We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience for a work trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff here is amazing!!! From Gina helping me checking in to Ana making sure our convention was flowing smoothly, this hotel has been a really nice stay. Courtney managed our convention to the nearest line of perfection possible. She really helped to pull the whole show off with no issues. The serving staff here will absolutely go out of their way to accommodate your needs. One guy totally stood out; I think his name was Dennis? Great server and very outgoing. I had a massage by Natalie this afternoon that was the best I have had in years. The property is beautiful on the inside, and the views from my room made me want to stare out my window for hours! This hotel is in a great location that is very walkable and the proximity to the water is a really nice feature. I will definitely advocate our business having another convention here in the hopefully near future!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view and you won't be disappointed! There are some rooms with balconies that add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,043 - 2,049 of 2,889 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hotel charged my card for incidentals, with no warning. Next day we changed the card to someone else's and asked to have the charge taken off mine. Each day someone said they would take care of it and no one did. I had to borrow money to eat while I was there and here I am back home 6 days later and I'm still fighting to get my money back. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. The front desk service was horrible for a matter like this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lworsnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your recent posting. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced. Please contact me directly at bill.heitzig@marriott.com for assistance with your billing concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My girlfriend and I just stayed here this past weekend. I originally had us booked at another Marriott resort in Tampa but finally got this property to show up on Marriott.com at the last minute so I re-booked us here. I paid a lot more than I would've but after driving by the other property during our travels in town, I'm glad I did.

We came down for the Billy Joel concert at the Tampa Bay Times Forum. If you're going to the Forum, there's not a better hotel to stay at. It's not even a five minute walk to the arena. I booked us a room overlooking the water, with a preference of a high floor. I realized I booked the room pretty late and since the hotel only came up on Marriott.com two days before the trip, that the chances of getting an ideal room was slim. I thought the hotel would be full because of the concert but it turns out there was a huge convention that, from what I saw, was taking up most of the hotel. We ended up with a room on the 11th floor. Unfortunately, it was on part of the building where there was a wall blocking our view to the west. Management did me a favor though so I can't really complain about the room. The view was still very nice. It was clean and more spacious than I expected. Housekeeping did a great job keeping the room clean while we were there and our housekeeper left a note on the desk welcoming us to the hotel. The air conditioning was really quiet but the room was somewhat warm. We had the thermostat as low as it would go. I don't know if the unit wasn't cooling properly or if that's just the way it is.

The property itself is beautiful. Everything was clean and well maintained. The patio out back is very nice and my girlfriend and I enjoyed an afternoon drink out there. The only parking is from valet. I read before my trip that some of the valet are rude but I didn't have a problem with any of them. The only restaurant we ate at while we were there was Champions. I was actually really impressed with the size of the restaurant and how nice it was. The menu wasn't bad, but like any hotel menu, was a little expensive. I only had two problems while we were there. My girlfriend and I both ordered draft beers. I noticed after the waiter left that draft beers came in two sizes. I said to my girlfriend that the waiter was gonna come back with the larger size and sure enough he did without asking what size beer we wanted. The only other problem was that my Cuban was toasted a little long where it started to get burnt but it was still good. My girlfriend really liked her BBQ pork sandwich.

Having worked at another Marriott resort, I know what customer service standards Marriott holds their employees to and everyone hit the mark that we came across. Check in was quick. My girlfriend was stressing in the elevator and one of the bellman attempted to calm her down and even continued to do so while we were leaving the hotel to go to the concert. The wait staff that we came across was also very friendly.

Room Tip: Any room that ends in 07 overlooking the water has a wall blocking the view to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skimsoflo1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is our favorite hotel in Tampa. We stay there at least 4 or 5 times a year and it is our spot to celebrate New Year's Eve and Day. The staff is great! Robert Nokley (front office manager) was extremely helpful and went out of his way to ensure we had a lovely room both for our Christmas and New Year's stays. Jack at the poolside bar is always ready with a smile and recognizes us every time. Same for Mort at the lobby bar. They are great and provide excellent service. Carlos is our go-to guy at the valet area. This year he went above and beyond after the back floorboard got soaked and he vacuumed it and made sure it dried out. Brian at the bell desk is extremely helpful and our housekeeper (I believe her name is Norma) took excellent care of our room and made sure everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was very happy with my stay. Hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel and stay again. If you are passing through, be sure to explore the area! it has some fantastic things to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Well appointed, beautifully decorated, well maintained. The staff was pleasant, friendly and hard working. Just an all around pleasurable experience. Champion's Sports Bar has very good food and no loud you can't have a conversation. Joyce and Carl in the Concierge Lounge really make you feel comfortable and relaxed, both in the morning when starting your day or at night winding down for the evening. I'll definitely put this location on my Marriott favorites list.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the waterside and have a beautiful view. Even number rooms face the street, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Carl Fuller, Jr. was very professional and courteous in the concierge lounge during the breakfast hours. He greeted me when i first entered the room at an early hour, and he was willing to assist in any needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,503 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £124 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing