We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for out of town shoppers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for out of town shoppers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here while on a shopping trip to Tampa. (we don't live in the US!) This is the perfect location to stay if you don't want to hire a car. It is in international mall, which is a high end mall and a short cab ride to West shore mall which is a 'regular' mall. There are some very nice restaurants steps away and they serve starbucks coffee at the lobby cafe :) The staff are very friendly. We were very happy with our weekend stay at the Renaisssance in Tampa, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caymananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    308
    62
    19
    17
See reviews for
177
217
52
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was attending a business meeting while at this hotel. This was a great location because of the shopping area next door and additional restaurants upstairs. The décor of the hotel had a southwestern flare which was different for a location in Florida. Never thought I would comment on an elevator but the elevator décor was beautiful in that it wasn’t the typical mirrors. There was a rod iron design at the back of the elevator which made it very unique and appealing. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. I want to commend the restaurant staff for accommodating my dietary needs during this visit. They went above and beyond to find something for me to eat each day I was there and I appreciate them. Great meeting location or weekend getaway trip..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sap811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel and that our restaurant staff was able to accommodate your dietary needs. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a wonderful hotel and staff. The location being literally steps to a fantastic mall was very convenient. Restaurants were very accommodating even though it was during the Christmas holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smc0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your great review! We are delilghted that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff and the amenities offered by the hotel. As you stated, our location ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's a nice hotel, nothing more nothing less. The Executive Lounge has friendly staff, but don't go for the food (yeah, even breakfast). Try Bar Louie in the attached mall, it has 40+ beers on tap and above average bar food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great hotel. We had a challenge with the TV in our room. Turned out it was the outlet in the wall not the TV. Had Tommy come look at - we all thought it was fixed then it went out again. Tommy came back with Alan and after moving furniture and using flashlights they figured out it was the wall outlet. Very patient gentlemen!! Alan gave us a free movie for the inconvenience, it was actually their inconvenience of having to come back a second time but they solved the problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lea6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Midway between budget and luxury, and very well-managed hotel, with good staff.
Very easy and convenient: easy parking, next to great mall and every restaurant you can think of, next to airport and stadium.
Rooms are ok, nothing special, restaurant for breakfast is pathetic.
Beware : $17 for music on TV.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with an alumni group. It was part of a package so we didn't get to pick the hotel. Overall, the hotel is nice. The room was clean and cold and the bed was very comfortable. The room itself was pretty quiet however, when I was in the bathroom getting dressed one morning I could hear the conversation of the people in the next room. Unfortunately, I had to leave before finding out what happened to the "typical rich, rude, southerner with an accent".

We didn't get to use the pool since it was overcast/rainy a majority of our stay but the area was nice even if a little small. They gym was plenty big for this type of hotel.

I refuse to pay a hotel for Wi-Fi so we just used our cell service.

I liked the fact that it was attached to the shopping area. Lots of good stores, restaurants/bars.

After paying $10 for water at the sundry shop in the hotel, the front desk informs us that water is free for guests. No, they didn't give us our money back.

When we return to the area we will probably stay at a Hilton due to being an HHonors member but I was not disappointed with this hotel and would stay there again if the Hilton nearby was booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 225NOLA504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for the great review! Although you were here for a short time we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
1.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
1.4 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel

Property: Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-5778
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel Florida
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing