We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown Tampa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are updated. The pool area is beautiful, they also have a nice workout facility. Good restaurant and sports bar. Convenient downtown location if you need to be in this area. It is very close to the University of Tampa and right by the arena. Close to Channelside an area of some small shops, restaurants and movie theater. Do be aware that almost all hotels in downtown Tampa only have valet parking. So you do need to wait for your car which can take a while if they are busy. I believe the cost of valet parking was included with my room rate or if it wasn't the daily charge was minimal compared to other cities. Also, know that this hotel is not close to the airport. About a 15 minute drive with light traffic. During rush hour definitely build in extra time which can really vary. I do recommend taking the highway during rush hour, even with traffic it is still better than the city streets.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,628 - 2,634 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

A large, upscale Marriott along the Channel Riverwalk. Great views of the bay. Be sure to ask for a high floor. A warning -- not close to the airport at all. Figure a good $25 for a cab ride. But, it is right by the Convention Center.

Was on business and stayed here Sept. 13-16th 2010 and had a very enjoyable time. My flight arrived earlier than the 4pm check-in time, but they had no trouble getting me into a room, which I appreciated.

My room was large and spacious -- it had two queen sized beds in it but still felt like there was room to move and stretch. All of the fititngs and linens were crisp and new, the room was very clean. Nice big desk for working, and a 37" flat-screen TV for lazy evenings. Best part -- you could set the thermostat all the way down to 62deg. to fight the hot Tampa humidity. Loved it.

The restaurant off the lobby -- Champions Sports Bar -- had good, reasonably priced food and plenty of screens to watch your favorite games.This hotel is close to everything, and is right at the end of the Trolly line that runs to Ybor City.

Great hotel, great experience. I will return should I ever travel to Tampa again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjwzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed here recently on business. The hotel is large with a very nice lobby. The sports bar is nice and decorated well. The fitness center has free weights, treadmills, and other machines. The pool area is nice and on a balcony. The balcony rooms overlooking the water are great. The concierge lounge is pleasant and even has balcony to eat out on. The only complaint would be noise from other rooms. I could hear every word the folks in the room to me were saying, even with the TV on.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with this Marriott. It was very well maintained. Great service from staff: doorman, bellhop, and front desk staff all provided excellent customer service. Open, breezy, calming atmosphere. Rooms were large, nice bathroom, walk out balcony. Great location for stroll on River Walk. Close proximity to good restaurants and the Aquarium. Yes, I plan to stay here on my next trip to Tampa.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Good hotel and a good stay while attending business convention with HQ at the hotel. Good Marriott quality and it should be for the price. Nice scenic location on the water with a nice outside deck to enjoy a beverage in the evening. Nice balcony overlooking the downtown skyline as well. Downtown Tampa is basically a no nothing area with few restaurants nearby. Publix within walking distance was a plus. Restaurant in the hotel was a "we gotcha trapped" rip-off for breakfast ($20+ for corned beef hash and eggs.)
When I first checked in I was assigned a room adjacent to the elevator bank (6 of them in this large hotel) and was able to be moved immediately away from the perpetual noise. Other than that, the bed was comfortable and I enjoyed the deck and my room balcony.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuanATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Let me begin by disclosing that I'm a Marriott Gold Elite member who stayed. Five days on accumulated points.
Having said that, it was one of the finest hotel experiences I've ever had. I couldn't have been more pleased!
We were upgraded to a luxury suite (photos on their website) which was a major plus. Housekeeping was exemplary. Service in general was above expectation.
Restaurants were average, so we at out most of the time. Wine sold at more than two times retail. (problem solved with a Publix supermarket half mile away).
Noise from the restaurant across the street was AWFUL weekend nights until 2:00 AM. The price of water view.
I loved the hotel and the experience. It may have spoiled me for other hotels, but it was a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshman42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Our room was ready when we arrived and they accommodated our request for feather free bedding by putting us on a feather free floor. Bedding comfortable and nice water view. Conveniently located across from trolley station into Ybor City and Aquarium. Walking distance to St Pete Times Forum and convention center. Near the Port of Tampa. Would definitely return although would probably wait for a resident rate special as the rooms were priced higher then others in the area when we visited.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohpinyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,501 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £124 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing