We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,142)
Filter reviews
2,142 results
Traveller rating
825
652
346
166
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
825
652
346
166
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingamalie arenatrolley stoppretzelsfree happy hourevening receptionmade to order omeletshockey gamemanagers receptionomelet stationfree breakfastvalet servicetampa downtownliving roomriver walkthird floorcruise terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,728 - 1,733 of 2,142 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We're locals and decided to enjoy the Tampa downtown nightlife for a a weekend. The Embassy Suites downtown was a great location next to the convention center, the trolley stop, harbor island, the St. Pete Times forum, downtown building and channel side. The room was great - very high up which we loved, but is not for everyone. If you have a fear of heights ask for a lower floor room in this hotel because it has a clear glass railing around all floor walkways surrounding an open atrium over 15 stories high. The elevators are glass walled as well. The room was a corner with 2 rooms and pretty quiet. The pool is small but has a nice deck with a walkway to the convention center. Breakfast was good as usual, but the seating a little crowded. Three is a lobby bar and a themed restaurant "Trolley Station." The actual trolley stop is right in front of the hotel. Be sure to take the trolley to Chanelside, restaurants/bars in Ybor City or through downtown. You can walk to Jackson's on Harbor Island and many downtown spots. Be sure to take the river walk along the Hillsborough River at night - it is very pretty and all of the bridges are lit up. With a little maneuvering you can take it down to Curtis Hixon park - if you are lucky enough to hit it on a concert or event night it will add to the fun! All parking is valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water unless you like looking at downtown and parking garages.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We always enjoy hearing such great comments from our local community. Hope to see you return in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This property is across the street from the convention center and 2.5 blocks from the CAMLS Center. Reasonably priced, good breakfast, and if you are Hilton Honors you can take your breakfast into the restaurant for a little more space and quiet.

This is a cab ride away from the entertainment district, but there are a couple of restaurants in the immediate area and more within walking distance. You can pick up the trolley that will take you the entertainment area for about $2.

The suite was nice and exactly what you'd expect from an Embassy. Sitting area with couch, mini fridge and tv and then a separate bedroom with tv and plenty of closet and drawer space. Staff was friendly and by the nature of Tampa itself, it's close to the airport and there are things to do in the area.

Room Tip: I liked the room I had facing Ybor City and being on a higher floor, especially because the atrium can get noisy at times (like during morning breakfast).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShutterbugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here only one night in 1206, since we were leaving on a cruise the next morning. We arrived about 11pm and checked in with no issues. The lobby is beautiful, all open concept so when you are in the hallways on the upper floors, you can look down into the main lobby. There's a Starbucks in the lobby. The room itself was huge, and so nice. It had 2 huge, plush queen beds, a separate kitchenette area, a nice big bathroom (water pressure wasn’t great, but not terrible), and a living room with a sofa that I believe was a pull out. There was even a dining room table. The building was quiet, we slept like babies, and the view was of the convention center. The Wi-Fi worked great. The breakfast buffet the next morning was fantastic – juices, cereals, fruits, toast, bagels, eggs, omelets, etc. Check out was a breeze, and they even allowed us to do late check out at no fee. If I am ever in Tampa again, I will definitely stay here. The price is fantastic, the location to the cruise port great, and the stop for the trolley is literally, at the front door.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards making your stay great and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your stay experience exceeds your expectations.

Once again, thank you for continuing to chose to stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stay in hotels 5 nights a week. Most stays are uneventful. This hotel presented a problem and Raphael Miranda jumped on my issue and absolutely made me a fan forever. He got involved on his own and made sure that my issue was resolved before I left. I sincerely appreciated his concern and problem resolution.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Views are available on all sides of hotel. Looks over either city or bay.
Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am very happy to read your positive comments about the service that Rafael provided to you. I will be sure to share your kind words with him.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay. The room was immaculate and updated. Beautiful view of the downtown Tampa skyline lit up at night. Will definitely be coming back! Harbour Island just over the bridge has a great brunch at Jackson's and there is a water taxi for a more scenic view of Tampa and the islands.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews