We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new orleans
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for Business”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Superior on many levels: near the airport, connected to the Tampa International Mall, not too far from down town, comfortable rooms and reasonably priced. No real negatives other than this is a business hotel. Other than the mall nothing in the area is within walking distance.
If that is what you are looking for this property will fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to downtown Tampa, the airport, and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    312
    63
    20
    17
See reviews for
179
220
54
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is connected by a courtyard to the Tampa International Mall. Between the hotel and mall are numerous restaurants (not fast food). Really great places to eat inside or outside.
We ate breakfast at the hotels restaurant. Expensive and service was just ok. Nothing special.
The hotel is also very close to the Bucs football stadium.
The rooms were small but clean. Nice flat screen 46" TV in the room. No view to speak of.
We will stay again but not at the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OcalaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to Tampa International Airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed one night, and will never stay there again. The good points first, the club lounge was pleasant and comfortable. The location at the International Plaza is great. The hotel provides complementary airport shuttle, which is very convenient. The front desk and club lounge staff were attentive and accommodating. The bad point - and really the deal breaker - is that the walls between the rooms are paper thin. We could hear "everything" going on in the room next door. While the beds were comfortable, we could not sleep with all the noise distractions from the room next door. In addition, the hotel only provides Wi-Fi in the lobby area - not in the rooms. Not a deal breaker, but more of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience, and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. The noise that you experienced from the adjoining room is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. Please be advised that we are in the process of installing in-room wireless which should be completed by the beginning of next year. I hope that you will reconsider and allow us to host you on a future trip to Tampa - I am confident that you return visit will be a memorable and favorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I've stayed here 8-10 times over the last 2 years on business. The location is great (5 minutes from the airport and very convenient to Westshore or Raymond James stadium). It's a $15ish cab ride or there is free parking at the hotel. The staff is helpful, the rooms are average size but well appointed, decorated and clean. Outside there is an open air courtyard that's perfect for relaxing awhile at night. The one draw back for me (but probably not for most people) is that the hotel building blocks the sun from the pool for a portion of each afternoon. The pool and hot tub areas are clean and private though.

This hotel is attached to International Plaza which hosts many high end department and specialty stores (the are even several nail and hair salons within the plaza), a foodcourt for a quick meal, and the outdoor plaza which features various higher end restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineseeker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We are delighted that you are a repeat guest who enjoys the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to the airport (we offer complimentary shuttle service) and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to once again welcoming you back on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

What could be more perfect than a fantastic hotel connected to a great shopping mall, fantastic restaurants and bars. Stayed here after arriving into Tampa Airport. Excellent location as only 5 minute drive after collecting the rental car at the airport.
Fantastic rooms as you would expect from a Renaissance - great big comfy beds, favourite Aveda toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities. But best of all, and amazingly, the best lighting ever in a hotel room and bathroom. So often today you spend all the time trying to switch on all lights so you can see what you are doing. Bright lights in a hotel are an added bonus and this hotel has the best lighting I have ever come across. Take note Marriott - this is greatly appreciated, especially by women trying to put make-up on!!!!
Location is perfect. 15 mins after check-in we were in the shopping mall, then on to one of the excellent restaurants of Bay Street.
Will be back. Ideal before/after a flight from Tampa Airport.
Could not have been a better stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an absolutely FANTASTIC review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel - particularly the lighting in the guest room. In an effort to increase guest comfort, we have recently re-lamped the entire hotel with top-of-the-line energy efficient lighting. As you stated, our location is convenient to Tampa Airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your excellent feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I needed to spend a couple of days in Tampa and have stayed here before. It is very convenient for where I needed to be and is a great location for dining. The hotel is exceptionally clean. The staff was great when I arrived and ever since. The decor is vibrant and fresh. Just a wonderful hotel and certainly on my short list of places to stay in Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is located next to, through a courtyard anyway, the International Mall in Tampa, FL. It's a traditional hotel - valets at the entrance, comfortable seating in the lobby, access to the dining room from the lobby. Rooms are a little small but the hotel's best feature is the way it's painted. I don't know how to explain this but the rooms I saw had nice color groupings, a lot of personality!
Valet parking is directly in front of the hotel, self park is further away - part of the mall parking lot - inconvenient if it's raining, otherwise ok.
Downside: staff at every level needs some customer service training. No one was outright rude but the greeting, which I consider to basic, came from me first. If I had a question, I had to wait awhile to get someone's attention. Courtesy and prompt acknowledgement - key to customer returns.

Room Tip: I was close to the elevator and did not hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel, as well as our colorful decor. As you stated, our location is convenient to the airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. Your comments about our staff are appreciated - we will certainly use your observations during training in order to improve customer service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel Florida
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing