We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On par for an economy hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Inn & Suites Tampa
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 24 July 2013

During a storm, our home lost power for an extended time and I needed internet. This hotel is close to our home, so I got a room there. Had I read the reviews first, I might not have stayed but, since I went in unbiased, I did not see 90% of what others are talking about. As I travel in business I am used to staying exclusively at Hilton. This is not a Hilton. But, it is certainly on par or to much better than hotels in the same price range all over the country. They have a great staff and are a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

The room was supposed to be smokeless and it smelled horrible. There is also a homeless camp behind the hotel. The hotel is convenient off the interstate but if they want business, which it looked like they needed, they better improve the rooms or go way down on the price of their rooms. Awful place!

Room Tip: If all you need is a room, don't expect much. If you are expecting a nice hotel...continue look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NativeFloridian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSD, General Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear guest, we want to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel. We try to maintain our rooms to high standards and apologize your room smelled like a smoking room. Sometimes we do have guests that smoke in our non-smoking rooms and we deep clean those rooms to rid the room of the smell. We would have been more than glad to switch you to another room had you notified the front desk. As per the homeless camp behind the hotel, it was on state property and we could not do anything about it. However, after multiple complaints from us and IHOP the state did send a cleaning crew and that problem has been resolved. We hope you give us another chance to show you that we value our guests' input and do our best to resolve any issues.
Sincerely,
MaTT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This place isso gross literally just walked in the room condoms on the side of the bed. Stains on carpet and phone doesn't work. There is a whole in the wall behind the door and serious trash living here. I set my bags down for a minute and I can't bring myself to settle in here even for a night. A refund just won't do it...avoid this place like the plauge.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat242010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraswat80, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We try to maintain a very hospitable and clean property with friendly customer service. We have staff members available 24/7 to ensure our guests have a satisfactory stay. I apologize again for the dissatisfactory experience you had. If you decide to stay with us again I assure you that your stay with us will be much more pleasant because our number one goal is guest satisfaction and we waste no time correcting and resolving any problems experienced by our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

On my recent visit to Tampa I was pleasantly surprised to see such a friendly and safe place
with moderate prices. My family joined me on my business trip to Tampa this time. When we visited we saw this place in good location, Easy access from Interstate ,plenty of places to eat nearby. Check in was quick and friendly. We were able to visit some friends and family nearby.
Staff was always smiling and helpful in things to visit .
No problem sleeping in spite of being close to interstate and busy intersection in day time
you can find places to eat in walking distance even late at night. I was able to do my work in downtown while family did site seeing and occasional golfing nearby.
I will recommend to anyone particularly for the price and friendly convenient place in today's market. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask to give rooms facing courtyard side, Call direct if you have any meetings OR need group meetings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 244sam244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraswat80, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Vista Inn and Suites. We appreciate feedback from all our guests and we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable and satisfying stay. Thank you again for staying with us and giving us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was Springbreak and as anyone who wants to go to Busch Gardens but forgot to make reservations knows, you may have to head a bit more out to find a place.
However, that gave no right to the hotel for being 40 years out of date and having terrible beds. At the office the receptionist asked if you wanted a smoking or nonsmoking room. We said nonsmoking. Well, I guess she misunderstood us because as soon as we walked into the room the smell of cigar hit us. It was either cigar or stale air, and quite frankly, neither are appealing.
The only bright side was the iHop right next door to provide us a lOvely breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamesAreOverrated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSD, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. We take great pride in trying to offer great guest satisfaction with their stay, but obviously we have failed during your stay. I am not sure what happened with the smoking and non-smoking rooms, but we do have specific non-smoking rooms, and obviously you did not receive one. We have a 100% satisfaction guaranteed policy at this property. I only wish that we had the opportunity to make your stay right for you when you were here. I hope that you will give us another chance in your next stay in our area. Thank you
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I had some family come into town and I told them to stay there, unfortunately I hadn't been to the property myself and online it looked like a decent place so I recommended it, boy was I wrong.

First this is a motel, plain an simple. There are druggies, methheads, crackheads, pimps, hoes, etc. lurking about the place which is scary. There are lots of people living out of this motel too from week to week. Everything is disgusting, dirty, falling apart, old, crumbling, etc. I went looking for the ice machine and thought I went into a timewarp back 100 years. There was an employee who looked to be in her 80's in a rocking chair who said "Ya'll need some fresh towels? I'm here 'till 8 or 9 most likely."

No place to eat in the hotel. When I took my family to the room none of the lights worked because they were all unplugged, tube tv, come on! The room smelled horrible, not worth a penny, I hope they demolish the place soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSD, Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

I would first off like to apologize for the items that you noticed during your recent stay. Quite frankly, I am shocked of some of the items that you have mentioned. We try to do the very best in giving our guests the best day possible. And obviously we failed in your recent stay. We had a 100% satisfaction guaranteed policy. I regret that we did not have the opportunity to make your stay a successful one. We take your comments very seriously and hope that you will please give us another try. Thank you
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

spent an uneventful night, I knew it wasn't the Ritz. Saw a hole in the wall and ignored like I ignored the filthy carpet, drapes, inside out sheets on the bed, etc...3 days later checking my online checking account, 200.00 was taken out. I called at the manager he accused me of putting a hole in the wall. We argued and told me he was going to send me pics. I called back and he said since the hole was so small and easy to repair, he decided to return my 200.00.

Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, General Manager at Vista Inn & Suites Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for providing feedback on our hotel. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. We work extremely hard to provide excellent service and a great product to our guests. I sincerely apologize for your experience and I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you a better version of our hospitality in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
7.6 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
9.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Inn & Suites Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn & Suites Tampa

Address: 400 E Bearss Ave, Tampa, FL 33613-1605 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn & Suites Tampa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Inn & Suites of Tampa offers spacious guestrooms, a convenient location off I-275, and a sparkling outdoor pool. We are near many attractions, such as Busch Gardens, Lowery Park Zoo, MOSI, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vista Inn & Suites Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn And Suites
Vista Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn Tampa
Tampa Quality Inn
Vista Inn & Suites Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing