We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Straz Theater of Arts”

Straz Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #27 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
San Antonio, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Straz Theater of Arts”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I am now working here and absolutely love the different theaters and shows. What a wonderful new part of my life I have opened up to enjoy. If you ever get to Tampa, it's worth your time to try and go to a show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlemay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    120
    16
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

From the intimate Jaeb theater to the grand Carol Marsani Hall, David Straz Center for the Performing Arts offers a variety of entertainment options from Opera to Musicals to local productions and even classes for different levels/age groups. Give them a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lineups”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

There are always great shows here! The place is a nice size, always clean. The workers are professional and helpful. The shows are so good, that even the employees are enthusiastic about the shows.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stasia2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we had a place like this closer to home”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Attended the 11/22/13 evening performance of Book of Mormon. Theater has great accoustics [unlke the Carr Center in Orlando]. Also had multiple concession stands thus minimizing your wait time during intermission

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“mpa Delight”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This center is comprised of 4 stages and each one is excellent.In addition there is a great restureant called maestros on the grounds as well where I have often dined at a wonderful buffet before catching a broadway show on tour. I have never been disappointed in the food or service there. The acoustics are wonderful in each venue . I feel very blessed to have such a top notch center to be able to avail myself of the arts here in Tampa

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tampagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straz Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Straz Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing