We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in Great Ybor Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
321 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Great Ybor Location”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

With few options in Tampa Ybor to begin with, this is the best of what is available and is a great choice. Booking directly, we got a great rate, and did our research in advance so enjoyed a nice large quiet room on the top floor. The hotel has parking included in the room rate, as is a very nice "self serve" breakfast. I do not describe this as "continental" as in most places this means a roll and coffee/juice, but at Hampton's the breakfast includes 1-2 meats, fruit cocktail and fresh fruits, waffles, pancakes etc....you get the picture. The room was clean, staff were friendly, particularly so at breakfast. The hotel has a nice sized pool that was used by people all the time we were there. This hotel is in a great location, and we would stay again if visiting Ybor.

Room Tip: Book direct for best rates. Park up the ramp upon arrival as the lobby is on the 2nd floor up the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    357
    134
    39
    23
See reviews for
242
385
87
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. Ybor City is a fun place to go. Great Cigars, restaurants and little shops. If you want to take a short ride, about 15 minutes, you will be at the Hard Rock. Bed was comfortalbe. AC worked, WiFI was fine. Check in was a breeze. Parking was no problem. Employees were all friendly. Although not a big fan of hotel breakfast buffets, this one was good. The lady in charge of the buffet, I believe her name was Cynthia, is an asset to this hotel. She was very helpful and made sure everything was fresh. She also wanted to make sure you were truly satisfied. If hotel does read these comments, this lady is a real asset to your team, keep her. Anyway, I see no problems with this hotel at all, and at times I can really be a pain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomf3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very nice! They had a nice little breakfast, we saved at least $50 by eating there two mornings, the location is fantastic since it allows you to start at the very beginning of the street, ybor city, and drink and eat like crazy and walk to your hotel! Very clean accommodations , I think they had just remodeled when we went, they had a coffee maker and new n clean sheets n towels... Staff was courteous n helpful, they told us about The Laughing Cat restaurant (wonderful by the way!)
would DEFINETALY go back! /// parking was not free thou :( ///

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Friendly staff. Awesome shuttle drivers. I didn't care for the breakfast but that's okay. They had the bags ready for the grab and go. My room was okay so I don't have any complaints about that either. I think the snacks were priced really high. The shuttle drivers were really nice.. my one complaint would be that I wish Pizza Hut could deliver to the hotel. I ordered some Jamaican jerk wings from Green Iguana and they were really really good. So was the hamburger. So all in all my experience here was okay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpack42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The area was iffy but the Hampton was safe along with the parking garage. We stayed 3 nights before cruising and took the shuttle to the cruise ! Being form a large city Chicago and knowing the areas can be dangerous, upon arriving the manager gave us directions to navigate a safer route to and from the airport. The staff went above and beyond our expectations ! We are booked again for this November and very much looking forward to our stay again ! Plenty of restaurants and things to do in the area. Everyone working in this Hampton went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and very informative !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with our grand kids and another couple with their grand kids. They are in the process of updating the hotel so there were a few issues that the manager, Stephen Nunez, worked on to our utmost satisfaction. You will not find more caring and courteous employees from the manager, desk clerks, shuttle driver to the breakfast staff. The free shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go in a three mile area which covers Ybor City, downtown Tampa, the Florida Aquarium, the Amtrak station and the Port of Tampa.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out at 7th Avenue are the most scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank researchtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just arrived back home from the Hampton Inn @ Ybor City and thought our stay was excellent. The hotel is exceptionally clean and a nice safe area of town. We travel a great deal and this was the 52nd night hotel stay for us this year and we highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

The front desk staff was outstanding and pleasant and made many suggestions for us to do or eat. They have a complimentary breakfast and the hostesses taking care of the food room was so very pleasant as well and always spoke to us each morning and took an interest in our day.

We had 2 rooms and came with our 4 grandkids along with friends with their 2 grandkids and yet everyone at the hotel did everything to make our stay a great one. I also want to thank the manager, Stephen Nunez for going out of his way to have the pool area for our use during some renovation that was going on.

I must also mention the complimentary shuttle and how very pleasant each driver was that catered to us and shuttled us to/from the Amtrak station, dining places within a 3 mi. radius and to/from the Florida Aquarium during our stay. You gotta love that perk.....:)

Ybor City would be alot of fun for the party crowd on a Friday-Sunday but excellent for kids during the week. They have a super arcade, a movie theatre, FL Aquarium and kids art museum that you can get into for $2.00 on the first Tuesday of each month.

The hotel is real handy if you are taking a cruise out of the Tampa Port Authority. I would recommend staying before or after your cruise and the hotel will shuttle you complimentary to the port.

Room Tip: Free shuttle service from the hotel within a 3 mile radius. Excellent to take the Amtrak to Ybor Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
1,321 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing