We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stay at this hotel periodically and it is always wonderful. It's a huge place with all the facilities you could want. The beautifully appointed and well maintained facility is staffed by the nicest people. Great views of the water from one side of the hotel; very nice restaurants and lots of other things within easy walking or driving distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words. We appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel and look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,009 - 2,015 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were there just after Christmas.

Didn't like: The place was crowded with people coming in for the Outback Bowl. Lobby service from the bar was horrible, seemed like a lot of staff just walking around but no one actually checking on the tables, and not working very efficiently. The executive lounge was closed until Sunday night then it was overcrowded. Breakfast Monday 12/30 in the lounge had one staffer on who had a bit of an attitude with guests and the place wasn't stocked at all. I also found a yogurt that was out of date. Not the kind of experience we have come to expect as frequent Marriott customers.

Did like: Nice hotel, great location - walk across the street to the Times Forum. We saw back to back hockey games and the hotel is perfect for it. Trolley station out front is great, we walked to Ybor City and rode the trolley back. More cities need this! We had a good meal at Champions (loved the Lightning rink setup by the entrance) and a great meal at the Waterside Grill. Yolanda R. was our waitress - very attentive, fun and she handled our requests like a champ. The bloody mary's were excellent and the bacon Yolanda brought us made them perfect. I actually enjoyed the Cuban sandwich at the Waterside more than any other I have had in Florida. Your mileage may vary.

Biggest bonus, the Canadiens were staying at the hotel and our girls met and took photos with half the team and the coaches.

All in all it was a good, safe place to stay with our daughters. Good food choices. Executive floor experience was pretty lacking compared to say Montreal but they were also overflowing with football people. We are definitely coming back for more hockey games and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txcavgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that we fell short of your expectations at the Lobby Bar and Concierge Lounge. Please know that I have personally shared this feedback with the relevant individuals. Additionally, I want to thank you for your positive remarks regarding the hotel as well thank you for recognizing Yolanda. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were staying in Tampa for the Outback Bowl, and I had a horrible kink in my neck. Susan in the spa did a fantastic job on a deep tissue massage. Not only did she help relieve my discomfort, but she also gave me information on things I could do to help alleviate the problem in the future.
Tanya in housekeeping also did a great job in making up our room. She worked around our schedule and was very efficient. She also left us notes daily -- that was a personal touch I had never received before!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting and for personally recognizing Tonya and Susan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice hotel with a pleasant view.
Enjoyed every moment there with helpful, friendly associates and service rendered.

Miss the food at the Champions Bar.

Walking distance to Ybor city with great night life.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K3iGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting and for your kind words about the associates you interacted with. Should your travels bring you to The Waterside in the future, please know that we have other dining options available ready to meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arrived at 2pm to NO WATER! Needed a shower after traveling and working with high school athletes. Next day, No Hot Water! Hotel offered to move me but it was an hour before checkout! Room & hotel is nice. Check water before booking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for recent posting on TripAdvisor and for positive comments about the room and hotel. I would like to apologize for what you experienced with the water and reassure you that this was an isolated incident that has been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel after we attended the Iowa Hawkeye Outback Bowl game at James Raymond Stadium. The location is perfect! The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was super clean. We had an amazing view of the water. The bed was really comfy too!

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a water front view..it is gorgeous. You wont be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelinsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for positive comments, we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in early November and had a nice weekend. The bellmen were very helpful as a few girls and I were constantly coming and going for different appointments. My husband and I enjoyed the hotel's brunch with a large group of friends. There were lots of options including an omelette station, make your own waffle area, fruit, bread, etc. - everything was very fresh. Our room was nice - nothing spectacular, but what you would expect from a Marriott. The pool area was very large and if we were there for longer we definitely would have taken advantage. It seems like a great hotel for a family. The views of the harbor were lovely - we were high enough up that we were able to see the skyline and harbor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinSmith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting we were pleased to see that you and your husband enjoyed the weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £134 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing