We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, you can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The location is great and parking is easy. Its near the trolley and all of Ybor is a block away. The hotel itself is on the lower side of what many Hamptons are. The old dried snot and dirt and mold in the shower leads me to believe this is a "turn and burn" hotel... fluff the pillow... smooth the sheets if not soiled... pull up the old comforter and flush the crapper for good measure. I'll be staying downtown at the Hilton from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Was perfect just two to three blocks from great places to eat and the night clubs. and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. I love staying at Hampton Inn it is like being at home or staying with friends. The entire hotel was so clean and the people working there so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank TBearhugs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staff was lazy and incompetent.
Several members of our party experienced an itchy feeling after entering the beds.
Complimentary breakfast was a joke (burnt eggs, stale bread).

I would not recommend a stay at the Hampton Inn Ybor City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay and I am disappointed to hear we did not fulfill your expectations. My managment team and I will look into these matters. I hope you give us another chance on a future visit to Ybor City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A little hard to access the parking lot, but the hotel accommodations, service & location are excellent. The beds were extremely comfortable, the room was spacious and the breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank srndpty2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us & your wonderful review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel all around. I apologize about having difficulty finding us. We have a 7th Ave. address, but our entrance to the hotel is off of 6th Ave. We're making changes on our website to inform guests of this. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was everything we could ask for during our pre-cruise stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the ac worked well and the breakfast with waffles was delicious. What made the stay excellent was the service provided by the front desk team and the shuttle drivers. Everyone was extremely helpful and polite. We would recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Clean and quiet. Excellent proximity to Ybor and Harbor area. Great shuttle service. On trolley stop as well. Good breakfast - especially the fresh fruit! (although you needed to get to breakfast somewhat before the tail end to get fruit because the hotel was so full they kept running out).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The staff was friendly but the service and cleanliness of the rooms were lacking. The breakfast had insufficient food and no attempt was made to remedy this even after asking for additional items. The smoke smell was strong during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Andrew,
We know how important it is to remain one step ahead of our guests' needs and ensure they're taken care of. Please accept our deepest apologies for not meeting those expectations and delivering the wonderful service we take great pride in offering. We will look into this along with my Housekeeping Manager to correct it from happening again. We hope we can invite you back to the warm Hamptonality you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 164 in Tampa
1,544 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £117 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing