We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great rate, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great rate, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at the Residence Inn downtown Tampa pre-cruise. The stay got off to a wonderful start when we got a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. Our room was very spacious and impeccably clean. The only (very minor) issue that we had with the room was a running toilet. When I called it in, a manager came right away to fix it.

On Friday night, we went on a ghost tour. We walked over to the meeting spot about half a mile away and it was a beautiful walk. We could have taken the shuttle but it honestly never even crossed our minds. There are several restuarants withing half a mile of the hotel but most close around 10 or so.

On Saturday morning, we walked over to Channelside (once again, we actually wanted the exercise) for a Segway tour, which was amazing. It was an easy beautiful walk. After we ate lunch, had a drink and did some shopping, we called for the shuttle back to the hotel. It was only about a five minute wait and the driver was very friendly.

On Saturday night, we got a map from the very friendly front desk staff and walked half a mile to the nearest pharmacy, a CVS. Be aware, they close early and we barely made it. We got some pizza that we ate by the pool. There were some unruly kids running around that slightly ruined the peaceful atmosphere of the courtyard area. We also signed up for the shuttle to the port the next day. With 11 people and luggage, I didn't think that everyone would fit, but the manager and driver did an awesome job getting everybody onboard and with leg room. Sign up early if you want an early shuttle. They fill up fast.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the staff there was very attentive. There is also a small convenience store area in the lobby that was a little pricey but nice for when you really want something late at night. Everyone working at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The shuttle drivers were speedy and nice. Our room was very clean and the bedding was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    128
    56
    35
    31
See reviews for
113
65
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
544 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Residence Inn Tampa
Got off to a bad start because we arrived at 3:30 pm and room WAS NOT READY. They did have one ready in less than 15 minutes but not what one expects when arriving after check in starts.
Room 205-room right next to elevator waiting area so noisy at times. Room not up to standards of other Marriotts where I’ve stayed and well below my recent stays at several Holiday Inns. Telephone cord comes loose if phone is moved. Fold out bed uncomfortable and not prepared when we arrived. Bathroom looked iffy-not sure if it had been cleaned thoroughly since seat down and no strip.
Room had two rooms: 1 had kitchen area with full kitchen-stove, refrigerator, microwave but no oven. There was also a sink, toaster, coffee pot, and dishwasher. Coffee/tea and condiments also provided. A desk with chair and telephone with loose cord, a table with two chairs, another chair by window with lamp, a flat screen tv on top of a dresser, and the sofabed. The other room had a bed, two bedside tables, a dresser with another flat screen tv, a closet, another phone, and a sink. There was no safe! A few amenities were provided. Standard bathroom with tub/shower combo and toilet. Even though hotel was recently remodeled according to their website, it could still use some more finishing touches. Basketball court was just outside room and the pool could be seen not too far away. We were on the backside that shares its pool and courtyard with the Marriott Courtyard behind it.
All of the above was written just after check-in. It’s now 3 days later. Noise not so bad at night-no problem sleeping, but I had lots of beer at the U of Tampa reunion parties-not my alma mater but with a friend and always have a great time. The breakfast was so so. We only did it the first morning. Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes, bread, juices, etc. ok but nothing to write home about. Lots of women-1 other man eating-cackling so very noisy. Staff was friendly and no issues there. Room cleaned and nothing missing the second day. I slept on sofa bed, and it was good with my bad back-no pains-actually comfortable good nights’ sleep but I did have some antifreeze in me! I wish we had been higher and had a better view. TV worked fine although I don’t think there were as many channels as listed. I tried a menu scan, but it was blocked. Bathroom had one major issue-bathtub has sand paper like strips to prevent falling when showering but made bath painful!
I would stay here again, but I prefer their neighbor hotel: the Courtyard by Marriott…but this hotel is less expensive and met all our needs. I wish there were a Holiday Inn brand downtown, but there isn’t. We didn’t use the shuttle, but there was a sign saying to expect delays anyway! Tampa is an energetic city, much better than Orlando where I live, and this hotel is above average unless the room is not ready for hours or there is too much noise.
And the free high speed internet worked perfectly...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

The overall interior of the hotel needs to be updated. It has gotten to the point where you cannot tell whether it is dirty or just old. The pictures on the site are taken at night probably several years ago with a flash, so they look a lot cleaner and brighter than actual. The bedding is not a duvet, just a blanket and the bed is maybe a double at most making it difficult to sleep two people. The rate was a whopping $179 per night, so definitely no value, at $60 per night and with a family for an extended stay where you could use the kitchen, this would be ok I suppose. Personally, I like fluffly bedding, comfort, room service, clean and new decor above all else, which was seriously lacking. As a business traveller with no room service options other than Dominos accross the street and the hotel being a 25 minute walk from the convention center and an unreliable shuttle, for me this is not the place to stay. Service was ok, but not what I am used to. This hotel is barely holding on to its 3 star hotel class in my opinion. I would not stay here again and after checking in and seeing the place considered moving to the Hyatt/Marriott/Westin, but they did not have any rooms available.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for visiting the Residence Inn Tampa Downtown and providing feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you used our complimentary shuttle while a guest. The complimentary shuttle is a popular mode of transport especially in our busy downtown area. I apologize for your experience and will communicate your feedback to our shuttle team. Bedding you mentioned was a concern during your stay. Each of our suites does have a queen sized bed and in cases where more space is needed we do offer suites with two queen sized beds. We completed a comprehensive renovation is December 2008 and at that time updated the entire hotel including the bed scarf and bedding.

I personally invite you to give us another try during your next visit to Tampa. I would be happy to assist you in making your reservation and assuring that you have the room type and amenities that you need.

Sincerely,

Stephanos G. Anamisis
General Manager
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We chose this hotel over the one UT contracted with because this one allowed pets. We stayed 3 nights and have nothing but compliments for the hotel & its staff. They had an awesome breakfast buffet (eggs, meat, oatmeal, potaotes, breads, cereal, etc) included for free and a free Happy Hour (beer, wine & enough food to make a meal out of it) Mon - Thurs. nights. The area is a bit sketchy but all hotels in the UT area are. Residence Inn was safe & secure though with door keys needed to get in at night & into the gated parking area. For those with pets there is a great park allowing pets a block up the road and then a beautiful one on the waterfront a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyalaterFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed for a convention. Shuttle was great parking across the street from hotel was not to bad.Our room was in need of repair. Calk around the base of the toilet was dirty. door handle fell off the door. House keeping did a subpar job of cleaning the room. The front desk staff was great would get anything that you asked for.always helpful and greeted you when we came in. Breakfast was great and the staff worked hard at keeping the bar full. Over all stay was OK but I have stayed at many Marriott hotels and this one did not meet their usual high standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed here on New Years eve and they offered a free buffet with beer and wine !!
Hotel room was HUGE extremely clean and modern it had a kitchen area with a table fridge, dishwasher etc.
Basketball court with pool/spa area. Nice lounge area with couches, TV and fireplace.
Free shuttle will take you downtown but you can walk back if you feel like it, it's not that far.
Will definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it,especially if you are going to a concert/game to the Forum, perfect location. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

The purpose of our trip was for my brother in law to go to a conference and for my sister and I to have leisure time in Tampa between 30th May 2010 and 8th June 2010. We are from the UK.

The check in was extremely smooth even though it was a late check in. The reception staff, Briana was extremely polite and sensitive to our long journey. No porters to assist with luggage. We went to the Dominos for dinner which was literally 50 yards across the street. One of the managers took my bro in law with him on a delivery so we could get some essentials like bread, sandwich filling and soft drinks and water and brought him back to the hotel.
The rooms were kitted out well with a large fridge/freezer. There was a dish washer (which wasnt upto scratch and left items smelling of sour milk), however we used the disposable cups provided in the reception area.
We were 3 adults in our 20s. The room was adequate for us. The sofa bed was extremely easy to set up and required no force, it was a double bed and sheets and blankets were provided. The double bed in the master room was extremely comfortable and well presented. A very good full sized iron was provided along with an ironing board. The shower was excellent and all was very clean. Room service was done well and at various times throughout the day. The hotel allowed us to extend the check out time until 2pm free of charge. At one time we did some laundry and one of the machines took our money but did not dispense the detergent. I visited at the reception and they gave us ample amount of detergent and drying Bounce sheets for free. It cost $1 for each washer, $1 for the dryer, and $1 each for the detergent and drying sheets.
All of the hotel staff couldnt do more for us. The kitchen staff were extremely helpful as were the cleaners. The fresh coffee and hot water dispensers were kept topped up throughout the day.
The breakfast was served between 6.30 and 9.30 weekdays and between 7am and 10.30 weekends. Food was fresh throughout.
On a weekday evening, snacks were served as well as cans of soft drinks and wine, champagne and bud light. All complimentary in an effort to get guests to converse with one another.
A computer connected to the internet and printer was provided in reception for all guests to use without a password and for free.
Free wifi was throughout the hotel including in the hotel rooms.
The hotel room had 2 telephones and 2 televisions.

The only thing we found to be a bit of a problem was there was no kettle in the room and therefore we used a pan to boil the water.
The kitchen was well kitted out with pans and crockery and cutlery and utensils. We had enough utilities to cook meals on 3 or 4 nights.

As mentioned in my title, the breakfasts were great. There was a selection of muffins, bagels, buns, bread. scrambled egg, sausage, croissants, potato. Fresh fruit cocktail. Yoghurt, granola, chocolate milk, fresh milk, fat and non fat. Cereal, fresh waffle batter and waffle maker. Oatmeal. A toaster was provided. As well as condiments of brown sugar, cinnamon, icing sugar, raisins, chocolate drops, syrup, jams. Unbelievable spread. Tea, coffee, orange and apple juice. vanilla, hazelnut and regular milk portions. We had a big breakfast and skipped lunch every day.

On the first morning we went for an exploration by the riverside. We saw dolphins in the river. We came across some locals and down and outs in the park but found every one to be helpful.
Upon our return to the hotel we were met by Delores on the reception. She was really friendly and advised us where we could go for a day and what to be careful of.

We found that there wasnt much to do close by for low funds. There was a shuttle bus which could take us anywhere for free for 2 miles. Some of the drivers were extremely friendly and we found Mitch to be the best help. We never had to wait very long for the shuttle, perhaps 30 minutes maximum. Im not sure if the driver expected a tip, every now and then we gave the drivers a tip.

We took a trip to Channelside. There werent many shops to visit and we exhausted it within a short time. We visited Ybor and we found again that there werent that many shops there.
At evening times, both Channelside and Ybor offered some excellent eating places. Carmines at Ybor was very good. Bennigans at Channelside was ok, but the most excellent was Stumps Supper Club. We found the food to be of excellent standard and decently priced.

We found a Walmart, starbucks, mcdonalds, kfc and wendys within 2 miles using the shuttle bus.

We were advised that a ride by taxi to and from Clearwater Beach would cost $100 return. Unfortunately this wasnt a price we could justify.

We had a great time at International Plaza and Westshore Mall. These were a $35-$40 return taxi ride.

We spent a day at the Aquarium at Channelside. It cost approximately $50 per person with a boat ride added. It was a great day and well worth the money. We saw dolphins several times on the boat ride. The staff on board were extremely helpful. The Aquarium itself was well worth spending the money for. Truly brilliant and took approximately 6 hours to get round. We found the cafe there to be reasonably priced and they did great pizza.

We spent a day at Busch Gardens. It was brilliant but very expensive day, but well worth the money. We got to the theme park in time for it opening and left at the closing time. This cost a $40 return taxi fare inc tip. There were many rollercoasters and the staff were helpful and the rides were clean. They had a rule that drinks and food could not be taken in from outside. However we found the cafe we chose to be very reasonably priced. I was a bit perturbed that lockers were provided but for 50c and this was not returned (in the UK it is practice that the money be returned).

All in all it was a great holiday. Perhaps a little too humid for sun bathing. Would i visit Tampa again? i would certainly visit the hotel again and it was certainly value for money. I would hope all people are as helpful in any part of the USA as they were there. But i didnt think there was enough to do for little cost there and we were too far away from the beach for my liking.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Floridan Palace Hotel
#94 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing