We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Montgomery, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyed stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I/We (2 rooms) stayed at this property for a sorority conference and the staff really accommodated us with our tight schedule. The staff was WONDERFUL. The shuttle guy (Chad) I think...was EXCELLENT as well as the young lady that worked most nights that we were there. Chad went over and beyond the call of duty. He was also a great source of information (great restaurants etc...) If I had any complaints, it would be the parking and the slow elevators. Other than that we didn't have any complaints! Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We were on the end on the 7th floor...never heard any noise. Room was nice and clean and staff was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Machea J,

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review about our hotel. Nothing brings us more pleasure than knowing that we are truly adding to your experience while staying in Tampa. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to have you stay with us again!

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    126
    53
    34
    31
See reviews for
110
62
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

"My wife and I stayed for five nights at this property in downtown Tampa. Like most hotels, there is good and bad.

The good: The location is great, very convenient to everything downtown or in South Tampa. As usual with Marriott properties the people (except as noted below) were great, especially at the front desk and the ladies that serviced breakfast. The breakfast, included, was very good with a decent selection of items.

The bad: The property is well worn. While the lobby looks reasonable, our room really needed updating. The carpet had numerous stains and was frayed badly in front of the bathroom door. The furniture is well worn, with stains on the sofa and a lot of wear on the chairs. Thee popcorn on the ceiling was peeling off. The sink had a huge crack in it. We consistently asked for items to be restocked in our room (even leaving written notes) but the notes were taken but items were not left (sugar, creamer, etc.) so we had to troop down to the lobby. The worst part is that for two separate days a dirty rag was left in our room on the counter by housekeeping and a bag of trash was left for a day outside our door. I don't know if they were just in a rush or what. We finally complained at the front desk and it stopped. Lastly, even though it is not obvious or consistent on the Marriott web site, you should know that parking is $14 a night, (which the hotel manager reduced to $9 after I pointed it out, and I'm appreciate of that) which isn't bad. it's just one of the reasons we selected this property, versus several in the area.

All in all, for what you pay for a downtown hotel, the property was okay and we would probably stay there again. But it was not up to Marriott standards."

Room Tip: The hotel is located in downtown Tampa, so there is no good view. I would ask for a room on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Al E E,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and our employees that work everyday to keep smiles on the faces of our guests. We have read and understood your remarks about our hotel. We are always working to improve our hotel and your information will certainly help us do that.

Sincerely,

Shab Sachedina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I only stay at Marriotts, I travel at least twice a month and am always satisfied with my stay. I have one complaint about this location and that's the fee for parking. The woman at the desk told me I can park in their secured lot (code access and gate) for $14, or just park at a meter. To ensure the safety of my vehicle I decided to pay the $14/per day fee. Upon arrival from my evenings events I found that the lot was full, I called the front desk and they directed me to another lot (halfway fenced in old dirt plot, no gate or sense of security) but equal distance from the hotel. If you don't mind paying extra per day then I highly recommend this location. It's very close to all the major attractions downtown Tampa has to offer, you can't beat the free breakfast, and all the rooms are suites which provides so much room for activities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
JS Kearney,

Thank you for the time that you took to write your review! We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay. Just so that you and all other reader know, the average parking rate in downtown Tampa is $23.00 a night. We do have one of the best prices for parking in the downtown area. We are here to work with our guests to do all that we can to ensure that they enjoy their stay. We are happy that you let us know what we could do to make your stay better. We hope to be able to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I work for a Residence Inn in Idaho and I can say I really enjoyed the staff and services. Everyone and everything were nice! The location was great. We were able to get to the events and attractions within a few miles of the hotel. The staff was very approachable and had plenty knowledge of the Tampa Bay Area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
AlexisKey,

Thank you so much for your review; especially for someone that is in the same field and working in the same type of hotel! We hope to be able to have you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The managers of the hotel, Deidre and Rizza (I think that's her name) are amazing. The most welcoming people around. The breakfast was good - same old Residence Inn breakfast. The pool area was nice. There's a salt water pool, whirlpool, bbq area, sports court and firepit. The rooms were good - a tad bit worn but still in good condition.
If you have a dog, you will love this place. Very dog friendly. (Not that there are dogs all over the hotel but the front desk had a few guest dogs behind it because the guests were out for the day)
Evening reception was good (bad beer and wine - as usual for Residence Inn - but the snacks were good).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familytravelmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
FamilyTravelMom22,

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and we hope that if you come back to Tampa that you would not hesitate to stay with us again! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the complimentary amenities that we offer our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Staff was very helpful. Great restaurants within short walk. The staff was professional and courteous. They helped with several special requests without hesitation. I will return on business several times during the next several months and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartanDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
SpartanDel,

We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay while you were here in Tampa. We are looking forward to seeing you time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Going to show at the Straz Center and this was the perfect place. Quick walk. Made to feel welcome minute we walked through the door. While I parked the car they directed my girls to the evening lite meal... Just coming from the airport and rushing to a show. Very friendly staff. Clean. Helpful. Good buffet breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Sebastian22013,

Hospitality is all about our dedication to making sure that you and your family are well taken care and put in the forefront of anything else while staying with us. We are so happy to hear that we were successful in taking good care of you and your famiily. We hope to have you come back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#35 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#95 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing