We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite enjoyable”

Straz Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #27 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“quite enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

anytime we have gone to see a performance we have always had an enjoyable time. We did have to park across the street which wasn't to fun , wearing heels , but other than that it was great

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank straw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    120
    16
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Big City in Tampa”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A night out at the TBPAC, makes you feel like you are in the big city. Fantastic assistance provided by the ushers, a great price that won’t leave a hole in your bank account and top notch performances! Love this place and have never seen anything but a great performance presented.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Saw Mike Epps live during his tour. Nice big venue... only thing is... lots of walking and not enough valet during this event. Overall excellent

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Determined_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Since I will be relocating to Tampa in the near future,we try to see something new during each visit. This time we went to a performance of "Jersey Boys" at the Straz Center.Parking was easy and resonably priced with a covered walkway to the complex.We arrrived early and had a light meal at the Center's outdoor cafe. Good food in a pretty setting along the Hillsborough River.The performance was excellent. Free coffee during intermission was a nice touch. The Straz Center's "Broadway in Tampa" series is an excellent value. Coming from New York City, I find that the Straz Center compares favorably to Lincoln Center.All in all a very enjoyable evening!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MAP10128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straz Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Straz Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing