We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny but good Taste of Thailand in Tampa”

Wat Mongkolrata Temple
Ranked #20 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tiny but good Taste of Thailand in Tampa”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Do you like good Thai food? At a good price? With a little bit of that "unfamiliar cultural" feeling? Then on Sundays only, join the monks at their buddhist Temple, for a difference but good Thai lunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    80
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple plopped in the middle of housing in south Tampa.... quite a surprise!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I had seen the reviews on Trip Advisor so we stopped by just to see it.... definitely easy to find, not far off Route 41 south of Tampa.... for us it was just a beautiful building with lovely grounds.... we were there on a Wednesday so there was no one else around.... would definitely check it out on a Sunday!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“SHHHH... Don't tell anyone!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I don't normally like crowds but this is one time I'll make an exception. Yes, Sundays are busy and it's the only day the temple opens to serve real traditional Thai cuisine. Temple volunteers man a variety of food booths where you can sample some of the food. You flavor your dishes yourself so no surprises on spices. Prices are no higher than $5. per dish It's difficult to decide what to try out as there are many choices. The grounds, along the Palm River, are peaceful and surprisingly relaxing considering the number of people there. We shared a picnic table with two Thai sisters who were very pleasant and informative. We strolled through the Meditation Garden which leads to the temple. The temple tself is open to the public with occasional presentations on Bhuddism. There's also a garden area where plants, including orchids, are for sale - again, at extremely reasonable prices. Will I go back again? You bet!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Francine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
229 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wat Mongkolrata Temple A Spiritual Experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

On Palm River Road in SE Tampa sits the Temple between 50th Street and Maydell Drive. It is an authentic Thai Temple with services on Sunday that leave you with a peaceful and positive feeling. The grounds are great for walking a bit and reflecting by the dock at the river. Come early Sunday and you can try many varieties of food from different vendors. I like...no, LOVE the fried bananas and the pork soup. By 1pm all is over so definitely try about 11am as it gets very crowded. You'll be eating under the trees in view of the beautiful (?) Palm River. In any case the setting is nice and there are many friendly people there. The soup for a large bowl is $5 and the bananas come in different amounts starting at $3 in a paper bag. Watch out as both are hot as lava, temperature wise. There are many other choices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank freddombski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai temple in Tampa!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A virtual trip to Thailand: beautiful temple surrounded by spacious riverside grounds, a welcoming community gathering-spot, a food festival to raise money for the temple...even a temple dog wandering among visitors. I recommend heading here any Sunday for a wide assortment of Thai street food prepared and served by smiling volunteers, most of whom speak Thai. After buying your food at a stall, take it to a picnic table (which you'll probably share with others). Enjoy the food and views of the temple and Palm River. Buy extra grilled sate or curry to take home for dinner! People traveling through or living in the Tampa area are fortunate to be able to visit this lovely bit of Thai culture. The English version of the temple website is http://wattampainenglish.com/

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CascadeSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Mongkolrata Temple also viewed

 

Been to Wat Mongkolrata Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing