We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Straz Center for the Performing Arts

Straz Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #24 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Straz Center began as a dream by visionary citizens of Tampa who persevered to bring to reality one of the finest performing arts centers in the nation. It is many things to many people and it’s more than just a building, more than just a performing arts center. It is a presenter, a producer, an educator, a community partner and an economic engine for the Tampa Bay area. It is a cornerstone of the Tampa Bay community. The Straz Center creates a regional economic impact of more than $100 million each year. To our local economy it can mean more tourists staying in hotels, eating in restaurants, shopping in stores and visiting other venues when they are here. At both the local and national level, it provides access to more than 700,000 people of all ages, abilities and cultures each year. It also provides jobs for artists and other professionals who have a passion for the arts and for our mission.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A lovely theater. Very attractive venue, pleasant staff. The only downside was the restrooms were down many stairs and like many places not enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    117
    16
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Straz--Tampa's hub for theatre, dance, folk singers, and more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Starz Center hosts a great Broadway series, international and national dance performances, children's shows, special performances, and a small venue folk singer series. Great talent, and great sound. The only negatives are the same as all such centers: the excessive fees added onto tickets purchased online or by phone, and the ability to bring food and drinks into the larger performance halls. Valet parking is very efficient. The pre-event dining meals are very good, with honors to the chocolate desserts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonita777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Not a macintosh friendly reservation system”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Likes: traveling artists, some shows.
Dislikes: the reservation system is still not apple/macintosh friendly, even after 6 years. I dropped my subscription, largely because often the off-off B'Way shows, are the 2nd or 3rd string, not the better quality actors, etc.

However, OPERA is excellent here, wonderful sound nearly any seat in the house. I've had box seats, balcony as well, and the better sound is in the middle of the middle in Morsani hall.

The ferguson hall is quite good too, for sound. The Jaeb is best for a nice box small venue. The other theaters should only be practice halls, crazy. Often the volunteer staff is not trained to answer any question more difficult that directions to the restroom. Some performances are one or two nights only, forget asking any question, even about the art, the staff is never trained.

The people on the box office may crack a smile if you pay cash and have exact change. asking a question, makes them ALL very defensive. These are not always volunteers either. Volunteers, I believe deserve a pass, but paid employees that have your phone number, should call you when a show is cancelled because the actors have the flu. When this happened to me, after paying for parking and dinner, nearby, dressed for a date, rainy night, then approaching the box office, will call window, and was told that they tried to call everyone, but did not finish calling the list. This place is miss managed, ever since the name change about 6 years ago.

the basic attitude is: hey the night is over, we won't see these people again. Best to valet park, if you can wait for the car to be returned when 150 others are seeking their cars as well.

The drinks are a good pour, if you get the double shot. I see many people with flasks, maybe because the drink prices are high? I just buy 'em anyway. I realize everyone is in business to make money. The bartenders give good service, inside and out side locations.

I've eaten here (opera nights) and the foods are okay, light bites. not a very nice setting to dine, but a good place to meet up with friends, have drinks and enjoy the Opera.

With the plethora of other theaters and entertainment offerings in Tampa Bay, I've found it easy to support many other places, and only now go to the Straz when it's the only game in town and a *must see* concert is in town. which is now about once every 18 months or so. So put up with the rude staff and major inconveniences.
If you found this review helpful, please click the green "YES" button below. Thanks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank GiovanniTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Musical Venues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

It has been a little time since I have seen a Broadway Show here, but I will tell anyone that this is a spectacular place to come. For many a year I was a season ticket holder. I have since not been able to keep that up, but as soon as I can I will again. The facility is beautiful and the staff are very helpful. Never had a bad time or performance. They bring popular and off brand entertainment that could fit to anyone. People need to support the arts and take in this venue whether for theater or music, they will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WinterHavenPeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Seats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love the location, within walking distance to restaurants, the water taxi to Channelside and easy access to the Trolley to Ebor. Not far from highway and hotels, area malls and shopping.
Easy to locate seats. Large stage. Awesome sound.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straz Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Straz Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing