We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just off Bayshore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just off Bayshore”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when visiting for a conference at the TCC. The hotel is outside of the city centre on South Howard, which seems to be an upcoming area full of diverse restaurants and bars.

The Epicurean is a boutique Hotel from a large chain (Marriott) and like all such places it can be a bit quirky in places, for instance finding the rooftop bar from inside the hotel isn't easy, and the backdrop to the hotel is a high rise car park. But I have to say that any faults that I found were small when compared to the good things that this hotel has to offer.

My room was set out intelligently with all of the important things that I need on a business trip like a good shower, lots of power points, an iron that works, efficient lighting, comfortable bed etc.

The staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient. And more than that, when I needed laundry done at the weekend and their normal supplier was closed, they went out to find a laundry that would do it and a staff member took and returned the clothes too.

There is a fine wine store (with tastings) just off the reception, a teaching kitchen in the lobby area and a chocolatier across the driveway. The gym is small but well set out with good equipment and if you can find the bar it's well worth a visit, it has knowledgeable bar staff and unusual drinks brands, and if you are there towards the weekend it's a busy place to be.

Finally the restaurant, as you would expect they try to put chefy twists on the food that they produce which is a good thing btw. I had a 100 day aged steak here that was better than the one that I had at Bern's a couple of days later.

So, all in all pretty good...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EpicureanHotel, General Manager at Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We have no problem being called a little “quirky”! I’m happy you found our staff to be helpful, they are always looking to go the “extra mile” for our guests. We hope on your next visit, you will sign up for a class in the Epicurean Theatre, then you will really get a sense of all the great things we have to offer here!

Tom Haines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    128
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
75
296
20
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff here was awesome and in a city with questionable customer service, that was a plus. Be aware though, the staff does not wear name tags or uniforms, so you have to keep that in mind. The property is nice and the location is perfect for a visit to Tampa, but the rooms were standard size and decor, especially for the hype. There is no Club level or lounge, but certs are provided for a delightful cook-to-order breakfast, if you are Marriott Elite. The normal rooms though are by no means luxurious, but in a town with no Ritz Carlton or JW this is as good as Marriott gets. That said, the rooms are trendy, clean and well appointed. The hallway leading up to your room is cooking themed and so is the property. The amenities are nice (pool, roof bar, lobby, patio), as the property is very tightly fit along the highway, just across the road from Tampa's famed Burn's Steakhouse in South Tampa's hip "soho" district. Although there are dinner options on premise, I would probably dine at the World Famous Steakhouse across the street (VERY NICE) or the other two dozen fine establishments nearby. If you like sweets, "pie" onsite was creative and fun. This area of Tampa is great for walking (especially down bay shore) and bikes are available for guest. Now for the reasons it's not a 5. Valet was slow and no self parking was available, we drove the wife's car, but if I had taken my toy, the option would had been nice. There is free street parking everywhere, I believe this is why the parking is less than 20. Lastly, the roof bar is annoying, if you get a top floor room, be prepared for lots of loud and annoying "beautiful" people in the hall, who are NOT hotel guest. The security tries real hard to contain them, but it was a distraction. Plus, if you think guest will get guaranteed access to either Burn's (partly owed) or the bar in the hotel, ha think again and there is NO concierge staff. Even the hottest hotel bar in America (The Standard Bar in Hollywood, CA) recognizes guest should get in there own bar, hope they figure this out, because this property has potential and I hope it succeeds!

Room Tip: Stay off the top floor, and the layout of the property can mean a hike to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Being from South Tampa I can say the one thing the area has always lacked was a nice hotel. The Epicurean now meets that need. The entire property is beautiful from the lobby, bar, and rooms. Everything I ordered from the restaurant was fantastic. Defiantly a must stay if you're in Tampa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floptical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and attended meetings. The entire process from check in to check out was really great. The property is beautiful with unique touches everywhere. Food was very good as well. Rooms are nicely done with a great bathroom. Loved the mini bar presentation and sunken ice tub as well as the bar stool desk. The check in process was a little unnerving because it was so unexpected. Staff is really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddzKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This autograph collection is in the Tampa SOHO (South Howard) district directly across from the infamous Bern's Steakhouse. The hotel was modeled in keeping true to what Bern would want as far as décor, cooking school,restaurant, and FRESH ingredients. I believe Berns son was and still is the one in overseeing all of this. The staff everywhere was wonderful! The rooftop Edge Bar was nice! The Restaurant food was second to none. Come see the garden on the lobby wall. This is where your salad and herbs will come from. We live close and came for my husbands milestone birthday. Had the time of our lives, will be back!

Room Tip: We slept on the street side, and could hear traffic, but you are really close to the street. Will no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union county
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed at the Epicurean for 3 nights while in Tampa for our daughters USF graduation. As a big Marriott fan, I am so excited about this brand! The hotel is gorgeous, nothing spared, the attention to detail is obvious throughout the entire hotel, the lobby area is so inviting, love the fact that the employees are right there to greet you with their tablets ready to check you in, or help you out. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and had an array of wines to purchase and enjoy in the comfort of your room. Cheers!
The beds...Ahhh... the beds, so amazingly comfortable. Definitely a comfortable nights sleep. The train horn was the only downside.
We had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast at the on site restaurant, service was great, food was outstanding!
We love a great hotel, and this hotel was better than some of the best!! Big fan.

Room Tip: We had a room with sliding doors that led out to a big patio shared by many rooms, great place to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel sight and facilities are great if you are willing to put up with some of the events that happened to my wife and I during our stay! They are as follows:
1) First night stay was covered with 37,000 worth of Marriot Rewards points. Good idea until I got a bill under the door the next morning which we had do take down to the desk (visit 1) to have fixed.
2) Went out that day and when we came back at 6:30pm to find our room had not been serviced i.e. no new towels bed not made. After we freshened up we headed out to a cocktail party. On the way out we stopped at the front desk (visit 2 ) to tell them about the room.
3) When we came back from the party we found that our room had still not been serviced (visit 3).
4) On our way to the cocktail party a hotel employee in the elevator said she would get us a cab. As she was going into a room behind the front desk, she told us she we get a cab and be right back. We never saw her again. So we went to where? You guessed it the front desk (visit 4) to have a cab arranged.
5) Went to the front desk to confirm our bill on day of departure and were locked out of the room. So I went to the Front desk (visit 5) to get let back in. They would not be in re key us but let us back in the room twice!

Here is the bottom line - nice place - bad management. If you stay there it is at your own risk! Please assume that you will make multiple visits to the front desk for unnecessary reasons.

Thanks,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.7 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1207 S Howard Ave, Tampa, FL 33606-3101
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore life's many flavors at the Epicurean, where your stay will be filled from beginning to end with experiences that activate all your senses. Relax in the urban chic comfort of our luxurious guest rooms and suites. Signature restaurant, rooftop bar, full service spa, wine shop and culinary classroom with a robust calendar of events. Awaken Appetites Unknown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing