We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My Son in law stayed in 413 which was noisy due to their rooftop bar up in the floor. Valet parking was very efficient and fast paced which was very good.
At check in the young ladies were very welcoming, and every thing was great. At check out the two young ladies were very nice and sweet. They took their time to help me with my son in laws luggage and were very great to talk to. Make sure when you go to the Epicurean to talk to Celena and Velen. They made a great experience and Mrs.Kellie was also very great with guiding in directions. Overall good experience, but my only complaint will be location. There are no buses nearby or a walmart as walking distance
If any questions - JoseSanchez1968@yahoo.com

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancheztop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    128
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
75
296
20
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to a class in the Epicurian Theatre on 2/8/14 and it was one of the most fun times we have had in a long time! Chef Hunnel, who is a well respected and renowned chef is a very special person, warm and approachable and we learned a lot in the class and the food they demonstrated was amazing! We will be trying out the recipes for sure! We decided to also stay the night.
The room was perfectly appointed and spotless. The artisan pantry is unlike your usual "mini bar" and there were several wines to choose from. We found the accommodations to exceed our expectations and we stay in hotels across the country several times a year. Dinner at Elevage was fantastic! The monkfish schnitzel is a must have again! The staff is very warm and it was lovely to see Heidi again, as well as Desmond with his engaging smile and Mariah with her take charge attitude. We met lovely Samantha who took great care of us at dinner. She is shy but incredibly professional! We will ask to sit with her again for sure! it was also really great to see Gavin and Jamie again at the bar and they were very welcoming. This morning Bianca raved about what a wonderful place Epicurian is to work and how much she loves working with the GM, Tom Haines.

When we checked out we talked with Jessica and said how it would be great to be able to check out by using the Epicurian app and I think she is going to look into it.
AND we are very much looking forward to being able to stop in at Chocolate Pi as soon as it is open. We tried a dessert after dinner and it was absolutely amazing!

Thanks again, Epicurian we can't say enough about how happy we are that you are here so close and to see you continue to come to life!

Until next time!!

Harry and Amy

Room Tip: We have stayed twice. Both rooms were very nice not to mention spotless! The Artisan Pantry is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry and Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I travel to Tampa often for work. My biggest complaint has always been the poor location for hotels. If you stay downtown, there is nothing to do at night. The Epicurean is in a great location. South Howard is where you would want to go for food or drinks in the evening, anyways.

The hotel staff was great. The valet was quick and efficient. The rooms were wonderful and comfortable. The rainfall shower head was a definite perk! I also enjoy staying somewhere that if the weather is nice, I can easily do an outdoor workout - this is a perfect place. You're a few blocks from Bayshore for a run or bike. The outdoor is also a good size for getting in laps.

My one complaint, and this is petty and the only reason I have this complaint is because I spend so much time in hotels, but there isn't a full length mirror in the room. Only a mirror in the bathroom. Obviously not a huge deal.

I travel 3 weeks a month, and this hotel goes towards the top of my list of favorite Marriott owned properties! I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for pointing out our convenient location. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned our proximity to both downtown Tampa and the SoHo area. It really is a nice place to be! Next time, take one of our Epicurean bicycles out for a spin down Bayshore Drive to really enjoy the beauty of S. Tampa. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just returned from a three day (two night) stay where we had a sales meeting. Everything about our stay was top notch. Obviously, a new hotel, so the facility itself was well maintained. Food was excellent. The chef incorporated fish that we had caught on an outing into one of our supper meals. It was delicious, in addition to a family style presentation of other food, equally as good. The hotel carries a wine and food theme throughout. The theatre where we held our limited number of meetings was a great facility and I would love to return and take a cooking class. While I would expect, as it was, the hotel itself to be nice, the best part was the staff. They were engaging and accessible and always smiling. From the Front Desk staff to house cleaning. Highly recommended!
Take one of the bicycles available at the hotel and ride down Bayshore to see some fabulous homes. The Edge bar on the roof is a nice place to end your day, but, beware, again you find an eclectic offering of drinks in keeping with the overall hotel theme. Not your average "Rum and Coke" fare.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glensburkholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks for your review of the Epicurean Hotel. So glad you stayed with us for your business trip and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope that you can come back again for a cooking class or just to relax and enjoy our fine food.

Sincerely,
Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is in the HIP section of Tampa and reeks of wanting to be cool. The staff is warm and truly cares about your needs, yet small problems abound. When you drive in, it is not obvious that you must valet the car, and the drive up area is on the left and it is nearly impossible to maneuver the car into the correct position next to the front door owing to bad design-numerous structural columns. We were heading for the obvious parking spots when a bellman cam running towards the car, shouting that it was valet only-I nearly ran him over. When we went up to the front desk, THERE WAS NOBODY THERE and we had to go into the restaurant to find someone. Signage throughout the hotel is absent; I had to ask two housekeepers where to find the fitness center as there were no signs for it on the floor where it is located. The room was very nice with excellent looking toiletries and free GOOD coffee. But you had to dig around in a drawer to find it. The food was quite good in the restaurant, and they will serve you throughout the lobby area which is nice. There was a wine tasting/food pairing which we attended, but the price was quite steep and the food served, while tasty were very small portions.

Give it six months to get the kinks out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review and my apologies for the slow reply. We've been quite busy since the opening trying to work out some of the very issues you mention. Thank you for your feedback! We hope that you will come back for another visit in the future to see how far we have come since your first stay.

Sincerely
Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at this new hotel within the first few weeks it was open. There was anew smell to the place and everything was shining and new. The interior of the hotel is very well done and reminds me of a hotel in Europe. The rooms are on the small side but adequate. The staff was very friendly and hospitable. One tip I would recommend, ask for a room in the front of the hotel as the rooms in the back are exposed to the road noise of the highway in the back of the hotel. Breakfast in the dining room was terrific with a very different menu. The hotel is also situated directly across the street from Berns Steak House who are the owners of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the building as it will be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Epicurean Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that you will choose to stay at the Epicurean on your next trip to Tampa.

Sincerely
Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice, but in a bad location. Sure it's swanky, but the views of the run down homes and expressway were a downer.

They are not ready to be open. Want to go to the spa? Great. Check out the options online. Of course there are no descriptions or prices associated with the services. Oh, and one other thing...The spa isn't open until March, so I'm told.

Want to eat outside? Great. There is a nice view of some run down homes, and the tables are about 2 feet from the sidewalk. Great for seeing locals meander next to one's table.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian_Van_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your candid observations. The location of our hotel has special significance as it relates directly to our legacy. The Epicurean Hotel was a vision of the Bern’s Steak House family, and our site directly across the street from this iconic culinary destination represents the culmination of a dream. We are also fortunate to be situated in a historic, residential neighborhood, and our Hyde Park community has enthusiastically embraced us.

We apologize that Spa Evangeline was not open when you visited. There were unforeseen circumstances with the design and construction which prevented us from opening on our targeted date. Evangeline is scheduled to open in early March. We are in the final stages of menu design, and our Spa Evangeline team are excited to present a truly unique experience for residents and guests alike.

We hope you’ll return soon, and we invite you to follow our progress on Facebook and Twitter.

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.7 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1207 S Howard Ave, Tampa, FL 33606-3101
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore life's many flavors at the Epicurean, where your stay will be filled from beginning to end with experiences that activate all your senses. Relax in the urban chic comfort of our luxurious guest rooms and suites. Signature restaurant, rooftop bar, full service spa, wine shop and culinary classroom with a robust calendar of events. Awaken Appetites Unknown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing