We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving Rates/Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Deceiving Rates/Poor Service”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Spoke personally to the manager as the last resort to the problem. Front office personnel lacking in customer relations skills - Dorothy. People behind the call center was polite and helpful at time of reservation but the hotel is saying "they gave us wrong rate therefore it is not their problem", really? Then whose problem is it? I booked the first time for the Hard Rock rate. I was lead to believe that I did but to my surprise my card was actually charged something else which I found out when I had the confrontation with the manager. All in all, will never step foot in this hotel, deceiving people. My husband and I was embarrassed by the scenario because my father-in-law who is celebrating his birthday, wanted to pay instead. So, 2 occasions ruined by the quality of service. Why did I come back in the first place? Hotel was clean, period!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFair, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Hard Rock Visitor,
I apologize for the poor customer service you received and thank you for reaching out to let us know about the issue. We have multiple packages that we run in conjunction with the casino and this can be very confusing for our reservation agents. I have submitted a request to our team that any of these calls automatically be transferred to the front desk staff (who get the daily updates on the package specifics) so that future situations like yours will be avoided. I can understand your embarrassment and frustration and hope that you will give us another try. Please call me personally the next time you would like to visit so that I can take care of you.
Sincerely,
General Manager, Theresa White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    72
    23
    7
    13
See reviews for
48
61
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft myers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I work at a Hotel in Ft Myers, so I am very particular about cleaniness, customer service etc.
We were greeted with a warm smile by Vero. She was so helpful in taking care of our needs, giving directions and giving us ideas on what sights to see. The housekeeping ladies were very helpful in getting us extra items.
The breakfast was Great ! I went back twice..... pancake machine awsom.
It was nice to stay in a comfortable, secure, and quiet place.
We have recommended your place to our friends and we will be back in August.
Thanks
Carol R

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The hotel was excellant, the front desk was great and very helpful with directions. Stayed there for 2 nights. The breakfast was great and the girl that does the breakfast works very hard and tell her she was great...........

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed one night and was pleasantly surprised! Room was spacious, very clean, shower was nice and strong, which is always a plus to me! We didn't have the opportunity to enjoy breakfast but I heard it was more than adequate to start the day. One very minor complaint...the bathroom would be awesome with a magnifying mirror! Always a hassle for me to put makeup on without my magnifying mirror ;-(

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idolunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Warning!! If mold / mildew smell is a problem DO NOT stay here. We tried putting the a/c on high and the odor got much worse.
Also, the shuttle service to the casino is NOT reliable. They tell you they run every hour but it's only if it's convenient for them. We waited a half hour for our shuttle only to find out that the driver was waiting for a guest to finish their drink. WHAT? Be there when you say you'll be there.
Employees need customer service training!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star13154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Star13154,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are deeply sorry you found the room and the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

when I first checked In I wasn't sure that this would be the hotel for me because the front door was blocked by other vehicle's and I had to wait 10 minuets to get around them then my door keys would not unlock the back door and i had to walk around the building but by the time I left I'm positive I will always stay at this hotel great hotel staff the young lady who worked the front desk was great for her age she seems very Intelligent I believe her name was Laura or Laren took great care of us along with the bald head fellow who works the shuttle at night.In the morning we had breakfast which was ok typical hotel food great location to the casino and a shuttle both big plus's

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We wanted to get away for the night and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Hard Rock Casino. We asked them to put us in a room that was quiet because we just wanted to get a good night sleep. They agreed and put us on the other end of the hallway away from the elevator. The room was clean, The only complaint I have is that despite four calls to the front desk and a personal visit, little was done to quiet down the people in the room next door. They had at least six people in the room, yelling at 10:30 at night. We ended up packing our things and going to the front desk basically saying change our room or we are leaving. We were given a smoking room and told it was the only one available and if we chose to stay despite my allergies, we would have to " figure it out." It was right next to the elevator! So much for a good nights sleep! Like I said, the rooms were nice and also the breakfast food was great but the front staff did not have much bite when it came to complaints about their guests. We should not have had to move when we complained 4 times about the people next door. We called corporate and got our money back for the night. Not our usual way of doing things but needed to do it this time!

Room Tip: Have your room facing the rear of the hotel as the ones that face the front have big spot lights shi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Derrick L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I deeply apologize for the poor service experienced from our hotel staff and the problems you encountered with the level of noise from the other room. However, we are glad the issue was addressed in a timely manner. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Sabal Park/Brandon
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610-7361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#47 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing