We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for a few weeks waiting for permanent housing in Tampa. Property was being renovated. Had previous issue with reservation but manager resolved quickly. Staff really strives for excellence in providing great customer service and experience for guest.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Sheila,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I hope that you have settled nicely into your new home and are enjoying Tampa.

Our renovation turned out great and our hotel has a very cool new contemporary look with a lot of great functional things, like putting fridges & microwaves in the standard rooms, integrated lighting and power at the headboards. I am not sure which room you stayed in, but the suites also got brand new 47" TV's which really make them feel like home.

Please tell your out of town friends & family where to stay when they come - we will give them the same excellent service that you received.

Kind Regards,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    120
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
264
143
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Checked in late on Valentines day and the lady at the counter was so sweet, she gave my girlfriend and I both a beer for free, we were exhausted! Such a great way to end our night! We came during a hockey tournament so the kids in the hallway woke us up around 9, that was really the only bad thing. We told the guy at the front desk so he wrote us a sign that said "be quiet around elevators please" he was so funny and nice! He even moved our checkout to 1pm instead of 11am since we lost sleep...wow! The staff was so friendly and helpful our whole stay! The hotel was super clean. No mold in corners, no bugs, bed was great! Oh, also from 8-10pm they give all guests ice cream in the lobby for free. No doubt about it I would stay here every time I come to Tampa!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbteam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Webbteam,

I am glad we were able to provide a great Valentine's Day escape and that Brett helped you with a quieter, and longer, night of sleep.

Please don't wait until Valentines Day for your next escape - come see us again soon!

George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I spent a couple of nights with my wife and two kids sharing a suite which proved to be very comfy, quiet and functional. Excellent beds and beddings, large TV with premium cable, spotless bathroom, etc, all we needed at very reasonable prices and allowed a sound deep sleep (the location is quiet but convenient to many restaurants, shops and a large movie theater).

Great hot breakfast served, much better than what I recall is the standard Holiday Inn breakfast. Free ice cream on the evenings too!!

My special Kudos to Judy who helped us with an Expedia screw-up with the room type on which Expedia customer support proved helpless...

Room Tip: Any room is quiet, since it's off the may roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Fish,

Though we only met in passing as you said farewell, I am very happy to hear that Judy did her usual magic.

Our goal is for you to love Holiday Inn Express, and love our Express the best. I know it is a long trip from Santiago, but we hope that we will be serving you again soon.

Wishing you more Happy Travels,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My son and I recently had a great trip to the Tampa area and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Tampa-I-75 @ Bruce B. Downs.

While we stayed for four days, retreating to our hotel for peace and quiet were very important and this hotel did NOT disappoint!

With our rental car, we were close to so many restaurants, shops and sights. There's even a Muvico Movie theatre a minute away from the hotel!

What impressed me more than anything was the incredibly friendly staff at the front desk. From check-in, to advice on local shopping malls, to the wonderful chat I had with the Hotel Manager while eating breakfast solo (my son decided to sleep in on our last day), our entire experience was beyond my expectations.

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express before in other cities and have always been happy with my stay. This experience was no different.

Each night we enjoyed a quiet, peaceful sleep on the more than comfortable beds, each with 4 pillows in a variety of softness.

The room was always clean when we returned from our day out. It was well stocked with just about everything I could ask for. About the only disappointment I actually had was that the room did not have it's own safe.

The breakfast which was included each morning of our stay was really a great bonus. Everything was always fresh and there was plenty of selection, whether you're indulging or trying to stay healthy.

We chose this particular HIE over another one close by because of the location of the hotel. Not necessary what it was close to but more importantly, what it was not!

Having a hotel right by the highway or airport may sound convenient, but when you're trying to get a good nights' sleep, or sleep in, you quickly realize what a poor decision that is! We stayed on the second floor, facing the outdoor pool.

This was our first trip to Tampa but not our last and I can say without a doubt, we WILL be back.

Check the hotel out, you WON'T be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 233, overlooking the pool and it was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Darren,

I am so very glad that we were able to deliver on a great stay for yourself and your son. Your choice of the studio suite was a good one - more space and a 47" TV to boot!

When our hotel was built, I was curious about being tucked away in the preserve, but my experience is that once guests try us out - they keep coming back. We are very lucky to have so many great places to walk to, as well.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Long dark strands all over the chair. Dark pubic hairs in the shower. I was so disgusted I didn't even shower. I showered as soon as I checked into another hotel the following day. I should have complained but I didn't feel like the hassle of changing rooms, also the woman at the front desk when I checked in was rather unpleasant. It's not a requirement to be kind - but it should be in a field referred to as the "hospitality industry".

If any management should read this I checked-in on 1/30 at 1130am and I was in a room on the second floor.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Avian32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Avian,

Thank you for your feedback - I am so sorry about this experience! As you can tell from prior reviews, we take great pride in delivering spotlessly clean accommodations.

I would have loved the opportunity to assist you while you were still at the hotel, but you have my word that this will be shared with the entire team. We care about every guest experience and feel terrible when we miss a critical detail.

I would love another chance provide the flawless experience you deserve. Please call me directly, and I will be happy to provide personal assistance for your last stay, or a future trip.

Kind Regards,
George Sandona, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times whenever we visit Tampa. It's a good price and a great hotel. The service is great, they offer free wifi, it has clean and modern rooms, and it is close to many restaurants and the interstate. I would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone. It is very hard find a great hotel for an affordable rate, this is it!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Alyssa,

Thanks for the great recommendation. We are so happy that our service, our great location and our rooms have brought you back, again and again.

Come see us again soon and you can count on another great stay!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unterseen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here with family... Went to Busch Gardens from here not to far away.
We like staying at a Holiday Inn Express, so far we had always a good experience.
Clean and spacious rooms. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Tanja,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to have earned your 5 star rating, but more happy that we provided you with the value and service you deserve.

We hope to see you in Tampa on future trips!

Kind Regards,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing