We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa South
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, FL USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

While attending an event in South Tampa we stayed at the La Quinta on Gandy Blvd. This was really the only hotel available in the area of Tampa closest to MacDill AFB. We found the hotel to be not only conveniently located, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar included hot items like omelets and sausage patties, as well as the usual assortment of pastries and rolls. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I usually search for another hotel brand, but I would be like to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank bskMiami_FLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for complimenting our staff, breakfast and our location. Happy to know that our staff was able to accommodate you to their best ability. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and we are so happy that you had a great experience. Thank you again for all your compliments, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    39
    16
    17
    6
See reviews for
52
28
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Flew in a night early for a transatlantic cruise. Price was very reasonable. Room was newly redone and very clean. Front desk was very professional and offered an excellent recommendation for dinner (Ranch House Grill). Workout room was nice. Very quiet -- no complaints whatsoever. Would stay here again; easy walking to several restaurants. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for booking with us and for taking the time to write your review. Our guest feedback and comments are very valuable to us. Our location is very convenient for the travelers to the Port of Tampa. Thank you for your positive comments on our features and location. Hope to see you soon when you are around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked this hotel since it is located so close to MacDill AFB.....was not disappointed....got the special weekend $79 rate and saved quite a lot compared to my original reservation made several months earlier with no problem. Parking in the early evening when we arrived was fine but when we returned after dinner, it was awful. Two parking spots were open but much too small for a mid size car thanks to neighboring cars parking over the lines...finally around the side, we thankfully found the last spot. Room was neat, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate..
what can you expect when it was essentially FREE? But Linda, who managed the breakfast area, was amazing! She kept things well stocked and clean. Chatted with the guests and obviously took great pride in doing an excellent job. Based on this stay, I will seek out LaQuinta in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlandsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you also enjoyed the air show. Thank you for complimenting our features , breakfast and location. Also, thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff, they would greatly appreciate your words.

Thank you again for all your comments and we hope you come back and visit us next time you are in Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

internet for crap, tv did not work, had to run a de humidifier all night, room as humid, cold and uncomfortable. I stayed here because of convenience ended up checking out and heading as fast as I could to Hilton Garden Inn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the La Quinta Inn of South Tampa. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience. We will try to serve you the best in your future stay. Thank you for choosing your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We come to Tampa every couple of months and always stay at this La Quinta in South Tampa. Our trip is usually a week. We have always found that the owner, and the person that checks you in (Mr. Keyur) have always been friendly, and cater to all our needs. Even the lady who handles the breakfast makes sure our breakfast experience is a cheery and pleasant one. We will continue to stay at this hotel because it feels like home!!
Richard and Cathy Velez - Houston, Texas

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the La Quinta Inn of South Tampa. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you soon in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went here after reading all the positive reviews, guess I went on an off-night! Either that or these posts got put under the wrong hotel. Check-in was very casual and almost lackadaisical. I asked if I could pay for my room with gifts cards and got an “of course.” So I get my room and go straight up. As soon as I walked in I looked right, to the bathroom and saw the toilet seat swung off the top of the toilet on a 45 degree angle!?!?!? How do you clean a room and not see the seat is totally broken? So I had to go back down and get another room. The rooms are ok and my bed was very “springy” and the pillows are fat and don’t collapse at all. Not good if you have neck issues. The breakfast is fair (we all have our own tastes) and I don’t expect to have to heat up my own (powdered) eggs. I stayed two nights and the second day the cap to the bathtub plunger was unscrewed and laying in the tub. Again, do the housekeepers even see what’s going on in these rooms?? So now it’s check out and when I presented my gifts card Kuyer says he can’t accept them because they don’t have my name on them?!?! Gift cards don’t have names! He wouldn’t hear it and refused to accept them. Also, be prepared to pay for the in-room safe whether you use it or not. There are too many other “nice” places in Tampa to spend your time to money here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are all very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are working very hard to improve our hotel and services and feel terrible that we were not able to provide you the best experience. We appreciate your feedback very much, and will be using your comments to help better train all of the staff members. Thank you again, have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Decent price, and dog friendly were our main criteria for our stay in the Tampa area. This hotel fit the bill. Clean, excellent customer service. Only draw back is the breakfast was not very good. Only had one type of eggs (precooked with cheese inside) so no option for non-cheese eaters. Each morning they had either bacon or sausage but on Sunday they ran out early and it was not replenished in the 30 minutes we were at breakfast. Would have preferred more options for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyur p, Manager at La Quinta Inn Tampa South, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We will definitely use your comments to help improve our breakfast offerings. We are looking for ways to make our breakfast better, and hope that next time you are in the area, you will come and try it out! Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#103 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#51 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.4 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa South

Property: La Quinta Inn Tampa South
Address: 4620 W Gandy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33611-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa South Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
La Quinta Inn Tampa South Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing