We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay for newbies, but flavors lacked complexity”

Saigon Bay Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #328 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: US$1 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“okay for newbies, but flavors lacked complexity”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you know Vietnamese food, you know that it is the fragrance and subtle flavor that leaves you feeling satisfied and refreshed all at the same time. It may be lemongrass, or curry, it may be Pho, or noodles, a dish will reflect healthful and complex flavor profiles.

I felt the Thai basil was lacking and the peanut sauce had been ground to a mess without any texture. My companion was new to the cuisine and raved. I give it a "C", however, in USF traffic on that day, it was a welcome plate. The summer rolls were gluey though- probably best to stick to standards like Pho and remember in humid Florida, rice paper melts.......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doratallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“1st time charm- cant wait to meet my friends afain”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience with fresh rolls and pho- cant wait to meet friends again- my wife loved the chix curry and my pork with rice noodles and peanut sauce was the bomb- many choices- reasonable prices- a must

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcbub8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chicken Pho and Fresh rolls - Yum!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have been driving there from Brandon since 1998. They still have the best Vietnamese food. Pho is flavorful, noodles thin and veggies fresh. The service is attentive and the prices reasonable. Keep up the great job. If you are looking at expanding how about South Brandon?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneBoggus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been a patron of Saigon Bay for over 10 years and can honestly say they have one of the best values in town. The food is always fresh and never disappoints, we love the Pho and Vermicelli dishes. I have a baby at home and now turn to the for take-out, everything ready in 15 minutes flat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauritafrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Let's start with great Vietnamese food, for an incredibly low price, served at whirlwind speed for you folks in a hurry, by friendly folks. Oh, and it's in a good location, on Fowler across from the University Square mall. If you've never had Vietnamese food, you owe yourself a treat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dgguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon Bay Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Bay Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing