We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Conference Trip-Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #39 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a great hotel in a perfect location. The suite was clean and fresh and very large. I was able to select the top floor during my Hilton HHonors e-check in so the view was also nice. The staff was friendly and professional. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Steven G,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here while on vacation from Scotland visiting Savannah, Tampa and Hilton Head. More visitors were at conventions here, but it's great for a vacation too.

We were very happy with it. The room was as I requested (which is often not the case). Great views and quiet.

It had everything we needed and was right beside the Tram stop for trams into Ybor City.
The breakfast was good and Jeff Weinthaler the General Manager went out of his way to see that everything was OK for us. It's also the first time I've seen the hotel manager help staff clear breakfast dishes when busy, which made a good impression on us.

I would return here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: High up and bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear BuddieH,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great acommocations, friendly staff. Bueatiful location with proximity to the Channelside/bay area. Unfortunately, there is not any shopping or good choice of restaurants to choose from in the immediate vicinty. You'd have to take a 20 minute trolly ride to Ybor city to find places to shop and good restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Omar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Omar W,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

In town for a graduation, we got less than expected for this expensive property. On the positive side, breakfast was excellent, they offered free drinks for happy hour, my upper floor view was spectacular, and the room was large with decent bedding. The pool area, while small, was very pleasant.

But it was also dated, in our room the carpet was loose enough to trip on, the furniture scuffed, and the sink drain stopper was broken. The room never cooled down below 74F, and even though my room wasn't directly adjacent to the elevators, I could hear them going up and down all night. Worse, a family member's suite had no COLD water (only scalding hot), which they discovered at 2:00 a.m., and were told it could not be fixed because maintenance didn't come on duty 8:00. Not even an offer of bottled water to drink. They offered, then rescinded, a room change for the second night, but they did give them a couple of bottles of water.

For a "convention center" hotel, it was remarkably unsuited to an event where everyone is leaving at about the same time. The four elevators, even when packed, still stopped at every floor on the way down, making egress VERY slow, with waits in excess of 10 minutes for a car with room for two. Returning after the event was similar, with people stacked 15 deep waiting to get back to their floors. Finally, even though we called 10 minutes ahead, and they weren't particularly busy, the valet parking took an additional 15 minutes to bring two cars down.

While the suite format is nice, and I might consider giving a second chance for a solo weekday business trip if the price was right, there are many alternatives in the vicinity to choose from.

Room Tip: Avoid xx02 numbered rooms - elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEM196204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear JEM196204,
We pride ourselves in friendly, quick, efficient service and appreciate your detailed feedback about your service experiences during your recent stay. We are taking this opportunity to review your comments and look into additional service opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you for your review and we hope you and your family will give us another opportunity to serve you for a better service experience.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here during a conference in mid-April. My conference was at the Tampa Convention Center, so the location was perfect. Another big perk was the breakfast because there are NO reasonable breakfast locations nearby. The hotel itself is very nice and well maintained. It's common for the Hilton family of hotels to charge for Internet, but it's rather ridiculous to charge $9.95 per device per day when paying over $200 for the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear spericson77,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for one night,came over from the beach to take in a playoff hockey game at The Tampa Bay Times Forum,the Canadiens won,ole!ole!The hotel is minutes on foot from the the Forum!Our room was nice,a bedroom and a separate sitting area.The bed was very comfortable,bathroom nice!Fridge in the sitting area nice HD TV in both rooms with HBO.Complimentary drinks and snacks before the game!Breakfeast the next morning was outstanding,made to order omelette with all the stuffings you could want ,plus bacon, sausages,hash browns,tea, coffee,juice,toast,fruit,etc!!We really enjoyed our stay,it would have been nice to stay an extra night to take in the lovely walking areas along the River!!Maybe next Year!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank markie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear markie23,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your time with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed the service you received and our facilities.

I do hope you will be returning to visit us again; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The rooms were nice and neat. The personnel was extremely professional and helpful. The personnel was prompt with room service. The bed and pillows were soft. Nice to have had a refrigerator and clean glasses. I would recommend family and friens stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Martrelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Martrelle S,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £110 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing