We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gnocchi, just for me.”

La Terrazza Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 2,400 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Historic Ybor
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gnocchi, just for me.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

In general, I don't go out for Italian food. My stepmother has ruined me with her amazing marinara and Italian dishes and I have come to judge all Italian food by the bar that she has set. Not many places can live up to her level of cooking. La Terrazza did.

When some friends picked an Italian place, I was hoping for gnocchi on the menu but did not find it. So I asked the waiter, who is possibly also the owner of establishment. He assured me that he would check to see if they could make this happen. He returned to the table and assured me "Just for you, we make gnocchi!". I ordered mine with their marinara sauce and when the waiter suggested to dress the dish with a large helping of fresh basil, I quickly agreed.

Yes, gnocchi marinara is a simple dish, but it was perfect. The marinara was the closest I have ever found in a restaurant to the sauce my stepmother makes. It tasted like home.

Everyone at my table was happy with their dishes, the service was prompt and friendly and the restaurant was a welcome respite from the bustle of 7th Ave on a Friday night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    73
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cozy italian dinner”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is in the heart of ybor city. Its a very small restaurant sandwiched between a cigar shop and a kareoke bar. However unless you sit near the windows overlooking the sidewalk you would never know. The inside is quiet and quaintly decorated. The service is very personable, most of the servers are straight here from italy, as I assume the chef is too. If you want to people watch get a table near the windows in the front. Ybor city has people from all walks of life and beliefs and interests walking around, can be very entertaining. Tiramisu for desert was AMAZINg. Will go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCorene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Local Loves It!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've lived here in Tampa well over forty years. Some really good places have come and gone. Lucky for you, this one came and never went! All the excellent reviews here have it right---Luigi and company have it exactly on-the-money, i.e. there's just everything to appreciate about this place's service and food. Don't miss! [The Alla Vodka may not be on the menu...they'll make you a superior one if you ask!]

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WCoastFLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not awesome”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I REALLY wanted to like this place because of all the reviews. We went once a few months ago before a show and both ordered standard dishes (lasagna and chicken parm), but wished we had tried something less common. We went again last week and, while it was good, it just wasn't super awesome. The man working, not sure if that was the owner, was very nice and prompt...at first. We ordered a caprese to start and you can't really mess that up - the mozzarella was delicious. My husband ordered the sausage and chicken thighs (don't ask me to say it in Italian!) and I ordered the frutti di mare. Both were good, but didn't wow our socks off. I think we were both wanting some comfort Italian dishes (is that what we ordered the first time?). I was in the mood for a big bowl of irregular shaped home made pasta and this was good, but not quite what I wanted. As the night went on they took a BIG to go order and it slowed down everything. We were patient and understanding, but we waited an excessive amount to get our check and pay. There were only two people working the dining room. My husband and I can't decide if we really like the place or if we're trying to like it because it is a small locally owned non-chain restaurant. I wouldn't complain if someone wanted to go there, but not sure I'd pick it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our server Luigi made the entire experience amazing! The wine list is excellent with various wines and prices. The food was fresh and amazing (spinach ravioli in tomato cream sauce for me!) and an antipasti plate that was excellent. The location in Ybor is close to other places if you want a pre (or post) drink. Great for a dinner with friends or a romantic meal for 2. Don't miss this perfect place!!! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyLG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Terrazza Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Terrazza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing