We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the few authentic places to eat in tampa”

Wat Mongkolrata Temple
Ranked #19 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“one of the few authentic places to eat in tampa”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I went with my friends on Sunday morning for the market. It opens at 1030 and better get there early because most of the food is sold out by 1. You will find an assortment of goodies from pad thai to pho to desserts and thai coffee. Each meal is only 5 dollars and the drinks are 1$. Plus everything is made by volunteers and members of the temple. After eating, you can tour the temple, which is beautiful. This place is a hidden gem and is not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffanypainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    81
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The best place to go for amazing food and beautiful atmosphere on a Sunday morning! Make sure you get there early, they run out of the good stuff early sometimes.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMHardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple, friendly volunteers and great outdoor market on Sundays”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading about this temple from other trip advisors, we decided to visit. We arrived at about 11a and traffic was backed up on this road with a line to get in. Don't be deterred, the line didn't take that long as there is a steady stream of traffic going in and out. The food is fantastic and served up by friendly volunteers. Great cultural experience in beautiful outdoor venue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must see place in Tampa and good food”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I went there on a Sunday during my visit to Tampa. I really enjoyed my experience there.
I am not sure if they do it everyday or just sunday, that they have food vendors setup. They sell food for small "donation". They do have fixed price for each item (min donation) which is very reasonable and cheaper than in the restaurants. Food quality might vary based on the vendor. I went with few friends and got to try multiple food items which tasted authentic.
The Temple itself is very beautiful.
If you are here for a visit or a local, I would highly recommend this place for a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorkhe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday morning experience.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Beautiful temple, great food, wonderful river view. Come early, 10 to 10:30 to avoid the long lines. I found this on TripAdvisor while visiting cousins in St. Petersburg (who were unfamiliar with the temple). They were very glad I persuaded them to go. The noodle soup is not too spicy for kids and everyone likes the fried bananas.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eviebeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Mongkolrata Temple also viewed

 

Been to Wat Mongkolrata Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing