We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, FL
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very good Inn”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at this location while my wife had an outpatient surgery with the Norman Parathyroid Center at Tampa General Hospital.
The rooms were nice and roomy. The breakfast was about as good as you would get at any Motel. The employees were excellent.
Being we were a customer of the Norman Parathyroid Center and stayed at this location we were given free parking and a shuttle to and from the hospital.
They had free chocolate chip cookies at the counter and the person working the breakfast room kept everything up as it was consumed.
This Motel is located in the Ybor City district, which we did not take advantage of this area it is supposed to be a very interesting part of Tampa. Close up parking is limited.

Room Tip: Rooms are not a problem but parking is first come for indoor parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    376
    140
    40
    24
See reviews for
262
410
89
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our cruise and purchased the park and cruise package. First of all, the parking is kinda ridiculous. There's not many parking spots and they're extremely narrow. Second, when we returned from our cruise, I noticed a huge scratch across the side of my brand new Toyota 4 Runner. Not the hotel's fault, but a tight parking spot and an inconsiderate jerk do not mix. Just beware!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank sunstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Hampton Inn Ybor is in the heart of Ybor City on 7th avenue. We stayed here in October 2013 and again for one night in February 2014. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff seems accommodating and professional. We were there during Fiesta Day in Ybor and the Avenue was blocked off for several vendors to set up food stands. Great atmosphere. The breakfast is complimentary, hot and good. The pool is very small and leaves much to be desired, but most don't stay for the pool. The reason the hotel got only three stars from me is because parking can be tricky and compact, but we always found a space, and on our last night there, there was a TPD officer in the lobby walking around, instead of making me feel safe he made me feel like he was there because bad things happen or that he was needed to deter the drunks. He also followed my son and nephew a bit too closely as the exited the elevator, kind of intimidating to say the least. We brushed it off because we had every right to be there and would stay again if we wanted to be in the center of Ybor City!

Room Tip: Parking is $8 a night. Don't leave the hotel without your room key because you will need it to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We loved the location right on 7th Avenue, and had we had a great view of Tampa. The hotel was very clean and staff was extremely accommodating. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ybor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

LOCATION!!!!! This hotel is mere blocks from downtown Ybor City, which is super helpful when going out to eat or drink. There isn't a lot of parking available, but the hotel provides parking passes to the pay-to-park lot behind the hotel in the event that there are no spaces (such as our case). The staff was super helpful. The pillows were painfully thin, so I would bring your own pillow. The bed itself was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, location was good for walking to things in Ybor City. Appreciated (though did not use) the free hotel shuttle. Only downside was the loud AC unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night prior to our cruise from Tampa. The location was great, right in Ybor City and walking distance to everything. The room was a king suite, well maintained and nicely decorated. There was in-room coffee, but no safe available for belongings. Bedding was comfortable, as I have come to expect with the Hampton chain. The complementary breakfast was about as expected, though I must say they served the worst coffee I have ever had at a Hilton property. I am hoping this is just a fluke at this one location. Overall, would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing