We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much $ for too little”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West
Ranked #105 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Gaithersburg, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much $ for too little”
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Wow, where to start! Good thing first -- staff was friendly and our requests were met (i.e. shaver, area information, etc.). Now to bad -- room was very dirty. Bathroom had dozens of strands of hair along tub and a dirty mark in the toilet. And the fan wasn't working. Vanity area floor was so dirty that when I wiped up some water I spilled, the paper towel became black. The bed was fine until we had them change the linens on the third day and then it was only partially made when we returned and one of the pillows was missing it's case! Carpet had many little bits of debris on it (we had a baby with us, I was down there!) and it was obvious that they hadn't vacuumed under the bed in some time! There was a smear of something on one of the night tables and the fridge had some food debris in it. There was also a lot of dust and bits under the TV which had terrible reception, we couldn't even watch most of the channels. They do have free Wi-Fi but you can't print out your boarding passes as they don't offer that service. The breakfast was fine except the hot water had debris in it! The pool is outdoors and unheated, brr! Also, site proclaims you can walk to restaurants -- don't do it after dark. Hubby smokes and when he went out after dark he was panhandled and heard another patron reporting that he was accosted by a man who tried to open his car door in the parking lot on our last night there. Down the road to the right is the county prison!

  • Liked — The staff was nice
  • Disliked — Lack of quality checks -- they ask the guests to find the problems and report them
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SometimesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    65
    48
    27
    27
See reviews for
89
51
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2006

The Baymont was okay. I stayed here while I attended the Sun n Fun fly-in in Lakeland, FL. The rooms could've been cleaner and less threadbare. The front desk folks were helpful, but didn't go overboard with the customer service. While complimentary breakfasts are usually sugar/carb fests, I was surprised that no fruit was available.

It was relatively inexpensive and convenient access to the main interstates. Restaurants and stores are nearby, as well.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2006

As you walk down the halls in the Baymont Inn & Suites in Tampa (Brandon/Tampa) at 602 South Falkenburg Road, you will immediately smell a musty stench before you even enter the rooms. Eventhough I was in a smoking room; the odor in the room was not from smoke and was worse than the odor in the hallway.

There were also stains on everything! Stains all over both chairs in the room, the carpet and the bedspreads. It was easy to see that these rooms were not being cleaned in any way.

Additionally, the dust was an inch thick on the TV and not only wouldn't the volume on the TV go below halfway, there was constant interruption on the TV from some type of Interference.

Even with the inconveniences, the biggest issues were the smell and the filth. I will never stay in the Baymont Inn & Suites again, nor would I have remained there were it not the fact that it was the week of "Spring Break". Even knowing that, I spent the entire evening of the day I checked in driving from hotel to hotel attempting to find another hotel to stay at and check out of the Baymont Inn.

Helpful?
Thank Srs42398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2005

Decent hotel, good location. Nothing negative to report. Nothing too special about it either.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 March 2003

I always stay at the Brandon location because it is in a nice area , safe , convienent -- close to Brandon and Tampa-- the rooms are large , clean , comfortable and quiet . I love the desk -set up for my laptop with all connections on the lamp base - so easy to connect the computer there - everything you need is in the room - coffee maker , iron , hairdryer - no better place for the money - a real bargain !

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon Regency Park
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Tampa / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Brandon
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West
Address: 602 S Falkenburg Rd, Tampa, FL 33619-8045
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.Located eight miles southeast of downtown with easy access to I-75, the La Quinta Inn Tampa Brandon West is just minutes from the best area attractions, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, and the Lowry Park Zoo. The Brandon Towne Center Mall is only a mile, and you will find ...see moremany popular restaurants within walking distance. For events at Raymond James Stadium and the Tampa Convention Center, this is the place to stay. We are only a few miles from Citicorp, Coke, and Brandon Hospital, and just 13 from the University of South Florida and MacDill Air Force Base. In addition to a courteous, helpful staff, we have everything you need at the La Quinta Inn Tampa Brandon West including a guest laundry facility and fax/copy services available at the front desk. Our spacious rooms come with free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and more. Mornings begin with a scrumptious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM in the lobby, along with your copy of USA Today. We have a crystal-clear outdoor pool and as our guest, you'll receive discounted access to a nearby fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Brandon West
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing