We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodations near Tampa General”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations near Tampa General”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights to accompany mother while having surgery at Tampa General Hospital. Good location for the short drive to the hospital. Valet parking seemed reasonable for the cost and they got car quickly when needed. Front desk staff was okay...not overly friendly. Found room to be large, clean and comfortable. Shower was fair - needed more water pressure. The hotel is large. We were on the 7th floor, but it appeared to be 20 floors tall. Did not take advantage of manager's reception, but did get breakfast one morning which was nice. There is a Starbucks on the first level also if you like them. I ate at Trolley's twice and received good service both times. Food was good and reasonably priced. Other choices of food are limited unless you walk over to the Marriott or the Channelside area.

Room Tip: The Tampa Bay Lightning play right next door so game nights can be a bit crowded in both the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjoyce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We hope that the procedures at Tampa General went well and that your mother is healthy again. Please know that your feedback has been taking into consideration and used for continued training. We hope you have the opportunity to come stay with us again and enjoy the different area attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    575
    305
    147
    134
See reviews for
508
407
53
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed for 1 night with my husband during recent business trip. Valet parking was a bit congested so we opted for a city garage across the street. Luggage was no problem since we were only there 1 night. Room was excellent as was breakfast. Managers reception was a bit slow could use more staff. Front desk was very helpful and friendly and we just loved our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We are delighted that to opted to join your husband during his business trip and had the opportunity to enjoy yourself and the services we provide. We have taken your feedbackk in to consideration and forwarded it to the Director of Fodd & Beverage for immediate action. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here one night for my graduation from USF with my Master's Degree. This is a great hotel, it is beautiful, in a great location, we walked to Channel Side, and overall, I really loved it! Would highly recommend and look forward to returning. The room was great as well!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey6fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Congratulations on your accomplishments and Thank you for staying with you while celebrating that great milestone. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

But no, I decided to shun some advise from a friend and save twenty bucks and stay at the Embassy Suites. In the end, and that is pretty where they give it to you, I saved even less because the "valet" parking is twenty dollars compared to the $12 self-park at the Marriott. Anyway, we live about an hour from downtown Tampa and when I bought two tickets to see the NY Rangers play Saturday night in Tampa I decided I would surprise my wife and get a room for the night. You can walk to the arena from the Embassy Suites (and the Marriott) and that way we would not have to make the drive home after the game. Well, here's my story and I'm sticking to it. I had read about the ES on Tripadvisor but figured I would save the $20 anyway. We arrived at 3:30pm on Saturday. It took over 20 minutes just to get a guy to park the car. It was a mess out there. Cars parked everywhere, people scrambling in front of people who had been waiting for several minutes. Cars lined-up in the street. Clearly under-staffed and ill-prepared. Of course, once you actually got in the hotel, it was even worse. We spent 37 minutes in line to check-in. We met another couple later that waited an hour! Again, clearly all the reservations must have caught management by surprise, there were only two people working the desk when we arrived. Annette checked us in and gave us room 1713. Finally, I thought, until I saw the line at the elevator. It took about 12 minutes to finally squeeze onto an elevator. (They are VERY SLOW). We got to the 17th floor, carrying our luggage because they was not a bellman in site. We got to room 1713. Only now the keycard does not work. Neither one of them work, but I keep trying, until a woman opens the door from the inside!!! Annette gave us a room already occupied! So now it is wait for the elevator, back to the front desk, wait in line, get back to Annette and tell her my story. "Are you sure?" she says. Yes I am sure. She never apologies, she simply says "I know what happened" and gives me a room on the 7th floor. Ah, my wife and our stuff are on the 17th floor. "That's too bad." Honest, that is what she said. Annette spent 15 years in Germany, she should go back there. Now it is wait for the elevator then head to the 17th floor. Met a nice couple and a very rude bellman on the elevator. Told them my story, the gentleman said he had a similar experience here before. Finally got to our room on the 7th floor. The hotel was packed with kids, screaming, running around, yelling from floor to floor. Kids EVERYWHERE. The "managers reception" was a joke. Two bartenders. Come on, the hotel has 20 floors! Two bartenders? Service was very slow and the beer was warm. After the game we tried the hotel bar. Terrible service. Oh, and they were out of wings. How does a hotel bar run out of wings? Got the sliders instead, they were poor. Very poor. Fatty, not even hot. Had to go to the bar for our second round of drinks. Our female server was too busy flirting with a co-worker to cover her tables.
In the morning, more noisy kids running around the hotel and screaming in the seating area on the fifth floor. Over-crowded elevators. Staff and management at this place are untrained and truly unprofessional. Took forever to get our car from the valet. Overall, glad this experience is behind us. Next time, it is the Marriott for us. An extra $20? Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Call someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel suffers by comparision. Terribly slow elevators, average food, crawling with kids and the internet was out of commission. Given an equal room rate, the Marriott acros the street is newer, more luxurious, has better views and more attentive staff. If you have a family with you, the room concept of the Embassy Suites is hard to beat. If not, go across the street to the Marriott for a better, higher class experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oracle20500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us while in the Tampa Bay area. our rates are based on the market and compare to our good neighbors. Some of the added benefits are the full cook-to-order breakfast as well as a complimentary manager's reception offered nightly. We sure hope that you give us the oppoortunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We loved our stay at the Embassy Suites! All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was a spacious suite with a large living/sitting room area. The beds were really comfortable, and the suite was very clean. We attended the manager's reception from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. and enjoyed the complimentary drinks and snacks. Breakfast is included with your stay and it was excellent...made to order omelettes, a hot served buffet, fresh fruit, plus all of the usual breakfast items. There was a business centre with four computers. We were going to a Tampa Bay Lightning game, so the location was ideal...the hotel is only a 2-minute walk from the St. Pete Times Forum! We already had tickets for the game but saw that there was a table set up in the lobby area; apparently they are there every game night sellling tickets. There was also a shuttle service to the Tampa airport available for $12/person.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the area to attend the Hockey game at the St. Pete Times Forum. We look forward to seeing you again during the next game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We just stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise. It was a perfect spot to catch the ship as it was only 3 minutes away. A trolley stop was right in front of the hotel. The room was very nice for what we needed. We watched in room movies both nights. As usual, the Embassy Suites included breakfast was perfect!

Now for a minor issue - while it was the perfect location for the port, it wasn't within walking or trolley distance for doing any shopping or restaurants. We had to take a taxi to the mall and he didn't take us to the mall we asked for. It was about $30 round trip.

Oh, and there is a Starbucks in the lobby!

Room Tip: Definitely a higher floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTPA, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We appreciate you choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your pre-cruise stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and was able to enjoy our amenities and services. We apologize for any confusion there might have been with the city cab to the mall. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Tampa Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#27 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing