We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Inn ever, period.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Based on the more than raving reviews here, I chose this hotel for an overnight stay on our road trip. And the expectations were even surpassed. From the complimentary beer (and another one!) at the checkin, free ice cream for the kids, a perfectly temperated and clean pool to the very friendly and competent front desk, the hotel can match up with 4 and 5 stars I've been to easily. A huge flat TV on the room, fast internet and a clean bathroom completed the excellent impression. Finally, the breakfast was the best I ever had at a holiday inn express - given the presence of "real" dishes, a wide choice of tea and juices and overall very good quality and freshness of the food, this by far overexcels the usual express start breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redrat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

My family including my 80 yr. old father had a wonderful time at Holiday Express New Tampa. We bought the package for Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We booked the two bedroom suite. Everyone in our party of six had plenty of room to relax and have privacy. The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen area was very helpful, separate Tv's, and towels and blankets delivered to our door was impressive. We did not have any time to enjoy the pool in our three day stay is our only regret. The breakfasts were awesome and icecream provided at night was a treat that our three young adults enjoyed. We will stay their again in the future when we get down in that area. Too bad it is not on the beach!!! It was a very classy hotel with wonderful employees!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanddollarlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

For the price, which was $100/night, the place was absolutely incredible. The service was impeccable - a welcoming drink when you come in, ice cream in the evening and a full breakfast in the morning. The room was huge and our king-size bed was the most comfortable both of us had ever slept in. Even the pillows were super comfy, coming in two types - soft and firm.

The only thing that could be considered negative about the hotel is its location - it's pretty far from downtown Tampa and even farther from the beach. However, we came to Tampa to go canoeing at the Hillborough River and Canoe Escape was about five minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our family has stayed in a lot of hotels and this was the best family value by far. Extremely clean. Staff was exceptionally nice. Very nice free breakfast, free ice cream at night, free drink at check-in. Kid friendly. Really a tremendous value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damonfCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

My family and I stayed here from 7/13 to 7/17. It was wonderful! It is about 15 mins. from Busch Gardens. While it is located in a quiet area, it is close to many places to eat. The rooms and pool were very clean. The landscaping at the pool was lush and had a tropical feel to it. Each night from 8:00 to 10:00, they have complimentary ice cream in the lobby. My child loved it and looked forward to it each night! The staff is very helpful and even had directions printed out to local attractions. The fitness room had several types of equipment with 2 treadmills. The breakfast was great and had healthy options as well as eggs, bacon, and pastries.Overall, an excellent stay! TIP: It is about 40 mins. to Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomatterwhereyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Thanks Kathy (general manager) and your staff .this was a great stay at this location .my family ( The Patterson) and i will come back for a stay again next time in town . this is one of the best hotels around I've seen , very clean, way above average , not far all the activities in Tampa and beaches ..i would recommend..definitely

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

To start, our check-in guy was fabulous. When he found out we were celebrating a birthday, he pulled out all the stops: an upgrade to a studio suite, coupons for the movie theater next door, and her favorite restaurant. Thanks, Richie, you rock!

This HI is top-rated in Fla. and highly-rated on tripadvisor for many good reasons, so let me give you a few:

1) Location is right off I-75 in a new neighborhood, with just about any restaurant, store, entertainment or service (doctor, dentist, haircut) that you could possibly want or need. By the way, Busch Gardens is about 15 minutes away, but, trust me, it's better to stay a little ways from town.
2) Police presence-- cop car always out front and officers eating breakfast in the mornings. I had no worries about my vehicle or personal safety.
3) Added-value amenities: Complimentary ice-cream novelties at night and hot/cold breakfast offerings in the morning.
4) Hotel is new and well-kept. It looks clean, inside and out, and has nice landscaping. Housekeeping does a wonderful job and offers many optional goodies like mouthwash and shower caps, etc.

A few nit-picky things the hotel could improve on, in my opinion:
1) Pool water needs to be a little warmer and the pool towels ran out (but I didn't ask for more-- so, to be fair, the staff didn't have the chance to respond).
2) I wish the hotel was entirely smoke-free (zero smoking rooms). We had a non-smoking room and never smelled smoke at all, but it is an allergy as well as safety concern. (I'm not fond of unnecessary fire. <smile>)

P.S. I forgot to take pictures of the hotel, only got Busch Gardens and restaurant shots, but I will try to add them if we're able to return!

P.P.S. Trying to decide between a studio and regular room? Well, you get more space (probably about 10 feet more lengthwise) with a small couch and coffee table, plus a bar sink, microwave and dorm-size fridge (big enough for a gallon of milk, oj, and fruit).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pricelinejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Rd, I-75 at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £86 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing