We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Okay service.”

Kojak's House of Ribs
Ranked #43 of 2,400 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located one block west of historic Bayshore Blvd nestled under several grand oak trees. A 1927 bungalow converted into a restaurant. Serving South Tampa since 1978. Family owned and operated.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food. Okay service.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped in here for lunch on a weekday. We barely sat down before the server came over and asked us what we wanted. She didn't look very happy that we needed some time to actually look at the menu. Sorry, we've never been here before. The food is very good. I recommend the hot smoked sausage if you like really spicy! Wow! The prices are okay and the service was efficient, but indifferent. I don't think we'll go out of our way to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrazyKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    77
    30
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Homestyle Food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our first visit to Kojak's so much that we returned the very next day. The BBQ is outstanding and they provide a variety of sauces to please any taste. The vegetables are delicious like you would cook at home. The desserts are homemade and to die for. Be sure to save room for dessert! This restaurant is family owned and the family working there went out of their way to welcome us and make us happy. We will definitely eat here again when we return to Tampa.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SES500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK-jaks”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was very excited to eat here because I had a subpar BBQ experience a few days earlier. I really liked the small, intimate setting and very nice staff. The BBQ was good but not great and the sides were the same. The chicken was better than the ribs to me and the price was just about right. I'll go there again but this is not my favorite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psharpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This place was alright but not worth paying for. We asked for dinner rolls and they brought out stale store-bought rolls. The food was not bad but not good. Definitely will not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stormycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Luz”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Delicious,great ambient. ..customers services A plus,relaxing, my favorite plate the ribs exquisite. ..

Helpful?
Thank Luan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kojak's House of Ribs also viewed

 

Been to Kojak's House of Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing