We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Tampa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A nice hotel in the suburban neighborhood of "New Tampa," with many restaurants just a short drive from the hotel. The USF campus is also an easy drive down Bruce B. Downs BL.
The hotel was well maintained and very clean.
The rooms include WiFi, mini-fridge and a microwave. A small landscaped pool is in the rear of the hotel and the lobby includes a breakfast area where the complimentary breakfast includes items like cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc.
I was given a cold beer upon check in and each night complimentary ice cream was offered in the lobby. A morning paper was waiting at my door each morning.
Quiet and clean rooms in a safe-feeling area of town with plenty of whistles and bells make this a good place to stay in Tampa.
The staff was very friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridianontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Floridian,

Thank you so much for your Five Star recommendation. We are blessed with a great location relative to the USF Campus and we have seen many parents from the first college tour all the way through graduation.

We appreciate all the details that you mention - they are all a labor of love. Our promise is to make every visit as comfortable as this one. Thanks again for all of your kind words.

George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

By far one of the best hotels I have stayed at. George the General Manager will go out of his way to make you feel at home. The rooms where beyond clean, the service was beyond wonderful, I couldn't be happier. My next stay when I go to Busch Gardens will be at this Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with Whirlpools tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kYLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Kyle,

I really appreciate your compliments. We are driven to make each stay great and the highest compliment is your promise to return.

I wish you more happy travels and hope to see you back at our hotel soon. Falcon's Fury at Busch Gardens is scheduled to open the first week of May - perhaps a trip is in order.

Thanks again,
George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very pleased with this hotel all around. The location felt very safe. The grounds were comfortable. They had a special perk of ice cream night when we were there. The rooms were very clean, linens were double sheeted and the beds were comfortable. I liked having a refrigerator, and all the furniture was updated & of taller height. The breakfast was very good as well. The front desk was very nice & used the business center to print out luggage tags. The ONLY drawback I would say was that when they updated, they did not update 100% (like the tile floor/shower area). But I would def stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmoochyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Smoochy,

Thanks for your 5 Star recommendation! I am glad that you enjoyed all of our updates & upgrades, as well as our great neighborhood.

We were happy to make you happy and we hope to see you again very soon!

-George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The hotel staff were very nice and they were helpful. The room was very quiet and clean. It was nice to have complimentary ice cream in the evening, that was a nice touch. The hotel is a little outside the downtown area, but the whole area of Tampa requires a car to get anywhere so I was o.k. with this. Would stay there again if I was in the area. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor near the stairs away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for review and for your recommendation. I am glad that our New Tampa location was convenient to the places that you wanted to visit, and that our staff delivered good service to you.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Happy Travels!

George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spoke with George Sandona, General Manager. Offered suggestion for website to add more specific info regarding dining. He was receptive and fun to talk to.

Have to say what a wonderful stay we had. All of the staff was personable and helpful. We needed to stay slightly later for a business call and they were very accommodating even though we aren't reward members.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Most importantly, we were treated very well. Stayed while visiting colleges and if my child attends in Tampa, we'll be staying at this hotel whenever we visit. Definitely has earned the #1 in Florida rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenjifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Kenji,

I am glad we delivered a great stay while you were on your college search. We wish the scholar great success, wherever he chooses to study.

I like your suggestion about an insiders guide to dining - I think I just may have to do a little more "research" on things like signature deserts, etc. There is no shortage on opinions about good food at the Holiday Inn Express, to be sure.

Again, thanks for staying. We hope he chooses Tampa and you stay again soon!

-George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel gave us a terrific experience at a reasonable price. The complimentary hot breakfast was more than adequate for us each day, and we very much enjoyed the complimentary ice cream in the evenings. The manager was especially cordial, showing up at breakfast each morning and checking in with guests. There are several restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance, and the hotel is right off of I-75. The fitness center is small, but all of the equipment is relatively new and in good condition. The TV gets many more channels than most hotels, including all HBO channels, and the wifi signal is strong. The shower was strong, unlike the low flow that you often get. Our rating would have been an easy 5, except that one day, our room was not cleaned despite the fact that we were out all day. We anticipate staying here again the next time we are in Tampa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roosdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Roos,

Thanks for the great review! I am so sorry for the miss on your room, but I guarantee that the next trip will earn that 5th star!

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the area, as well. We are lucky to have such a great selection of walkable restaurants, and a movie theater to boot.

We are happy to have served you, and we hope to see you again very soon!

-George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel was great for a short stop in Tampa. The front desk staff were very knowledgeable and gave great advice re local sight seeing. The hotel is clean and appears very well managed. My only caveat would be to careful of room selection. We were given room 202 and it was next to the fitness room which was open from 5 a.m. until 11 p.m. Very noisy. The pool is clean but very small. I liked that you could access tea and coffee all day long. The breakfast buffet is hot and cold with a reasonable selection. You could eat a healthy breakfast if you were to breeze by the cinnamon buns and "biscuits and gravy" and opt for the scrambled eggs, toast and a piece of fruit or container of yogurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the fitness room, elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for reviewing our happy hotel! I especially appreciate your advice on low-carb breakfast selections. I am sorry you stayed at a time when the fitness room was in high-demand, but will be happy to find you a location that better suits you on the next trip.

From what I read in your review, I highly recommend the Studio Suites that overlook the pool, and (in case you are used to a big-screen at home) include a 47" LED TV.

We hope to serve your family again soon!

George Sandona, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £86 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing