We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Good, Reservations a little frustrating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Location Good, Reservations a little frustrating”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was good, and location offered things to do within walking distance. Exercise room equipment worked well, however the room was very hot and I could not find air controls. This is a safety concern as one can easily get overheated working out in those conditions. When trying to make reservations you have to go through the Hilton hotline number and cannot make them through the hotel directly. This was fine until I tried to call and extend my reservation prior to arrival. I would call the hotel directly, they would send me to the hotline, and then the hotline woudl say I would have to make this change with the hotel directly. I again called the hotel and the circle repeated itself. Eventually I gave up. Besides the reservation frustration I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    379
    140
    41
    25
See reviews for
267
418
89
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for business related travel. This Hampton is new and has nice amenities and decor, but it should be noted that the location is "party central" (somewhat like Duval Street or Bourbon Street) so you should expect that there will be other guests coming in, loud and drunken, at all hours of the night (especially on weekends). I was there on a Friday night and wished that I had brought earplugs. The walls and doors seem quite thin. The price you pay is relative to the convenience of being near Ybor, which does offer fun night spots and good food (I especially like the breweries, Tampa Bay and Cigar City).

I have to return next weekend. This hotel is a reasonable price for use of HHonors points so I'll return, but will be prepared with the earplugs. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was standard, but served in a clean, well maintained new breakfast area with lots of granite finishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is right at the top of 7th Street in Ybor City and within walking distance of bars and restaurants. The room was very clean. Good value for the money. Hot breakfast is served each morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my friend before going on a cruise. Hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The surrounding area had lots of restaurants and bars and the hotel had a shuttle bus that took you within a 3 mile radius, including the cruise terminal. The hotel did a really nice breakfast that had both hot and cold food. Here again the staff we great. Carman was so friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. Perhaps the only small down side, and I do mean small, and that was the fact that there were no in room safe. You could leave valuables behind the front dest but seems unusual not to have a safe in the room. That said, it would not put us off staying here again and would strongly recommend this hotel. Thanks for great stay everyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sje59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and each and every visit has been enjoyable and without problems. Staff is top notch and amenities are great. Super location in Ybor City within easy walking distance to all the restaurants and bars without being right in the noise. Bus and trolley access takes you to downtown in 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JANesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
state college, pa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This Hampton Inn is clean, comfortable and in a nice location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Shuttle service was free and very convenient for getting around town. Overall a pleasant stay. Four stars because it's not a luxury hotel. I have to return to Tampa in a couple years and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location and great staff! It is just a short walk to some of the best food around. Sushi, steaks, burgers and great night life. The breakfast is convenent and the staff there is fantastic. The pool is small but usually not crowded and a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing