We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill fast”
Review of Outback

Outback
Ranked #580 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
322 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

There was a time when Outback reined supreme. No longer....we had dinner here recently and we were very disappointed. The salads have really suffered. Smallest portions and no pride in presentation. The Steaks were kinda fatty and we both ordered medium rare and got medium. They apparently got rid of the classic walk about soup and I tried the chicken tortilla which was fair. The bread was kind of stale and the baked potatoes are much smaller than previous. About 4 years ago Outback was our favorite place to go and we would eat their 6 - 9 times a month. Please bring back the old menu and go back to how you took pride in your food.

Helpful?
1 Thank jderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow service, cold steaks & old potatoes”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have visited the Sheldon Road Outback 3 tmes in the past 6 months. Each time it's been a horror story. From under-cooked steaks, slow service, cold food, grizzly meat, burnt 'bloomin onion, ths list goes on. The quality of the steaks is very poor, Also, I noticed the servers bussing tables & running food from the kitchen...no wonder the service was slow. Why not employ a few bussers & runners to improve service? I will not return. Upgrade your meat quality & improve service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
322 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Went here on a Friday night. Wait was actually not bad. Server was pretty good and this location has the little iPad type device for ordering and entertaining kids at that table - very cool. Salads came out very quick! My 3 year old unfortunately had quite a wait for Mac and cheese. Main dishes came out a little late and all if the food, literally every single dish was way too salty. 3 steaks and 2 fish dinners were showered with way too much salt. Steaks were very small and one was very fatty. Fish wasn't bad. Salads have gotten incredibly small over the years. I really thought the quality of food has gone down. In Florida at one time Outback was king. In the past 5 years, I have seen a very gradual decline!

Helpful?
Thank jderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Outback”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We like this chain for its consistency and value and this location did not disappoint. Good service and food and no wait time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FourGreatKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dinner At The outback”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good variety of food, no waiting, pleasant staff to take care of your every hungry desire at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwight L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Outback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing