We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Most of the reviews say it all - clean, comfortable, good atmosphere and location.
We stayed here for a week after a cruise from SF - our first time to Florida.
The style, layout and service were all similar to ESs elsewhere.

he first weekend was a venue for the annual grudge match between New Orleans and Tampa, so a party atmosphere by the visiting NOs; sadly, Tampa lost!

Room Tip: We had a partial bay view on the Convention Centre side. It was quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    554
    296
    133
    126
See reviews for
480
382
50
684
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great. Location was superb since we were there for a conference at the convention center. There were a couple of things that marred an otherwise lovely stay. 1. ants in our room. We called, they came and sprayed. Same thing the second day (gave us free movie and microwave popcorn) Still had ants the next day, but we were leaving then anyway! 2. The maid couldn't understand what we were saying, so she got her manager, who told her the exact same thing we did, also in english. But the next days, she did not even ask if we needed anything or vacuum. She just came in and laid some towels and coffee on the chair and left! You would think that the constant ant problem might make them want to vacuum and clean everything but the paint off the walls!!!

Room Tip: Check for ants before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsgCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to offer my sincere apology for the less than enjoyable experience you had with our hotel. While I appreciate your taking the time to provide such a detailed account of this situation, I am very sorry that it was necessary for you to do so. I do hope you will accept my apologies for your disappointment in our service. I intend to share your comments with our management staff to ensure other guests are not subjected to similar occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends and found it clean, quiet, and comfortable. The amenities include a rooftop pool, manager's reception with complimentary drinks and snacks, free breakfast that included a full menu (waffles, omelets, bagels, cereal, etc.) and a panoramic view of Tampa Bay and the port. There is a Starbuck's on the premises and you can ride to Ybor City, a major tourist destination, on a old-fashioned trolley for a couple of bucks. Many good restaurants, ranging from sports bars to fine dining are within walking distance. Of course the hotel has its own restaurant as well, but we didn't eat there.

We had no complaints as our room was clean and well-appointed with coffee, wet bar, two flat screen tvs and refrigerator. Our friends reported their room was equally comfortable. Moderately priced and next door to the Tampa Convention Center (with an above-street walkway), this would be a good choice for conventioneers or anyone wanting a downtown, waterfront suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. So glad you enjoyed the complimentary Manager’s Reception and free, cooked-to-order breakfast. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

If attending an event in downtown Tampa at the Convention Center the convenience and services provided by the Embassy Suites Tampa are worth considering. A central twenty story atrium is the centerpiece of this modern hotel with two room suites surrounding the courtyard. The hotel is linked by a short walking bridge to Tampa's beautiful modern Convention Center. The hotel's also within a block of one of Tampa's major sports arenas.

The Embassy Suites Tampa staff were uniformly helpful and accommodating during my visit, valet parking services were first rate, helpful onsite car rental staff and the hotel's two restaurants were equally good. I found the rooms are very quiet, provide modern decor, WiFi (presently WiFi access for most guests is an extra cost, valet parking was $22./day). Many of the suites provide great views of Tampa's Harbor and the Convention Center. The restful and very quiet central air conditioning system was also appreciated.

For local sightseeing an inexpensive historic electric street car station is available directly in front of the Tampa Embassy Suites entrance. The historic streetcar runs weekdays from about 10 AM to 10 PM. The street car provides severals stops as it travels by Tampa's riverfront scenic attractions such as the Aquarium, history museum, restaurants, sports stadium and. at its farthest point, Tampa's historic Ybor City (about a twenty minute ride) with its many restored buildings, restaurants and boutiques.

My only small complaint with the hotel, as a tourist, was the 9:30 AM weekday closing time of the breakfast buffet. The hotel's staff said the buffet closes early on weekdays because most of the guests are business travelers with earlier schedules. Aside from the earlier buffet closing hours the food selections were very good.

The downtown Embassy Suites Tampa is excellent with very easy, efficient access to downtown sites and Florida's major highways allowing convenience access for scenic drives over the two mile overwater bridge to St. Petersburg and other nearby communities.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor on the north and northwest towers with view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srschrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night before a cruise out of the Tampa port. The rooms were clean and roomy. They offer a complementary breakfast. There is a Publix about a block away for pre-cruise supplies. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BillLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown prior to your cruise! So glad you enjoyed the “free, cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Free breakfast, managers drink reception after work and within walking distance of all you need. With a trolley station right outside, Ybor is just a few minutes away for a couple bucks. Walk to the cruise ship area, the forum is across the street along with the convention center. The hotel was very clean, the beds comfortable and the staff friendly. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trav_whizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a conference at the Convention Centre next door - that part was convenient.
The rooms are average, but the service at the front desk was poor in all the times we had to deal with them.
The breakfast was great though - when we had time to eat it - there were a lot of people there for conference and the line ups were LONG!
The lady was rude, and not very helpful. I am not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to offer my sincere apology for the less than enjoyable experience you had with our hotel. I appreciate your concern, interest and the extra time you have taken to bring these matters to my attention. You do us a great service by taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your concerns. It is through concerned people, such as yourself, that we gain insight into areas of our business that may require attention, areas that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#35 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing