We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, Customer friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2013

On our way to the beach, we stayed one night at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. Valets were quick and efficient, front desk checked us in quickly and the bellman was ready to help us with our bags. Our room was on the 19th floor and had a beautiful waterside view. A wakeboard competition was taking place in the bay, and we could watch it from our room. Despite the hotel being full with a conference, the noise level was minimal from our room. The elevators and pool were a different story. We did witness kids from the conference attendees banging on the piano and quickly corrected by Marriott staff. Not sure the kids listened, but we do appreciate the staff's willingness to create a nice environment for all of its guests.

Since my husband is a Marriott Elite, we got a free continental breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The buffet was sufficient and had bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, and cold meats. There was an up charge for the full buffet (omelets, waffles, breakfast meats, etc) for $8.95. Our waitress was friendly and efficient.

We enjoyed the stay despite the busy, loud, and active conference that consumed the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterpanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your posting. We were pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay despite the busy convention. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband & I checked in around 6:00pm on July 4th. I chose this property because of the location-close to the aquarium which we were visiting. The hotel was very nice-clean room & good view. At this time, it was very busy. We felt rushed getting out of the car so it could be valeted & also had long waits for an elevator. Check-in was quick & easy. One tip-get everything out of your car because after they park it (a lot across the street) you are not allowed to access it unless they bring it over to the hotel, which of course means more tipping. This hotel is convenient but expensive & crowded. Surprisingly though, the room was very quiet & we got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This Hotel is one of the best location in Tampa, Florida. The services and Staff was superior, from getting in the entrace to the room, we had excellent services. We visited their sport bar, and the food and services was superior.

Room Tip: room that are facing the river and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were on vacay to Sanibel, and we stopped in to the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina for the night. It had been pouring rain, and we didn't arrive until 10PM. The valets were friendly, and check-in went smoothly. Our room was nice, but the towels were damp when we needed to use them so we called for more. The next batch were dirty, and some had brown stains on them. We called for another set in the morning, but it took awhile to get them so we ended up using the one clean one from the other night. We did have the breakfast buffet, and it was good. It was pricey, but what we expected and everyone enjoyed it. The view of the marina was beautiful, and we did stroll outside at the waterfront. My husband and I loved the location and marina, but cleanliness was an issue...
The staff were all very friendly from check-in to check-out!


The staff was very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were attending a conference and never expected such a beautiful Conference Center stay at the Tampa Marriott. Our balcony view of the city was great from the 8th floor and the room service was fast with great food. All the employees were very pleasant, professional and our every need was satisfied immediately. I would highly recommend this hotel for a quick or expended stay.

Room Tip: South side faces the water and the north faces the city. Both sides have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Very conveniently located across street from convention center with a nice lobby which are the only two positive things I can say about the hotel. When we checked in we were asked if we would like a room on the waterfront side. Absolutely, that would be great! Assigned a room on the 4th floor with a beautiful view of the asphalt roof deck and a roof drain. Could see the waterfront if we stood on a chair and looked over the roof deck wall a several feet away from our window. The view was slightly better than having a a room with a view of the dumpster. Had a wonderful time around midnight Friday when fire alarm evacuated the entire fourth floor. When we got to the street we stood by a gentleman clinging to a light pole a light pole in severe pain because he had to abandon his wheelchair and hobble down several flight of stairs. That is when we realized that the hotel has no protocol for evacuating mobility impaired persons in an emergency. Furthermore, none of the floors above us had their alarms activated. Ask yourself how could that be possible? The danger from fire and smoke increases as you are are higher in the building. As far as I am concerned you are placing your life at risk to stay in a hotel so poorly prepared for a fire emergency. Absolutely would never stay here again under any circumstances. Aside from the fact we had a lousy room, this place is just too dangerous.

Stayed: June 2013
9  Thank Woodguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I recently visited for an organization's annual conference and had a super stay. My wife traveled with me and we had a wonderful suite on the 23rd floor facing south. Both views are great as the south looks over the Bay and the north offers great views of Tampa. The hotel itself was great, well located on the waterfront across from the convention center made it easy to access and great for summer evening walks. It is close, walking distance, to several great restaurants as well as a couple in the hotel.

Great pool on the 3 floor with beautiful views of the city. My wife spent time there while I was in meetings and I got to sneak out to visit. Adequate gym next to pool. The lobby is large open area with a bar in the back overlooking the water, great opportunity to mingle an meet.

As for the staff, those at the desk and taking care of the rooms were great. The valet was also very good and had a large number so cars were always ready when you needed. I thought the convention staff were also great. Additionally, the food which can be difficult for large numbers was very good.

We have a mid size convention with 100-125 attendees. The rooms were adequate for us to have expo, luncheon and break out rooms. The elevators were a slight problem before events started, however, outside common events, no problems.

As for the rooms themselves very nice, clean with great views. My wife had a problem with the soft bed and pillows, but I found them to be good. The suite was great to have an additional sitting room and an extra TV. The bathroom had some space inefficiencies but overall It was great.

I would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Tampa. Whether convention or getaway, this was a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 164 in Tampa
1,528 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 164 in Tampa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £176 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing