We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away.. Horrible experience..”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #141 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Worst Red Roof I have ever stayed. The so called smoke-free rooms smell so bad. I actually found a empty cigarette box in the room (Room 215). The front desk person was so rude. I think they have a policy not to greet people, it looked like we were staying there for free. We had booked 2 rooms, my family and my parents. We were given rooms in the opposite directions of the buildings. I could hear loud noises all through the night. The faucets weren't working. Check room 215, there is no cold water from the taps. There were a couple smoking right outside my room, too scared to open the door and check. Please please avoid this place, you will get much better places for just a few dollars more. i would never again stay here again..

Room Tip: Please do not go with the hotel pics posted by the hotel management. They need to invest in cleanlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadeem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hello,
I'm so very sorry for your unpleasant experience. We do take our guest satisfaction very seriously. Since becoming a 100% smoke free property a little over a year ago one of our biggest challenges has been trying to get guests to only smoke in the designated smoking areas. This is the first I'm hearing an issue with cold water and is something that will be addressed immediately. I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review and hope that if you are ever in the area again you would give us another try as your experience truly is not the norm.
Thank you,
Bob Mucklin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

This has been a great hotel stay. Wonderful service and I would stay here again. Great breakfast, the rooms are very clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly. I love that security 24 hours a day. Great location because it's close to the theme parks.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wallace1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst213, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hello,
I just want to Thank You for taking the time to review out hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Once again Thank You.
Bob Mucklin,
General Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were impressed by the comfortable firm mattress, shower, and most of all, by an employee, Antoinette. It was evident at first sight that you are lucky to have such a person on your staff. Her walk was purposeful, ready to do her job. She attended our room several days while we were there; she did a good job, was attentive to detail, customer service focused, and was happy to take care of us. When we checked out, we found her at the front desk, doing that job, too, with all the qualities described above. The manager was there as well and he told us they have recognized her desire to move up in the company and are training her to do so. We hope you are proud of her. It sure looks like Antoinette is a good investment for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaK62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always pleasant to hear from guest who enjoyed their stay and had good things to remark on about the staff. I'll be sure to share your comments with them. Once again I Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were very unsure about the area as we were driving Busich Blvd to try to find a grocery store, There is a local one in close driving distance, but they did not have what we were looking for because they are more of a local meat market. It is with a lot of other hotels by Busch Gardens, if that is what you are there for. Even though the rooms are supposed to be non-smoking, as we walked by a couple we smelled smoke, and ours had a faint smell in it.

Room Tip: I do not recommend here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cttagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst213, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I'm so very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. And I'm so very sorry that you had to smell smoke at a location that is !00% smoke free. Once again I apologize. Since going smoke free a little over a year ago our biggest challenge has been trying to prevent guests from smoking in the room. I will address the housekeeping dept. again to reinforce that we must remove all smoke odors for a room to be considered clean. Once again I truly am sorry.
Sincerely,
Bob Mucklin,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I Agree stay away..... my first impression was Damn... , so when I walked into the office the first thing she tell me was, we dont have that many rooms that I can put you in thats clean, ( now to let you know I didnt check in until after 3pm), because we was booked yesterday and we're short of staff, so this is the only room that's available and I said ok as long as it's clean, she said yea it's clean, (here goes the but), but when you use the toliet dont flush and walk away, stand there and hold the handle until the toliet flushes, and I said is there anything else I should know about the toliet, she said no this whole building is like that....I responed ok. when I opened the door of the room the first thing that hit me was the smell of mold and mildew, In addition, the room have stains all over the floor very nasty( buy a pair of flip flops). to sum it all up If you decided to come to Tampa for a visit please stay away from this Motel...... pay the extra money to take your family to a clean and decent Hotel not a Motel.....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lashonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst213, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I’m so very sorry that your stay at our Inn did not meet your expectations. We certainly want your visit to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. I’m so sorry that the cleanliness of the room fell short of your expectation. This is something I will be addressing with the housekeeper that was assigned to clean your room prior to your arrival. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future. Once again please accept my apology.
Sincerely,
Bob Mucklin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Checked in for a night to be closer to tampa airport. Staff was nice. Location was okay. About 20 min from the airport.

I am not a picky person when it comes to hotels/motels. And I seldom write a review. This place was the worse place I have ever stayed in. Going into the room..there's a strong smell of mold/dirt/wet carpet that was not dried properly. The bathroom was not clean. We had booked a double bed..1 bed had hair on it..we didn't need 2 beds so we didn't complain. Not sure if all the rooms are this way. Thank god that we only had about 6-7 hours here. I don't get it. Stayed at a cheaper place prior to this one and it was great. Would never recommend this place. If you care about your health stay away. Woke up with a sore throat/cough. Got about 3 hours of sleep. Decided to get to the airport early just to get out of there. Horrible!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serendipity0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst213, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank You very much for your time to write a review of our Hotel. We certainly would hope to meet and exceed every guest expectation every time. It is apparent that we fell short with your stay. For this I am sincerely sorry.
Thank you,
Bob Mucklin, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We never come on here to complain just to get reviews ourselves,this time I wish we had looked on here before we went to The red roof inn at busch gardens.We had a perfect night at howl o scream with friends then drove over to red roof inn at about 11pm for a bed for a few hours before we headed off to John's pass for the day.Well that was ruined because we couldn't sleep it was disgusting I couldn't stand on the floor without shoes on it was filthy and the stench when we opened the door was almost unbearable but I new my partner needed sleep so we stayed maybe slept about 2 hours because of all the screaming and shouting going on above us :( For nearly $70 we were ripped off BIG TIME I wish now we had slept in the car because our day at the seaside was ruined by this we were shattered :( Please please stay somewhere else or at the very least ask to see a room first they aren't like the pictures. xxx

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in the area don't stay here or at least check the room first xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilminxx2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurst213, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm so very sorry that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. It is certainly our objective to do so. Once again we sincerely apologize.
Bob Mucklin, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center Tampa
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
5.4 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
8.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2307 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8407 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tampa Busch Hotel Tampa
Tampa Red Roof Inn
Rodeway Inn Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing