We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My little slice of heaven”

Wat Mongkolrata Temple
Ranked #20 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The pho soup is as authenic as you will get without flying to Thailand. Every week its the wonderful people I meet that make going here so much fun. Cell phones are down, and conversations are flowing..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    80
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
274 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must experience when in Tampa”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you're in Tampa on a Sunday you must come here. A wide variety of thai dishes to buy and enjoy outside. Green and red curries were wonderful. Prices are extremely good as well. The coconut custard us delicious but if you want it go and place your order because you'll have to wait. Parking is first come first serve and somewhat limited. Great time

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, flowers and plants.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been to the temple many times to buy the homemade food. My favorites are the pho, the fresh spring rolls and the roasted meats on skewers sold out where the plants are. It was a little confusing as far as how to get around inside and where the different items are sold, but if you are content to wander and discover and don't need someone to hold your hand, it is well worth the great food. Try to get there early in the day since many items sell out. The plants are "raised" by the buddhists. I bought a bonsai that was 12 years old according to the woman who grew it, and it was extremely reasonably priced. also many orchids and other plants, vegetable plants and herbs.
So this place is really awesome if you like discovering new cultures and eating good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Authentic and Super Cool!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First….for those of you that do not know me I love a good deal, good food, and a place to take some photos. This place has all three in spades. While it is not as sprawling as I thought it would be…still amazing. Bring cash for food, drinks, and deserts and flowers/plants if you like. It was super-hot when we went so I recommend going in the cooler months…but even in the hot Tampa summer there was a breeze off the water. Most of the food joints ask for a minimum $5donatuion…definitely go to a few different places…get some plates and share away. So much food..the portions are quite generous. Parking was free when we went…it is a bit off the beaten path so make sure you have a good A driver (aka navigator).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ChampagneChels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tampa's best kept secret”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Every sunday from around 9-1 people gather at the thai temple for some excellent thai food and great atmosphere. It has become not so much of a secret, so you may experience longer lines and difficulty parking but not too bad. People wait in massive lines for the soup, it is excellent but I think everything else is just as good. Grab some food, head down and share a bench with someone. Take a short walk by the river and stop by the worship temple on your way out. Great meal and experience on a sunday and your done before it's even the afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Mongkolrata Temple also viewed

 

Been to Wat Mongkolrata Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing