We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Pensacola, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We had stayed at this motel years ago with no problems, so came back. We time we had no hot water three days in a row, in the morning when we wanted to take a shower. We complained to staff, they reset it only to fail during the day. Complaints did not get any response from staff or management, staff said nothing they could do. To top it all off, there is no security at this motel, nine vehicles including ours had windows broken and ransacked. One vehicle was stolen. Staff seemed indifferent to the guests problems and didn't seem to care. Sheriff's deputy indicated that this is an ongoing problem at this motel. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmathieu, owner at Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 11 July 2009
Dear OscarPensacola,
Thank you for posting your comments. We sincerely apologize for the lack of hot water during your stay, but more importantly the lack of response from the staff. We all know that problems may occur but for them not to be addressed at the property is highly unusual.
If you would be so kind as to contact the hotel so we may discuss your stay in more detail we would appreciate it.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    9
    7
    16
See reviews for
14
15
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
124 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

Stayed there for a Hockey Tournament and was disgusted by the condition of the rooms. I should have known when I checked in late at night through a hole in the glass. The best part of this hotel is that it is right off the interstate and across the street from a Hooters. There was free wireless and the pool was not too bad. The rooms were pretty bad. The box springs were visible with writing on them the carpets were nasty and the comforter was untouchable.
This place will be a great place if they go through the renovations that other Days Inns have done.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms were very dirty
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tampa hotels

florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

I checked in and checked right back out!
the hallway to the room was dirty and smelly
the motel room stunk from tobacco smoke
and mildew
I couldn't tolerate the smells
so I went right back to the lobby and
and checked out.
and drove 40 miles back home
instead of staying the night there
so i could catch the amtrak the next day
out from tampa,
I slept in my own house and felt wonderful
and will drive to tampa to catch the train,

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the smelly room and hallway
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glittermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2007

The room could have been cleaner but overall it was okay for a quick sleep. The facilities all worked fine. Beds were uncomfortable. I felt "beat up" when waking. Should have been priced about $20 less.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank christiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2005

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel in March 2005.

The location of the hotel is right off a main highway, State Road 60, which is convenient. It provides quick access to many surrounding places of interest, such as the nearby mall, AMC movie theater and numerous restaurants, many of which are within reasonable walking distance. Some readers may wish to be aware that nearby is an adult store, just in case they have any qualms about it.

The lobby to the hotel was very basic, not overly warm or welcoming, but clean. The hallways and our room smelled of carpet deoderizers and cleaning fluids, which although not overpowering, was still pungent, and some people can't handle those types of odors. Our room was also nondescript, but had a comfortable king sized bed. The room was equipped with a safe that you lock with a passcode of your choosing, which is convenient for keeping small valuables in, and they charge you a dollar a day safe charge, regardless if you use it or not.

The bathroom was small and cramped, with the toilet taking up pretty much the whole center of the room,but the water pressure was good and plenty hot. The free continental breakfast, which is served in a small room off the lobby, consisted of fresh juice, coffee or tea and a buffet style array of donuts, muffins etc. The nearest snack and soda machines are in the main building, which if you're in the building in the rear, isn't too convenient, and the view from our room was just the parking lot, with the highway and resturants beyond it, nothing special to look at.

In comparison to other hotels we've stayed at around Tampa, it's cheaper than a lot of them, but as far as ambience goes...I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CMNFLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#63 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa / Brandon
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds

Property: Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds
Address: 9942 E Adamo Dr, Tampa, FL 33619-2618
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Tampa Fairgrounds is located at I-75 and SR-60 exit 257. An easy drive to Busch Garden, Downtown Tampa and the Cruise Terminal and the Amphitheater. Relax and enjoy our outdoor pool and free WiFi in all of our smoke-free modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tampa - Fairgrounds Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing