We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Grill can take off all on their own!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our experience exceeds expectations! We were looking all over town for restaurants and couldn't find any seating and when we did, we were not even acknowledged to be served nor did we find wait times that were acceptable for a 4 year old. We came into waterside grill around 9:00pm (that's how long it took to find something on a Friday night) and the greeted and seated right away! Yaroslava was our server. She was the most accommodating server especially under the circumstance that my 4 year old was beginning to lose interest in eating dinner. My mother travels all over the world and even recommends this hotel over the Mariott Marquis in Manhattan! FYI - Their pecan crusted scallops are amazing! I will definitely be coming back for an anniversary getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbwolcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have had hundreds of massages in about 39 countries. I try to get one when I go on a business trip. At the last moment today I decided to do a deep tissue massage at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. As luck would have it, I was assigned to Susan. Susan did a phenomenal job! She really understands what 'deep tissue' means. She really gets into the muscles and works out the blockages and knots. If she presses too hard, she pulls back instinctively so that the massage was deep but not painful. If you like/need a deep tissue massage, request Susan; she is your practitioner - AND I'll bet that she is just as good on any other type of massage as well. Mary Molloy

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water. What a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymolloy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Called the hotel in advance of arrival, asking about a balcony. Were told that if one was available, we could have it -- no mention of extra costs to upgrade. Upon check in, some people were being offered free upgrades, but we were charged $20 per night for a balcony. Wouldn't have been bad (city view) if it ever received any sun.
Room decor is dated and showing signs of age. Beds were extremely uncomfortable.
Pool was NOT heated. I may be wrong, but I am sure I read that it was. Observed another guest who dipped her hand in and said "There is no way that is 80F." So, she also thought it was heated. Adding to that, the entire pool area is like a wind tunnel, if it is at all windy in Tampa.
Areas that other reviewers liked (sports bar, outside patio/lounge) were also closed at different times for private functions, so I don't know how much use you would get from them.
It seems that those who stay on the concierge floors are happy with this hotel. We did not stay on those floors and we were not happy with it.
I used to like the Marriott brand, but I will avoid it in future.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a city side balcony unless you want to avoid the sun entirely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaGalOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to the Tampa Marriott Waterside and for your posting on Trip Advisor. In regards to your accommodations, our balcony rooms are considered a premium room type and are available for an additional rate. Certain status within our Marriott Rewards program is entitled to complimentary upgrades, such as a balcony, upon availability. Please accept my apologies for any miscommunication in the pre-arrival process. I also recognize your displeasure with the guestroom offerings, outlet hours of operations, and our pool deck area. I have shared your relevant feedback with the appropriate managers in an effort to provide the best product possible to our guests. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this place very much, I surly recommend it to others. There are a lot to do around the hotel and you can walk because it isn't too far. Inside the hotel there are good and fun activities as well. Our visit was back in 2012

Room Tip: Waterside views are awesome. City views are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spacious lobby is comfortable, not stuffy. Nice bar inside and seating outside on the waterfront. Our suite was comfortable and quite large, with balconies complete with tables and chairs. There is no door between bedroom and sink/vanity area of bathroom. Tub/toilet area could use a little attention to detail... cracked caulk, debris in corners, etc. But overall, a comfortable and clean room. Staff was helpful and efficient. Our only on-site meal was in the sports bar which had average food, but was a great place to watch the winter Olympics. The trolley stop just across the street makes it easy to get to the Ybor City area of town -- just check the schedule online or ask the concierge. The riverfront park is a nice walking/jogging area just outside the hotel. 10 minute walk to Channelside and Florida Aquarium.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently had a wonderful stay at Marriott Waterside Hotel in Tampa recently. This was the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed there, and would definitely return again. I cannot say enough about the great service I received from all of the staff I encountered at the hotel. The “At Your Service” line on the phone was great, and they were always prompt to assist with any requested I had – including changing my room.

The room and bathroom were impeccably clean, as always. The housekeeper left a handwritten note, which was a nice touch. When I had the privacy sign up during cleaning hours, I received a small card under my door notifying me that they attempted service, and I could contact them if I needed service or supplies later in the day – that was a great touch, which I have never found at any other hotel (in fact, at other hotels staff seems “put out” when I have requested towels, etc., so this was very much appreciated).

Location, location, location! This hotel is in the heart of downtown, literally across the street from the convention center, and the trolley stops right out front for a quick ride to Channelside or Ybor City. The parking is expensive, but comparable to other hotels downtown. I’ve seen other reviewer recommend parking yourself in a public lot across the street, but have not tried it yet.

I used the room service and enjoyed a shrimp and pasta dinner, for about $26 – pricy, but average for room service. The meal was delicious, portion was large, and included a basket of 4 rolls (although not noted in the menu). If you’re looking for a lower cost meal you can walk downstairs and pick something up yourself from Champions, and even get it “to go” and take it back to your room.

This was the first hotel I have found to offer liquid hand soap for in-room use, which reflected their attention to detail. It seems like a simple (logical) idea, but strangely most hotels still offer the mini bars of soap.

The hotel does not include breakfast, but if you are a member you may be able to enjoy the concierge lounge which offers a light breakfast (pastries, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, juice, coffee). This was a great perk, and the lounge included comfortable seating inside and a small balcony to eat outside.

The lobby offers free Wi-Fi and an abundance of seating to work, socialize or browse the web. There are even small areas with tables, booth-type seats and several plugs to charge your gadgets while sitting in the lobby. There is also a lobby bar, pool bar/restaurant, and restaurant in the back of the first floor, in addition to the Champions sports bar/restaurant in the front of the lobby. You can take the trolley to other local restaurants, or even try the one in the lobby of the hotel across the street.

The bedding in the rooms was unbelievably comfortable, and included plenty of pillows. The bedding is reason enough to stay there! I would suggest that you request a room with a balcony, so you can enjoy the water or city views and Tampa weather – it’s worth the extra money.

Cons (minor)/Areas for Improvement:

The rooms include a wine cooler, but no refrigerator. The wine cooler only goes down to 50 degrees, so you cannot store any food inside. It does keep water and cans of soda relatively cool, however I think most guests nowadays expect a refrigerator in their rooms (and would utilize it much more than a wine cooler).

The hotel used to provide complementary Bath & Body Works products in the rooms, but have switched to a different brand. The new one is fine, but the BBW was much better.

The sliding doors to the balconies are VERY difficult to open. I had to use 2 hands and it was still difficult to maneuver. If you are in a wheelchair, be aware that the sliding door includes a high bottom, which you could not slide over with a wheelchair – even in the disabled rooms.
They had a towel rack inside the shower, which took up unnecessary shower space, and caused the towels there to get wet. There was plenty of room in the bathroom, and they should have moved the rack elsewhere.

I highly recommend this hotel – especially for those attending something at the convention center across the street, or planning on spending time at the hotel relaxing or working over their visit. As I said before, the amazingly comfortable beds are reason enough to stay. The nightly rates are high (which is why I only gave 4 stars for value), but given the location and amenities it is understandable. If you are concerned about the cost and will only be using the hotel to sleep and not enjoying the amenities offered, you might want to opt for a less expensive hotel in the area (especially if you do not qualify for the free breakfast in the concierge lounge).

We did not utilize or ask about any kids activities, so to be fair I gave it a fully 5 stars.They have a great pool, but I do not know what they offer for children.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you ensure you do not receive a room near the exterior air conditioner. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2TalkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Carl Fuller, Jr. was a great host! He was proactive in working with the many visitors and had a nice comment for everyone.The lounge itself was quite nice with a great view of the city. The food at breakfast was Marriott standard, that is to say very good with a wide variety of choices. We are big fans of the chain and have been very happy with the Marriotts and JW Marriotts we've stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 164 in Tampa
1,544 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#23 of 164 in Tampa
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £176 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown. Our hotel in Tampa, Florida is located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of our lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing