wouldn't leave anything in the car FYI.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibresqone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Ibresqone,

Nothing is more important than to truly show our guests what hospitality is supposed to mean. Everday we strive to make sure that every guest knows how much we appreciate them at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let our readers know about your experience. I hope that we have a chance to have you come back and stay with us again!

Have a great day,
Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Whatever your reason for being in Downtown Tampa, this is an almost perfect place to set up your temporary residence even for a couple of days. A real efficiency apartment inside a hotel, you have a bedroom, living room and a full kitchen and at the same time, all the amenities of a basic style no frills hotel.

The rooms facing on the courtyard are very quiet and peacefult. There's a basketball court, jacuzzi and pool in the yard and a rudimentary 24 hr gym off the lobby. Otherwise because the town is spread out and noisy with on and off ramps everywhere, going for a quick jaunt to a store or restaurant is not in the playbook, esp at night. It really takes an hour to go out and get coffee or buy a sandwich and come back to your hotel. This is Tampa, Its not NY or South beach. There is maybe one business per city block and some blocks just have an office building or parking lot. Good new is the Hotel has a free shuttle bus that covers a two mile radius so you can get to walgreens or Publix or specific places. Downtown Tampa is like a suburb with big buildings.

There is a free breakfast, not so bad.. and the people that work the hotel are the very nice, friendly and helpful . Bathrooms are large and comfortable but plumbing is not in that great a condition.

Room Tip: I took third floor over courtyard. It is as intimate as Tampa gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fornowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Mr. Fornowsky,

Thank you for the time that you took to tell everyone how much you enjoyed staying at our hotel. It was such a pleasure to meet you and actually tell you face to face how much we appreciate it. We look forward to having you come back to stay with us again.

Have a great day!
Shab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
455 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#96 of 163 in Tampa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing