We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is the place to stay when visiting the Forum or convention center. Just a few steps from the hotel to your venue...no complaints about the location. The hotel is a typical Embassy suites...nothing better, nothing worse...you pay extra for the location. Hotel is very loud after an event. Our room had a door that connected us to the room next door...just one door not the normal double door one for each room...I could hear the man next door as if he were sitting in my room. Thankfully he did not stay up late so it wasn't an issue sleeping...however you could hear the noise from all the other floors for a couple hours after the event. If attending an event and you are not a light sleeper this is the place to stay. If you need a good night sleep stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown.
I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.
I can appreciate what a nuisance this was for you and please know that we are committed to providing you a much improved experience on your next visit to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    588
    307
    147
    136
See reviews for
512
414
53
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Great hotel that is conveniently located to the convention center. If you have business at the convention center, this is your hotel. They have a skybrige accesses from the 2nd floor, you simply walk over the traffic and your there.

The personnel are extremely friendly. The only downside is the need for $22 valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel was nice and in a great location. I would not stay at the hotel if I had to pay the rack rate as I felt it was too high ($300/night). We were attending a conference and received a good rate ($129/night) which is reasonable. We did experience a lot of outside noise from an event at the Tampa Bay Times Forum even being on the 20th floor. But overall for the cost we paid I thought it was an excellent hotel. The restaurant Trolley's America Cafe had wonderful food. Breakfast buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites and our Trolley's Cafe. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our family stayed here prior to leaving on a cruise. We where impressed with the very friendly staff, clean rooms and nice pool area. We had a ball riding the trolley that stops right in front of the hotel. The Tampa port was only a short cab ride away. We will definitely stay there again. Loved, loved the free breakfast !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buggygram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Next door to the Tampa Bay Times Forum. Super short walk. You are also directly at a Trolley stop which travels thru and stops in Channelside, at the Florida Aquarium and various stops in Ybor City. Service is very frequent and inexpensive (late nights too!). The drawback to this Trolley stop: If your room faces that side of the hotel (Franklin St and Old Water St.) you will hear the trolley all night until service stops.
The hotel restaurant, Trolley's American Cafe, is decent. Fair prices and restaurants.com has some great offers with this place. I had a $25 off a $35 check. Good food and portions. Complementary cooked-to-order breakfast was good as is Embassy Suites trade mark. Starbucks in the lobby which is a nice plus! Coffee in the room is horrible.
Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Nice bedding. Living room area clean and comfortable. I am a smoker and was happy to find smoking rooms offered. The rooms smelled mostly fresh. Windows do not open, so that always sucks when you're a smoker. I always take my candles and Frebreeze anyhow.
Pretty disappointed that they cahrge for in-room WiFi and $20 parking fee. If you are attending an event, this price is worth it. But if just having a night out or a business related trip, this is steep.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Florida Ave or Channelside for a more restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We used this hotel as our wedding hotel for our guests and our wedding night. The staff was great to work with in setting up all the rooms and making sure the cost was affordable for our guests and us. They gave us a great deal on our room as well since we had so many guests staying there. They were even very understanding when the original block we set up filled up fast and we needed to add more rooms at the same price.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. All of our guests commented on how great the views were from their rooms, and the beds were very comfortable as well. The cost of your room also includes a daily happy hour and free cook to order breakfast which was DELICIOUS!!

Their spaces for events are great. While we did not have our ceremony or reception there, we did hold a brunch in the restaurant which was perfect... home-y and cozy with plenty of space for our group trickling in and out throughout the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our facilities and staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 4 nights during spring break at the Embassy Suites Hotel (Downtown Tampa). The room was huge and offered everything you need. Staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I would like to mention Juano from engineering who did a great job to fix the air condition!
For having some inconveniences they gave us the wifi for free.
We had a wonderful view from 19th floor.
The pool area is small but nice and they had always good music on :)

The worst was breakfast! For such a huge hotel, the breakfast area was tiny. People were standing in line for ever for a slice of bread or some eggs and again for getting a table. The floor was soooo sticky that it was difficult to walk on. Waiters didn't clean up the tables and were unfriendly. Even after asking twice to clean up the mess, they ignored us and we had to do it by ourselves!

Room Tip: 19th floor has a grat view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiAtHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Juano was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with him.
We appreciate your flexibility and patience as we experienced during our peak season. Your feedback will help us to reevaluate our staffing levels during such high occupancy so we can be more mindful of our efforts and focus our attention on each individual guest
I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#26 of 163 in Tampa
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing