We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place for a meeting or event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitewater
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The place for a meeting or event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Co-located with an up scale shopping mall, this Renaissance manages to get it right. It has the feel of a boutique hotel, while offering the amenities of a larger property. The meal quality and service for larger events is outstanding. If you want to dine off the property the mall offers a number of choices. The staff are well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
We appreciate the great review! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff has gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable. We strive to make our guests feel warm and hospitable and to ensure your stay with us is a great one. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    308
    63
    19
    17
See reviews for
178
218
52
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I travel for business frequently and this is my hotel of choice in the Tampa area. It is a beautiful hotel styled in old Cuban style architecture. The decorative tiles and iron doors are a nice touch. The staff are always very happy and helpful.

The issue I have are the rates can be high for last minute travel. I find however if I am able to plan my travel a couple of months in advance then the rates sometimes are feasible for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for the great review and the wonderful compliments about the hotel! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff is being happy and helpful to ensure you enjoy your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for a 2 day insurance conference in early 2013. The hotel itself is very close to the Tamp airport and does have a free shuttle (TIP you have to call to get the shuttle to come).

The hotel itself is clean, has decent dining options, free parking, free wifi, room service, clean rooms and modern facilities. The hotel is smack in the middle of a mall complex, which at first glance is not obvious how to navigate. If you exit the hotel through the main entrance turn right, away from the parking and you will see a large set of steps heading up. At the top is a huge outdoor shopping/dining complex with 10+ bars, pubs and restaurants. Also part of this complex is a large shopping mall with all the common designer brands.

If you are doing business in central Tampa this is a good spot. The lack of a pool and distance from the beach would keep me from coming here for vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for choosing The Renaissance Tampa Hotel for your conference. We certainly appreciate the great review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Although you were here for work, being located so close to the Tampa airport and International Plaza is a great bonus! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for just one evening because we were flying out at 6:15 am. The room was very nice, very clean, had super premium bedding. Bathroom was very spacious and spotless. Super premium soaps and lotions. Location was great because the hotel connects to a large upscale mall that includes Cheesecake Factory, Capital Grille, Bar Louis...
Had a few drinks at Bar Louis, then ate a late dinner and headed back to the room.
The only problem I had, and it was a BIG one, was the noisy room air conditioner. It literally kept me awake several times throughout the night. I was sleeping in the bed closest to it, so maybe that made it worse... Really made my 4:00 am wake up call much more painful!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank party-of-5-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for the great review! We apologize for the inconvenience of the noisy air conditioning system and appreciate the compliments you gave the hotel. We are delighted to hear you were able to visit International Plaza and Bay Street on your short stay. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
254 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights for a conference. It is a great location -- close to airport with a free shuttle and next to a mall with lots of restaurant options. The bed was soft and lumpy. The walls are thin--- feel bad for the parents with the crying baby. However, when my tv didn't work, the tech guy was prompt and helpful.

The conference center stunk like sewage and food was less than spectacular. The beautiful court yard is marred by the smokers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you for the feedback! Here at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel we strive to make each stay our up most importance. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel 813-877-9200 or email me at Amy. Fowke@renaissancehotels.com. I would love to hear from you and discuss your feedback further. Thank you, Amy Fowke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel over 30 nights in the past couple years and unfortunately have since expanded my search to the other aged Marriott hotel on Westshore and even the longer drive downtown in search of something better. Worst part is that this should be my "home" hotel as a Platinum Marriott member, but they are the ONLY one who has ever treated me as just another passing guest (The folks at the Marriott Channelside make the service at the Renaissance look more like a Fairfield).

The location is perfect and I like having the mall to walk around in, but the service is nothing more than adequate. We used to book all guests visiting our company at this hotel as well, but I am now considering Starwood for the very first time only because Tampa is my home base.

Least, but not last... the shower. No pressure and trickling down is the worst way to start any day on the road. If a good shower is important for you to get your day started right... look elsewhere.

I will likely stay here again, but next week I am going to give the Westin a go...

Room Tip: Request an outward facing room that looks toward the bay or stadium... otherwise, close your blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel we strive to make each stay our up most importance especially as a Platinum member. Your loyalty is greatly appreciated. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel 813-877-9200 or email me at Amy. Fowke@renaissancehotels.com. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your feedback further. Thank you, Amy Fowke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I've stayed at the Renaissance in Tampa a number of times on business but this was a vacation. I stayed with my wife and we used the hotel as a base for travelling around, taking in places like Bradenton, Ellenton, Clearwater, Tarpon Springs etc.

The gym has been slightly improved, which is good. There is now a safe in each room, which is very good. The airport shuttle is extremely useful and proximity to the shopping mall is great. We decided to rent a car for a few days and so the self-parking was great.

As ever, the staff are friendly and helpful.

I really can't find a reason to mark the hotel down further. So decided on a four, some investment is needed to clean up decor and fittings which are just starting to show age. If nothing's by my next visit, it may be a three out of five or worse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
We appreciate the great review! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff was friendly and helpful and able to assist in making your stay enjoyable. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared. We strive to make each stay as warm and hospitable as possible and we are confident that our upcoming improvements won't go unnoticed. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel Florida
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing