We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I flew to Tampa unexpectedly on business and picked this hotel at random. I walked in, asked for a room, and in 2 minutes got the key to one on the top floor. The hotel was very very nice, the room had a nice layout (similiar to an apartment), the water views are beautiful, great pool, and nice cafe inside (see my review on it). I will stay here next time I'm in Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay_Vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,366
    787
    283
    100
    68
See reviews for
407
478
88
1,268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hello! I really enjoyed my stay at your hotel! Everything was very nice, and of course it was an easy walk and close to my job for auto show at the Convention Center!

I thought the concierge lounge was particularly nice and it was great that you have computers and a printer up there as well. I had the pleasure of being taken care of by Carl Fuller Jr, one of the concierge lounge employees. He had such good energy, he was friendly and very attentive to the needs of the guests who were in the lounge. Carl is a great asset to your team!

Thanks again, and I hope to stay at your hotel again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Checked into hotel for 2 nights for a fun two days with my teenage daughter while house hunting in the area. Front desk was exceptionally kind to upgrade our room. We paid for Concierge level (flr 24) and our upgraded room was on floor 22. Have seen better concierge level amenities, but nice enough. Our biggest complaint was on our last night there, at 1:00 am we were evacuated via an emergency fire alarm. Despite being horrified, we had to run down 22+ flights of stairs in middle of the night. Exiting the hotel, there were NO hotel employees in sight to tell us anything. After standing outside for 30 minutes, we walked around the building to the front door, where everything appeared "normal". Again, after sitting in the lobby 20 minutes, NO ONE came up to us to explain anything. We finally tracked down what appeared to be a manager, and he shrugged his shoulders and told us to return to our room - false alarm. Wow, thanks a lot. No apology, no note under door (got bill though), no acknowledgement from front desk in morning. NOTHING. Will not stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. The concierge Fay was very pleasant, polite and really helpful. She went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. I got an upgrade and the room was really nice and the view was great. I took a lot of pictures to show my kids. I will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osarenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Concierge morning service was outstanding. Everything was fresh, clean & kept full at all times, even during the morning rush! The concierge attendant, Carl Fuller, Jr. was extremely helpful & polite, going over & beyond the services we have received at other hotels providing this service. Room had excellent view, kept immaculate, just like the rest of the hotel. Conveniently located! All these reasons are why we will stay here while visiting Tampa again!
Mark & Susan V.

Room Tip: Loved the water view room but the lounge has a city view & that was just as spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel. There are a few things that I wasn't thrilled about though. First, the rooms are kind of outdated. They need to be remodeled and updated as the carpets and the furniture look a little worn. Second, while the location is nice, right next to the arena and a few restaurants on the other side of the marina. It isn't the best. You're not actually down town or near a lot of activity. I will say if you stay here you have to go to Jackson's Bistro and Cafe Dufrain. If you are going to Cafe Dufrain, you walk over the bridge and it is on your left. The trick is, there is a small staircase in the parking garage right after the bridge ends. Make sure you find this or else you'll end up walking around a lot of parking garages and apartment complexes.

My last point about the hotel was the 22 dollar a night valet parking that you're required to have if you have a car. There isn't any other parking around. So just know that ahead of time. The rooms were ok, nothing exceptional. The lobby, conference rooms, and pool area were very nice. The gym was just ok but the treadmills and ellipticals were up to date and very advanced.

Overall, nice. Much better than average. But not exceptional

Room Tip: Do not have a room near the elevator. You'll hear it all night long and it is very very loud. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Recently stayed here on a business trip. I don't use Marriott very often, but was pleasantly surprised, even received a room upgrade. The rooms were nice with a very nice lobby area. A lot of setting and room to work or meet with clients. The pool area was also nice and the room had a great view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing