We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hooked on Grouper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gone Fishing Charters

Gone Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gone Fishing Charters provides private, light tackle, inshore fishing charters for parties of up to 6 people. Four, six and eight hour trips available. You'll fish out of a "best in class" boat, a 24 foot Sheaffer 239V Sportfisherman. New tackle and an experienced captain insure a quality outing. Species targeted include redfish, seatrout, snook, tarpon, cobia, spanish mackerel, kingfish, grouper, snapper and shark. License, bait tackle, digital pictures and fish cleaning all included.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Hooked on Grouper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My two sons and I were recently fortunate enough to go fishing with Captain Stewart. The day was beautiful and the action steady with a variety of fish! Awesome boat, gear and plenty of bait. Great fishing guide...kind of like fishing with a buddy. Once the fish are fileted and bagged, make sure to ask Captain Stewart for directions to Magnolia Grille !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeremy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Fishing Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great day on the water with Capt. Ames. He's very knowledgeable and honest. Per his recommendation we went offshore looking for grouper and we caught quite a few. Unfortunately we caught 5 within a half inch of the slot limit for keeping but they were super fun to catch. He's a great guide and an even better person.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kingj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Snookin' it with Captain Stewart Ames”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Did a half day fishing trip catching 35 inch Snook. Captain Ames is an excellent instructor for a couple of salt water novices. Beautiful boat, great equipment, highly recommended !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well Done Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A little bit of a late start, but Captain Stewart was great at communicating where he was and when he wouldf be arriving. He kept our appointment depsite having to use another boat as his was being upgraded at the time. In any case, he was a terrific guide, put us right on the fish and we all caught something, including some big grouper, and highlighted by a big old Kingfish that took us over 30 minutes to reel in. A great guide, and you really will catch stuff!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Pro's Pro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After hiring most every high profile fishing Captain from New Port Richey south to Fort Meyers I have to say that this man Captain Stewart Ames, is really the Pro's Pro. Not only has he been the most knowledgeable, hard working, gentlemanly Captain I've hired in the past 30 years he also is very flexible with those in his boat. If the fish are biting he'll know where and when and not waste your time driving you around and spending your money on scenery. It should be called "Gone Catching Charters" because that's all we did, catch, catch, and catch. On my most recent trip a week or two ago he put my son and I on all the trout, giant reds and snook we could handle. My son and I had more fun together than we've had in years and booked two more trips with him in July. One trip with Capt. Ames and you'll be hooked. Definitely worth every penny you can muster up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gone Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing