We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled Cheese!”

Independent Bar and Cafe
Ranked #209 of 2,407 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: American, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Independent is proud to have been one of the pioneers of the craft beer movement in the Tampa Bay area. The Independent continues to be one-step-ahead of the curve, offering rare and unique beers and wines truly from around the world, as well as quality, award-winning European café fare. The "Indie" has 14 taps that are constantly rotated to ensure a fresh and ever-changing draft selection. There is also a hand-picked selection of more than two hundred bottles to choose from - including beers from notable American craft breweries and amazing world class brews. The friendly, knowledgeable staff at the Independent strives to make craft beer accessible to everyone, and they will gladly help navigate through the eclectic tap and bottle lists.
Tampa, fl
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Grilled Cheese!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

How good is this place. An old gas station into a restaurant. More beers than you can name. Like other reviewers the best ever adult grilled cheese and served with a small salad. The pork and bruschetta sandwiches other favorites. Very popular on weekends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great patio”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The crowd was a bit young for my taste, but they have an excellent selection of beers of tap and a truly great patio.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mere13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best beer in florida ?”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

stayed at friends house nearby in Jan 14, they recommended I try this place for a beer in the afternoon. What a find...not a drop of Bud to be seen, barstaff and patrons friendly and helpful, was able to try a few beers till I picked one out. Selection of USA and European beers in bottles and draft. I ended up with an American stout at 10.5%....lovely ! Went back at night with friends, great atmosphere, good music, nice mix of people. Florida has been crying out for a place like this. Try the Original Sin cider. Not easy to find but worth the trouble.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbenny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Staff too cool?”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The food was delicious. The place is really loud so my parents couldn't hear anything. The staff reminds me of a lot of coffee shops in Seattle - too cool to be bothered helping you, at least on our visit. My parents did repeatedly say how good the beer was.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharpElbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great choices for beer”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Friend and I stopped by for a beer and lunch. I had braut and sauerkraut. Tasted great with beer. The service was right on. Would recommend for a cause meal and a place to socialize.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independent Bar and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Independent Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing