We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaving with a great taste in my mouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I must say that I have had the best hotel food ...hands down... at the Tampa Marriott Waterside property. The service provided by staff is worthy of awards. I dined at the Waterside Grill and Champions Sports Bar. My first meal took place at the Waterside Grill. The server suggested I try the blackened Mahi Mahi as a soft taco. I did and it was exceptional - I knew the PRSA conference I was attending was going to be a success because the first meal hit a home run. I am a room service junky and have experienced some pretty bad food. But When I uncovered the STL style ribs and that sweet/spicy BBQ sauce aroma wafted through my sinuses, my tummy did a happy dance. I just finished lunch ... choosing clam chowder and mojito grilled shrimp... let me tell ya emm emm good! the claim chowder was better than the chowder I raved about in Boston! The chefs on this property are Killing IT! I hope this Marriott property keeps the culinary team cause they are the best.

Room Tip: Just steps from the hotel (between the hotel and convention center) is a outside bar with a great br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruxpin519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is fortunate to have employees like Ricardo. Without fail, he has helped me with his flexibility and proactive follow up for reservation requests. Ricardo's positive, "can-do" attitude is infectious so I really enjoy working with/through him.

Richard Cline / Atlanta

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visiting for PRSA Travel conference for first time in Tampa and what a treat this hotel is! Everyone from hotel desk staff to Ahmed who served up room service with the most engaging smile are among the most accommodating I've encountered on a business/pleasure trip.
Great skinny margaritas on the patio overlooking marina and mini yachts parked like cars along River Walk.
Request room on higher floor marina side for breathtaking view of Tampa Bay at night.
May want to bring your favorite room spray to mask odd smell from marina.
Easy walk for sensational sushi at Jackson's Bistro or shopping across the channel.
Excellent business hotel, great for groups, food average, but better choices nearby.
Coming back soon with gal pals.

Room Tip: Tip the front desk clerk and it might get you on top floors with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A great stay....just what I had hoped for. A relaxing day by pool. They treat you with ice cold pop ups, which feels like a vacation from days past! Staff, Bruce was very helpful with logistics, and Maria Cruz and Lydia did a fantastic job of keeping the room beautiful and helping out with forgotten items. Hotel is very well run; good food, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nature-artchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Danielle and Scott were so easy to work with and any problems we did run into were fixed in a timely manner. As a matter of fact, all of the staff that I encountered while there were helpful and courteous. Thanks for making this part of the wedding stress-free!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The skinny:

Parking- valet is $24
Decor- elegant, simple
Service- front desk great, on the phone eh
Linens- cool and crisp
Towels- some good and some eh

We stayed here for my brothers wedding on memorial weekend. We booked a room and stayed on the 12th floor. If you can get a room on the waterside it's probably a better view. Our room was the standard Marriott room, size was ok, bed comfy. The sink in the bathroom was slow draining two of the three days and they forgot to clean our room one night. Then the third night there was a strange puddle of water on the carpet (from the AC) and the engineer was sweet to give us a free movie. The free movie didnt work out so well so we tried a different free movie and that was sketchy as well.

When we left, I mentioned these things to the front desk and they totally took care of us. I appreciate that!

Also: just bc you are a Marriott rewards member, doesn't mean you get free Internet. You hv to be a higher level member.

And the newer towels are way better, softer!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, Resident Manager at Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and for your posting on Trip Advisor. Your feedback regarding our products and services are certainly appreciated, and contribute to our effort to continuously improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and it was the bomb. The pool deck is very special (family friendly, tanning, food, music, it was ALIVE) and uniquely positioned to oversee the neighboring Bay. The location was absolutely perfect. But really, the best part of the hotel is its STAFF. From valet (Charlie) to concierge nightman who I didn't get his name but he was helpful on a couple pressing issues (big guy), to the Lounge's hostess JOYCE WILLIAMS (wadup girl, thanks for the help with family pizza dinner lol) the team really worked well to ensure an enjoyable experience at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a bay balcony view. It is beautiful if you're into those things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £134 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing