We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice suite”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here a night when we flew into tampa. Very nice suite with living room kitchen and bedroom. Room was clean. Also had a good continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here in the future. Nice thing is it's right next to airport.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank broadh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you Broadh2o for your review of our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore.

As you mentioned we have the benefit of being located very close to the airport without the problem of the noise. A perfect combination. We look forward to you and your family visiting us again and we will have our hot breakfast buffett ready for your enjoyment.

Thank you,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    118
    46
    18
    11
See reviews for
109
49
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in a 2 br suite. Furniture and kitchen were a little tired, but everything was clean. I repeat clean (cant say the same for the other hotel I stayed at on this trip). There were 6 of us and used a blow up bed for the youngest in the group. Room is supposed to sleep 6, but unless 2 of the group are really young 5 is more realistic.

Staff was great, breakfast was just ok but it is free/included so it was good enough.

Mall across street provides a lot of dinner choices as well as Lee Roy Selmon's in the parking lot. Ordered pizza from West Shore Pizza one night and it was very good.

Construction across the street from the rear side of the hotel was very loud but started around 8am and was over by 5, so it really didn't bother us. If you plan to sleep in ask for a room on the mall side of the hotel.

If I need to be in this area again I will go out of my way to stay here again. If the kitchen and the furniture were newer would give 5 stars.

If I need to

Room Tip: Construction just getting started on lot at rear of hotel, ask for a room on the mall side if you pl...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Rob F

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore. I am very sorry about the construciton noise and am happy to learn it was not too much of an issue during your stay. I am confident that the next time you stay with us the noise will be over as they have almost completed the supports for the foundation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you again,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I always try to book a room in Marriott's Residence Inn brand when I can. Appreciate the space and a quick bite in the morning. This was one of the worst Residence Inn properties I've stayed in yet. Dirty stairwells, paint chipping from front doors, dated bathrooms, dirty furniture in the breakfast area, poor parking, breakfast was bad...cold "turkey Canadian bacon", cold eggs, "fresh" pineapple and melon looked old as though its been frozen then thawed a few times. Room was clean an OK aside from dated bathrooms and kitchen appliances. Phone in second bedroom dead. Appears as though management not quite as detail oriented as most other Marriott property managers. Disappointing property in a very high profile area near airport, stadium, and Intl Mall! Booked for 6 nights. Cancelling remaining nights and moving to Hampton Inn.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lambskin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mike L,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us at our property and please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting your, and our, expectations. This is no way reflects our properties high standards of service and cleanliness required by Marriott and will be addressed immediately with our staff as we do share all guest feedback. We strive to provide the highest level of service to ensure guest satisfaction before a guest leaves our property. I would love if you gave our property another chance to show you the kind of cleanliness and service we can provide. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.

At your service,

Charles A.
Operations Manager
ri.tpaws.ops@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was so disappointed when front desk didn't care about my clothes being stolen out of their so call secure laundry. Things were going Okay until then. Had front desk acknowledge and showed concern I would have given this hotel a better review. When my clothes were taken out of the dryer I immediately called the front desk. She said she would look into it and call me back.... she didn't follow up as she stated... then she showed no concern when confronted. If she would have offered to take $25 dollars off our bill and/or at least apologized that would have been normal...But in no way would this have compensated for three Boss shirts, but as least it was offered. I will never stay at this location again. I would not recommend washing your clothes if YOU decide to stay. So disappointed in the front desk agent. What happen to I'm sorry for what happen. AND no I don't want your apology now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Tanya B

It is always difficult when a guest leaves our hotel and is not satisfied with their stay. It is clear you are upset not just with the fact that your 3 Hugo Boss shirts went missing but more so how it was handled by my team. At this point there is no reason I could give that would not be viewed, by you, as an excuse. The lack of empathy displayed is simply wrong and for that I am sorry.

I am the General Manager of this hotel and I had the pleasure of being at the front desk when your husband and children checked out of my hotel. I spoke with your husband regarding his concerns. He informed me that 3 Hugo Boss shirts, valued at $400+, went missing from the laundry room. Mrs. Tanya B in the 5 years I have been General Manager of this hotel I have not had this happen. Unfortunately we simply are unable to monitor every area of the hotel all the time. It is unfortunate that there are people out there who are dishonest and clearly someone knew just how valuable your children’s shirts were and they chose to take advantage of the situation when your son left the laundry unattended. With only a few dryers on that floor people tend to get inpatient when they are waiting on a unit and the cycle has ended. I have even had a few guests, when the original user is absent, leave the clothes folded neatly on the table.

My team and I should have been more empathetic to your concerns however I support them in their decision to not offer compensation for the actions of another and not the neglect of our team. I know you do not want me to apologize now however I am sorry that this occurred to you and left you with a bad impression even though you enjoyed all other aspects of our hotel.

I sincerely hope that you can look past this incident and stay with us again the next time you are in the area. I will share this incident with my team and use it as a training energizer on empathy.

Sincerely,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel, in july. Very convenience, close to the airport and to international plaza. Rooms are nice and clean, good breakfast. Cable has good variety, good parking. My family really enjoy this hotel, defenetely come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Fred G

Thank you so very much for making our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore the hotel for you and your family. Everyone has a choice and I am happy we were yours. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a two bedroom suite. The queen beds were quite comfortable. The fold out bed is really not for adults but adequate for children. The bathrooms are your average bathrooms but dated. The pool was small. There is not enough parking spaces. If you return to the hotel after 9pm you will not find a parking space. There is a problem with their policy. I don't understand why Residence Inn has a problem with Military and AARP discounts. This is the second Residence Inn that I have experienced that will have some regular rooms at a Military or AARP discount and I mean some. Every time I called or when I checked in and asked I was told "I am sorry we do not have any rooms available for Military or AARP discount. They have discounts for all rooms with Triple A and found they were always available. They do not offer any discounts for Military or AARP for their two bedroom Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello JYDV

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and concerns. I can promise you that this will be shared with my team as we share all guest comments each and every week. I believe that if our guests can take the time to comment on our hotel than we can certainly take the time to share their experiences and to learn from them.

Our Two Bedrooms Suites are very spacious and we have been complemented on the comfort of our beds many times. In addition the full sized sleeper sofa has been a benefit to many families with small children. I do agree that parking can be a challenge at times and I am very sorry that this presented a problem for you during your stay.

In regards to your comments on our government and AARP rates please allow me to offer you some additional information which may change your mind. Government business is this hotels bread and butter. As I am typing this reply we have 112 rooms occupied of my 160 suite Residence Inn. Out of the 112 occupied suites 57 guests are here under the Federal Government per diem. This is just over 50%. This is almost the case every day of the week. The fact is we have such a great relationship with MacDill AFB and surrounding agencies that we could fill this hotel up at the government rate. However we do have to cut it off at some point as to allow others to stay with us that do not qualify for this discount. Although you are correct that we do not offer the government rate on our two bedroom suites this does not mean we never extend it to our government guests. We are an extended stay hotel which means that we cater more to long term guests. On many occasions we have government personnel staying with us for many weeks or months. Sometimes they bring their families and when we are able to accommodate them we offer the two bedrooms suites at the government per diem rate. We LOVE and RESPECT all of the men and women that serve this country and I assure you that we have no "policy" which would reflect otherwise.

In addition Marriott hotels replaced the AARP discount with their own Marriott Senior Discount back in 2003. This is based on availability, just like AAA, and offers 15% off weekday and weekend rates. Unlike AARP you do not need to be a member, which costs a fee. You simply need to show us a valid driver’s license showing you are at least 62 years of age or older.

I certainly hope this has shed some light on two of our programs and that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tampa.

Thank you,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times on business, and as always a great stay. The staff is friendly, rooms are very well kept and cleaned, and it's located near some great restaurants and shopping. My only concern was the very limited parking area, but not a major deal breaker. Great hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIWestshoreGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
trvlDoc1 -

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us on several occasions and we look forward to having you stay with our Residence Inn Tampa Westshore on many more. I know parking can be a challenge, at times, and appreciated your patience and understanding.

Thank you,

Donald Feith
General Manager
ri.tpaws.gm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 4312 W Boy Scout Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5717
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing