We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“park and cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
hartwell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“park and cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

i was very pleased to be able to leave my car at the hotel while I was on my cruise for 7 days. we were able to take advantage of the free shuttle service to and from the cruise port and also to any place such as a restaurant or business within 3 miles from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    355
    131
    37
    22
See reviews for
235
375
86
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

we stayed here two nights before leaving on a cruise, free shuttle to the port which is at most 10 mins away. really lovely free breakfast with lots of choice, and pleasant kitchen staff eager to help

our first night was Ybor city's st Patricks day parade, we have never had such fun, and the parade started right outside the hotel, we thought that this was going to be a problem, noise and all but we never heard a thing, either good walls and windows or Ybor city was very well behaved,
good hotel to use as a base to got downtown, which we went by the trolley bus, this goes all the way down down, port authority and the aquarium.
Main street itself is a mixture of cultures and we enjoyed our visit.
hotel staff were very quick and pleasant, when we had no parking space with an elderly couple with us, a member of staff moved their car and allowed us her parking space.
nice comfortable beds and very clean, would recommend to anyone staying in this area

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I recently stayed here on business for two nights. This hotel is on the famed 7th Avenue in historic Ybor City. The hotel was clean throughout, the room where I stayed was in great shape, and the free breakfast was free. While I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, I would like to share a couple of tips. First, the hotel is atop a 2 story parking garage for guests; it fills up fast, and if so, you will need to park on the street or in a parking lot across the street. To get to either the parking garage or the street parking, you will need to go around the corner from 7th avenue to 6th avenue. When you check in, you will receive a parking pass for the garage and the street/parking lot parking.

Second, I didn't see any direct access from the hotel to 7th avenue (although I didn't really investigate), but you can take the elevator to the lower level garage and take the sidewalk around the corner (from 6th to 7th) and you'll be back on the main strip.

Room Tip: If you are a restless sleeper, make sure to ask for a room away from the trolly car maintenance yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Ybor City on business because it honored the rate I was required to use and was in reasonable proximity to the downtown business district. The free shuttle was a very nice feature although it showed up at rather sporadic intervals. Ybor City is an interesting place with a number of good restaurants and bars. Be careful if you have young children or are an unaccompanied female - Ybor City gets a bit rowdy after dark and the panhandlers are very aggressive. 7th Street is very much like Bourbon Street - with all the good and bad that entails. Eat at the Columbia and Gaspars - both excellent. Overall a good bargain and a clean and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Darrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here while seeing Philadelphia Flyers take on Tampa Bay Lightning. The Flyers lost but didn't let that ruin my trip. My husband, son and I did not bother to have a car as everything was in walking distant. Felt very safe in the immediaste surroundings although was asked for $$ several times by the homeless or what appeared to be the homeless. Just say NO.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lorijeannj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was very happy with this hotel. The employees were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and in very good condition. The A/C was on the noisy side, which I found very annoying, but we were able to tolerate it for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This Hampton Inn has a lot to offer since it is right in the heart of the Ybor City shops and cafes. Mine is an odd thing, but traversing giant lobbies every time you enter or leave your hotel room seems like a waste of time and energy to me. On this trip, one of the men in my party is elderly and recovering from a broken leg and so he walks with a cane. From previous experience, I knew that this hotel would be great for us in that the lobby is not a cavernous lobby that takes forever to walk across, it is compact and efficient. The compact size of this hotel lobby saved his walking steps for more fun walking out touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing