We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This Marriott has great customer service. Very polite from the moment you pull up in your car. Concierge Lounge is nicely stocked and friendly people. When you call down to the front desk with a question or issue you get a very fast response and an accommodating answer. Just nice service.

Room Tip: I stayed on the water side and it was great. Know that Tampa is known for their lightning/thunder st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and professional if we had any issues. The concierge was very quick to handle our little payment problems. We had one of the smallest rooms in the hotel with a lovely uh...roof view, but it was still very nice. The housekeeper even left us a cute note~ Our favorite parts had to be the number of elevators (very important for check out day during a convention) and Champions right in the lobby. Our complaints were only that the gift shop was a little lacking in areas and it took ALL DAY for maintenance to come fix out closet door that had fallen off the track when we tried to open it. The vending machines on most of the floors were broken or out of drinks as well...but it was in the middle of a convention, 3 weddings, and a corporate event. Other then that, it was a awesome hotel for a great price! The location is super close to the convention center and the trolley station. My roommates also LOVED the pool. Also, WIFI!! Will be staying there again for Metrocon next year! (Hopefully getting a bigger room since we cosplays have A LOT of stuff)

Room Tip: Any rooms on the left side have a roof view of the 3rd floor area. Corner rooms are very quiet thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a room for Metrocon...$149 for a city facing room with 2 double beds (our room overlooked the convention center, and we actually had a glimpse of the water from our balcony.) Staff was very friendly and we were able to check in VERY early (around 11:00 am) The room itself was very clean, but there were cigarette butts on the balcony. Bedding was superb..fresh and super- comfy. In-room coffeemaker was pathetic- I would think Marriott could afford better quality, but the coffee actually tasted better than most in-room coffees. The pool area is fantastic. Pergolas are a nice touch for people who need a break from the Florida sun.My main complaint was the elevators...only four for 20+ floors of guestrooms.....no express elevators to higher floors like I've seen in some hotels.We waited a LOOONG time, every time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CAROL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a very nice and comfortable Marriott in downtown Tampa. The lobby is large, with ample seating for business or socializing. The service in the lobby, both in the seating area and at the bar, was somewhat inconsistent. At times it was efficient, and at other times painfully slow. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and up to date. We had a nice view of the bay. No complaints here. The concierge lounge was quite large and generally had decent offerings. The morning buffet seemed to be somewhat more plentiful than the evening. While there was lots of seating, it was fairly sterile and lacking in character...but I'm being quite finicky in making this point. The one drawback to this property is that the Italian restaurant was not open, and there were very limited dining options on site. I've eaten in this restaurant in the past and found it to be quite good, so I was disappointed that it was closed. It was unclear to me whether it was closed for good, or just while we were there. The hotel is right in the middle of town, in close proximity to pretty much everything. I ran outside, but my wife reported that the fitness facility was good. Definitely worth a stay!

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a nice property. The view of the city scape and water is fantastic! The folks in the Concierge Lounge were very accommodating and helpful, especially Carl Fuller. You cant beat the views from the 24th floor patio. I look forward to bringing my wife back for weekend stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This waterfront hotel is a star in the Marriott chain. All the staff are courteous and helpful, greeting me each time I pass them. Carl Fuller Jr in the Concierge Lounge was a real standout. He handled the morning breakfast crowd with great efficiency and patience. The desk clerks were also wonderful, taking care if small issues with a smile and a quick apology.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed four nights for metrocon convention. We had lots of luggage and costumes. Valet was so careful and nice about unloading our things. The hotel was booked solid for this event and in every dept. anyone that I dealt with always had a smile on their face and what can I do to make you happy attitude. Some of our costumes needed an extra person to help put together and the concierge desk was so helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and so was the food in the sports café. If you get a high floor facing the city the view is beautiful at night. The top of the sun trust building and bridges changing colors is really beautiful. A special THANK YOU to Peter the hotel manager and Frank, you are both very sweet. This hotel has some of the best customer service I have ever seen and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina

Address: 700 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5404
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £133 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 717
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking silhouette along the Channel Riverwalk, the Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina in Ybor City overlooks Tampa Bay in the heart of Downtown, located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center. This world-class Downtown Tampa hotel's 50,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting space, full-service spa, and several delicious restaurants such as Café Waterside and Champions, make it the perfect destination for work and play. Part of the Channelside District, the Tampa Marriott is among the most luxurious of hotels in Tampa, Florida, with newly renovated rooms and suites offering private bay or city view balconies. After a busy day, unwind in one of this Tampa, Florida hotel's lounges or enjoy culinary excellence at Il Terrazzo. For ultimate relaxation, try our spa, jacuzzi, or rooftop pool! Boaters can dock and stay using the 32-slip, full-service Marina at the exclusive Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina near Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing