We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for concert-goers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 18 August 2009

If you have tickets to see a concert at the Ford Amphitheatre, this is the hotel for you! We stayed here while attending the Dave Matthews Band concert on August 12th, and although the hotel is nothing spectacular, it isn't bad either, and considering you can walk from your hotel room and be in your seat at the Ford Amphitheatre within around 15 minutes (that is if you don't stop at the concession stands first), we found this hotel absolutely perfect for our needs. Obviously we were not the only ones who felt this way either, based on the number of fans also staying at this hotel.

Our room was on the first floor. Normally not a big fan of first floor rooms, but this one was different. We had 15ft ceilings, and a seperate kitchen, including stove/oven, microwave, and fridge. I think my first apartment was around the same size as our room! Wouldn't want to spend a great deal of time here, but for a night or two, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

Great hotel, perfect location if your looking to save money and stay close to the hard rock hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

The mildew odor in the 3rd floor room was terrible. The window does not open, so we had only the A/C to try and get the smell out. No fan in the bathroom either. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

This is the perfect place to stay if you are going to a concert at the fairgrounds Ford Amphitheater. It is right across the street so you don't have to fight traffic going to or leaving the concert. Very friendly, very clean, very roomy. We had a junior suite and it was pet friendly for our 2 dogs. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bear904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Really clean. Extremely friendly, efficient front desk staff and all workers that I encountered were friendly. Very nice place and we will definitely stay again. Our suite room had everything we could have asked for with the exception of a shower cap and if I had contacted the desk they might have had one to help me out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Porter5741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

One night stay. Usual Holiday Inn Express. Good service, clean, new, very good breakfast. Close to interstate for trip to airport. Rush hour traffic bad, took almost 45 minutes door to door. Relatively close to SR 60 which had lots of restaurant choices. Fairgrounds directly across the street so if the Fair is going on, traffic will be very bad.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indylady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We had absolutely no problem with the hotel; the room was really nice, clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful.
My concern was more about the location of the hotel, it's far from Downtown and not in a really convenient area.
Tampa itself is not an enthusiastic area, St Petersburg which is located just the other side of the Tampa bay is more attractive.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tampa East - Brandon
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa East/Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610-7361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#47 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing