We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott convention hotel - good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Marriott convention hotel - good service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The rooms are standard Marriott. The hotel is a convention hotel not a resort. The $22 for parking is stiff for Tampa, but the valets run to get your vehicle so the wait is not too long. The fitness center has a good array of new treadmills, bikes and ellipse machines and weights. Use the fitness center before the wait starts at 6:00 am. The pool areas is reasonable large and overlooks the island and marina. Front desk service was outstanding. We had one problem with the room that engineering corrected. Recommend going outside the property for food. Walk across the bridge to Harbor Island and go left or right for multiple choices. Recommend Café Dufrain. You are not really in downtown Tampa - it is a 10 minute walk and there is not much in downtown Tampa. The Convention Center and Tampa Bay Times are to the left and right respectively across the street as is the light to unused street cars that go to Ybor.

Room Tip: Marina facing not city facing and upper floors with baclony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    805
    289
    104
    69
See reviews for
422
501
87
1,295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Was in town for a conference... BIG hotel lots of rooms, great views of water, etc. but lacks a good internal restaurant.... Champions just doesnt cut it. Plus there are not many nearby alternatives. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to be up on a high floor (this baby is TALL)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel this week and as a Platinum member of Marriott, I stay at a lot of Marriotts. I really enjoyed the stay here. The concierge lounge manager was amazing. Carl F was a great help when we were working in the lounge. He had a smile and was very helpful! 5 stars for Carl!
The only thing I would say was not as good was the lobby bar as it was REALLY LOUD. The acoustics in the area make it hard to carry on a conversation with someone standing next to you. Overall, I would stay here time and time again! The view doesn't hurt either!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingTemecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was perfectly located for a night out at the Lightning game. Right across the street from the Forum. If you grab box seats with all inclusive food & drinks (highly recommended) this comes in handy. We took a nice stroll by the water on the river walk in the morning. Really liked this area. Suggest a waterside balcony room on a higher floor. $20 valet parking overnight. The only real downside is that no free wifi was included in the room which is ridiculous for this price.

Room Tip: Waterside, balcony, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this property just before Thanksgiving. It was very easy to get to and upon arrival (we were exhausted having driven 12 hours) we were greeted immediately, asked if we needed help with our bags and our car was whisked away to valet parking. The clerk at the desk was very quick and professional and gave us a balcony room and free internet. (Nice) The property is lovely and peaceful. The room is spacious, clean and updated. The common areas are open and airy, there is a great lobby bar (try the lemon drop) and a couple of restaurants that are nice. Go out the back and you will be on the water facing boats and there is plenty of room to take in the sites, day or night. They even have fire pits to keep you warm and add to a romantic setting. If you like, you can walk a few blocks and find additional restaurants to include Hooters, Cold Stone Ice Cream and everything in between. A short drive away and you will be in the heart of Ybor City (a must see, eat at Columbia!) I would stay there again in a heartbeat and as a travel agent, I would recommend to my clients.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsygryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just had an enjoyable stay at the Marriott Waterside in Tampa. Carl Fuller, Jr. did a tremendous job taking care of us and making us feel at home. Location is excellent and the weather was super. We highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel to this hotel frequently and can't say enough good things about it! The rooms are great - always clean and comfortable. The lobby/bar area are especially nice and relaxing. I love the location on the Bay but close to downtown and the convention center; great ambiance and convenience. Above all, great service every time! Everyone I encounter from the time I pull into the valet, to the time I leave is friendly and goes out of their way to be welcoming and friendly. Mo, Rick, Jacob and everyone at the front desk are helpful and polite. Carl in concierge lounge goes out of his way to make your lounge experience superb. I wish I could have the same experience at every hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Property: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing